We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay...”
Review of Estate Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Estate Residency
Ranked #16 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay...”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Just back from this place,First , I should definely mention on the yummy food thay provided, it was simply superb, homely food,childeren also enjoyed, veg and non-veg both, credit goes to Anie and her assistent susheela.We did not roam around much in munnar town because we do not want to leave this lovely & uncrowded place.Rooms and bathrooms are kept clean, very nice tea estate veiw from rooms in first floor.Firosh is the owner of this estate kept in touch with us in the morning and evening asking about our need.Overall it is a excellent place to stay with family.

Room Tip: Rooms in first floor is very good, spacious with dinining and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSaravanan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstateResidency, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
thank for writing review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    41
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
70
46
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuddalore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We had a great time in munnar mainly coz of this residency....it was quite a cool place to visit..nd v really enjoyed the stay over ther..... special thanks to the owner f the residency.. nd v had evry kind of facilities...wifi etc.. The rooms wer awesome..nd the view from the rooms wer realy beautiful... and we also had a great time wid Mr.firosh nd his family members...Thank you.. nd the food prepared was really great and it was clean too.. Hav a great time ahead.. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OviyaaDuraiyazhagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstateResidency, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thankyou very much for locely words of appreciation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The stay in Estate Residency was greatly enjoyed by myself and an Australian senior colleague who himself was a world traveller and visited Munnar in Dec 2012.One of those stays which only leaves good memories behind of the hospitality provided by the Firosh family.Needless to say,the rooms were spotlessly clean and food was authentic kerala cuisine greatly appreciated byboth of us.What clearly stands out is the hospitality and warmth exuded by everyone in the Firosh home.In fact,Mr.Firosh ensured that all the key sights in Munnar and a proper tour of the Cardamon estate/the processing centre was provided.Mr.Firosh is a 3rd generation cardamon planter and passionate about spices.Estate Residency is a hidden gem and deserves a 5 star rating for their service oriented approach and genuine hospitality.

Room Tip: Please request for a room with views of the mountains and valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstateResidency, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
thank you for writing review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed in one of the rooms on the top floor from which we had a fantastic panoramic view. The room was nice and clean, but a bit crowded with 2 extra mattresses on the floor for our kids. However, it was no problem since there was a nice common balcony and living room. The family was very friendly and service-minded. They cooked us the most excellent food and took time showing us around their cardamon plantation.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henriette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstateResidency, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for writing review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea UK
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The Estate Residency owned by the Foriche family was an excellent find and the first of many homestay experiences I shall be having from now on. The residency is located about 10 minutes taxi drive from the town of Munnar in a small little village at 2 nd mile. Being located outside Munnar was not an issue as it was quieter and had few chai shops, ayurvedic treatments on offer, a Kathikali theatre with some fantastic performances, I highly recommend a visit here.

The accommodation was superb with the most amazing view from the bedroom over the cardamom and pepper estate owned by the family . The room had a very comfortable bed, its own tv and bathroom that was well presented and clean.

The food here was faultless and delicious, so much better when it's home cooked and a welcomed change to the usual restaurant fare that you get when travelling and tire of so quickly. There were number of dishes I really enjoyed especially the beef curry and the fried okra (ladies fingers). I just wish I had more time there as Annie would have shown me how to prepare these dishes.

The Firoche family went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable arranging taxis and taking us for a tour of their estate , which was just fantastic. I hope to return again when their new tree house room is available and I highly recommend Estate Residency as somewhere to stay.

I kinda loved it here !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Threeminttea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstateResidency, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank youfor writing review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uae
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We had a pleasant stay at the Estate Residency. Mr & Mrs. Firosh & family were very hospitable, warm & friendly. The rooms were clean & neat, the food was home-cooked & delicious.

This wonderful couple went out of their way to make other arrangements for our trip.

The scenic view from our rooms were awesome. Had a wonderful & memorable stay.

I will definitely recommend my relatives & friends to stay with the Firosh family at the Estate residency if ever they visit Munnar.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjt_fze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstateResidency, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for writing review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Except for the things you see and the food you eat etc.; one of the most important aspects of traveling (at least for me) is the local people you meet.
At the Estate Residency, all ingredients which make an overnight stay a memorable experience are well represented. Comfortable, Clean, Great Food, Genuinely Friendly and...A Splendid Panorama

Friendliness with a story to tell - this characterizes the Firosh family.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjvdschaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstateResidency, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
thank you for writing review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
16.7 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
906 reviews
3.7 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
389 reviews
3.3 mi away
Season7, The Nature Resort
Season7, The Nature Resort
#7 of 14 in Chithirapuram
124 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dew Drops
Dew Drops
#8 of 164 in Munnar
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estate Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estate Residency

Property: Estate Residency
Address: O Estate Residency Munnar, Munnar 685565, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Estate Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estate Residency makes a comfortable home with large rooms,full-size windows and double bed. The house is neatly furbished with small essentials here and there which make a house a home. The guest rooms have well-equipped bathrooms attached to them with 24 hours hot water supply facility. The most interesting space is the terrace on first floor which gives a lovely view of the green hills around, which are at a lower level than the house. Away from the main town, the house provides for a perfect experience to invigorate one’s senses and admire Munnar for its tranquility amongst the woods. Guest enjoy having morning coffee on a terrace which offers a panoramic view of forest hills and velvety tea plantation, looking mystic in the morning as the mist rolls through them. Pallivasal is the venue of the first Hydro Electric Project in Kerala and a place of immense scenic beauty. Another interesting tourist spot near the house is Kallar Waterfalls which is always worth exploring, especially during the monsoons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Estate Residency Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing