We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Stay”
Review of Estate Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Estate Residency
Ranked #15 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We had a pleasant stay at the Estate Residency. Mr & Mrs. Firosh & family were very hospitable, warm & friendly. The rooms were clean & neat, the food was home-cooked & delicious.

This wonderful couple went out of their way to make other arrangements for our trip.

The scenic view from our rooms were awesome. Had a wonderful & memorable stay.

I will definitely recommend my relatives & friends to stay with the Firosh family at the Estate residency if ever they visit Munnar.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjt_fze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstateResidency, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you for writing review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Estate Residency
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

Except for the things you see and the food you eat etc.; one of the most important aspects of traveling (at least for me) is the local people you meet.
At the Estate Residency, all ingredients which make an overnight stay a memorable experience are well represented. Comfortable, Clean, Great Food, Genuinely Friendly and...A Splendid Panorama

Friendliness with a story to tell - this characterizes the Firosh family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjvdschaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstateResidency, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

thank you for writing review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We visited Munnar on 27th and stayed as three family in three rooms at ground floor. Mr. Finosh and his family given an ultimate stay experience. Fresh Banana was fantastic and I was surprised when my two year son too ate those which normally he don't do. Candamom estate is an unique area to visit around estate residency. Rooms were very clean and home food was very tasty. Sorry Mr. Firosh to bother you all on Good Friday but even then we have a fantastic breakfast on that day. "Kallu" shop nearby was very good compared to normal ones. We stayed two nights. I liked the design of house which was inspiring particularly chain hanging from water drain from roof. I wish i could visit again in more misty season at Munnar and stay again at estate residency. Ayurvedic Massage centre nearby was a good experience. Fun Forest park at walkable distane is a difference adventure park. We had a lovely time at Munnar.

Room Tip: Ground Floor Rooms are good for garden view and cheaper. Higher floors are good for view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstateResidency, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you for writing review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Estate Residency is an excellent choice for traveling in Munnar area, located in a beautiful scenery in Palivasal 15 minutes away from Munnar on the main road. Staying in the Estate Residency you will avoid the noisy city without giving up ease of accessibility.
We stayed for three nights, enjoying the hospitality of the Firosh family. The owners were very helpful with advises and activities organization.
But the best of all was the kitchen - Estate Residency propose one of the best kitchen we have met on our journey.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ido L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstateResidency, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thank you very much for lovely words of appreciation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We were pleased with our time at Estate Residency and enjoyed getting to meet Mr. Firosh, his wife Anie, and their sons who were all friendly. The women helping us with our luggage and meals offered smiles and good cheer as well! We booked the budget room and were mistakenly (for a brief time) directed to the scenic, lovelier room. That one was astounding and had verdant views. Our budget one was, of course, more modes, but it was adequate and certainly was spacious. I would have preferred a bit more attention to the condition of the bathroom.

The family and their employees were all helpful. Mr. Firosh took several of us guests on an educational tour of his farm so that we got to see cardamom and pepper growing and later being dried. He also invited us into his part of the home which was lovely to see. When our departure plans were affected by a national strike, Mr. Firosh called our taxi driver so that we could problem-solve our departure plan.

It was lovely to be in the beautiful area of Munnar, my favorite place we visited in India. If you want to live in the town, this is several kms away, but if you want views of green tea plantations nearby, a fine family, quiet, and delicious food, this is a place for you!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattidavis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstateResidency, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

thank you for writing review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely 2 night stay with Firosh and his family. Not the cheapest place we could have stayed but worth the money - lovely room with a great view, breakfast and dinner was included in the price and at both we were given so much yummy food that we barely needed the lunch in between! :) we were even given a packed lunch containing breakfast we'd not managed to eat on one of the days.

Our hosts were very attentive when we had questions and gave some great advice about what to do in Munnar and our onward journey. Had a very comfortably stay on this pepper and cardomen estate.

Only downside was it was slightly out of town but the bus goes past so didn't feel too cut off.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstateResidency, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

thank you for writing review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Location: Its 7 Kms away from the city centre; a perfect calm place with a scenic view
Room: Good spacious room. We stayed in the deluxe room with a big window (actually one side of the room is converted into a huge window). It is like a big live canvas given to mother nature to paint her moods. we really enjoyed the view every second when we were in the room. If you are a wildlife enthusiast stay by the window you can see birds and squirrels. I was lucky to see a fly squirrel which is the one of the endangered species.
Service: Very good Service. Its a small cute family (Feroz,Annie and Allan) who made our stay very comfortable and was readily available for any help needed. We travelled for more than 8 hrs to reach Munnar and when we reached the home stay its almost dark, me and husband were prone to some minor travel sickness Annie provided us some home remedies which made us well and we were able to enjoy our vacation from next day. Thanks to Annie and this made us feel home away from home :). Food: The food served is local Kerala cuisine. Good healthy home food. I actually liked their kadala Curry and Rasam. I've also learnt the dish from Annie. We are veggies so we missed Annie's signature dishes. She said she is very good at non-veg cooking.
Over all Value for money: Very good. We will visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zesty_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstateResidency, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you very much indeed encourging words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.6 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
944 reviews
16.7 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Misty Mountain Resort
Misty Mountain Resort
#4 of 9 in Pallivasal
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
0.2 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
396 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anna Homestay
Anna Homestay
#2 of 16 in Chithirapuram
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estate Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estate Residency

Address: O Estate Residency Munnar, Munnar 685565, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Price Range: £23 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Estate Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estate Residency makes a comfortable home with large rooms,full-size windows and double bed. The house is neatly furbished with small essentials here and there which make a house a home. The guest rooms have well-equipped bathrooms attached to them with 24 hours hot water supply facility. The most interesting space is the terrace on first floor which gives a lovely view of the green hills around, which are at a lower level than the house. Away from the main town, the house provides for a perfect experience to invigorate one’s senses and admire Munnar for its tranquility amongst the woods. Guest enjoy having morning coffee on a terrace which offers a panoramic view of forest hills and velvety tea plantation, looking mystic in the morning as the mist rolls through them. Pallivasal is the venue of the first Hydro Electric Project in Kerala and a place of immense scenic beauty. Another interesting tourist spot near the house is Kallar Waterfalls which is always worth exploring, especially during the monsoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Estate Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estate Residency Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing