We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above average food but great service”

Fire-Grill Riverside Barbeque Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 59 Restaurants in Munnar
Cuisines: Indian, Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
New Delhi
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Above average food but great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Travelling with young kids brought in Delhi has its own challenge in finding right kind of restaurants for them. I had short lised Westwood before our trip for a meal in Munnar. They delivered almost but not as great as mentioned in some of the reviews here. The food was good and fresh, the location could be said great if the river flowing next to it was clean, so we preferred to sit inside. The best part was their service as they were very prompt in getting everything quickly and fresh despite of us going their at an odd hour.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Would not say the food was bad but it wasnt excellent either”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

The location of the restaurant is just next to the river and hence riverside. It can be very windy and cold to be sitting out. The food is not bad or tasteless but it isnt great either. The restaurant is expensive if you compare it to the taste of the food. Overall I would say a good place where ambience is considered but an okay place to have your lunch.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madurai
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“expensive , average food , not a great ambience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Highly priced ,average food quality,not a great ambience .i read the review in trip Advisor and choosed the restaurant , not a great place/food to go back . but still not many restaurants in munnar so if dont want to try and find a new restaurant , westwoods is not a bad place to have lunch

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank anandsolai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, beautiful location, good value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

One of the downsides of hill resorts in India is the quality of food during the peak season. Given the mad rush for everything, restaurants tend to take business for granted at these times.
We had several atrocious meals at Munnar during our recent trip and so discovering the Westwood Riverside was a pleasant surprise. We came across this place on TripAdvisor (wouldnt have found it otherwise since it is hidden in a lane off the main roads).
This place has a standard, unfussy South Indian breakfast buffet that is really well executed. Good food and plenty of it. Sitting on the covered deck overlooking the river, you get to have a big, lazy breakfast that puts you in the right frame of mind for life in the slow lane. The vadas and appams were hard to resist. The only thing that we could think of needing improvement was the coffee.
There's a lot of space for kids to run around in and the service was very friendly and attentive even during rush hour. We got there a little late in the day. If we had reached there around 730, it would probably have been a good place to do some birdwatching over the river as well.

The second surprise came after we finished our breakfast and saw the bill. Being used to paying substantial amounts for food that ranged from poor to awful, we found the bill to be tremendous value for money as well.

Great combination overall - good food, location and price!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Good service, Typical south indian tasty food in Breakfast. Very helpul and curtious staff. Good team work.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kathirmuthu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fire-Grill Riverside Barbeque Restaurant also viewed

Munnar, Idukki District
Munnar, Idukki District
 
Munnar, Idukki District
 
Munnar, Idukki District
 

Been to Fire-Grill Riverside Barbeque Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing