We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly natural really touched the soul”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
RG's Whistling Woods
Ranked #41 of 163 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Coimbatore, India
1 review
“Truly natural really touched the soul”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

i stayed there with my family on 26th march to 28th march it was really an amazing experience the journey to the destination through the tea gardens ,forests and the hill side really touched my heart before reaching i tired of clicking the snaps because there is so much to grab in your cam the hotel balcony view is mind blowing and we will forget every thing in the silence and beauty.
2 days gone in 2 sec time and i decided that i will back here again. The staffs were very helpful and the service is also great really we had a great experience.

Room Tip: balcony rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prejitprsd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

visited RG's couple of weeks before with fmly, ur mesmerized with nature and ur fmly around.the view from the balcony towards the tea plantation is fabulous ,an ideal place to lazy around with loved ones.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syed577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alappuzha, India
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I visited this place with my family before a couple of weeks and i'm really happy with the experience.The view from the resort is incredible..we can have the mesmerizing view of tea gardens as well as the forest.
The hospitality of the staff is also wonderful,we can have fresh home style food and they will arrange all facilities for camp fire,trekking etc .Overall a wonderful experience and would love to visit the place again.

Room Tip: cottage upstairs recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayapals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I had high hopes for this place,but aside from the view, the place was not that clean,many problems with electricity, and without a car getting food was a big problem. No one speaks English, and Regi, who manages the place is never in residence. If all this wasn't enough, Regi lied about a previously agreed on price. He only backed off when I produced an email from several months earlier. NOT A GOOD WAY TO TREAT GUESTS.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xcJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Chose this place after a long search for the right place at the right cost in Munnar during the Christmas vacation of 2013. And boy was it worth it!

Location - about 8-9 km and 20 minutes up a hill from the city center. Not too far and yet away from the din of the congested hill town. Overlooking a big and beautiful tea valley, amazing locale.

Rooms - large room good for a family and luxurious for a couple. clean and tidy, but being a home-stay they do not have a daily room cleaning service

Service - The caretaker was a nice old man who got good breakfast and arranged for campfires in the evenings. Since he could only speak the native language, it was a bit hard communicating with him and we had to take the assistance of the owner over phone or the caretaker of the next-door resort, to get a few things across. Food options were limited but quality was decent.

Would give this a five on five, if they could have staff who could manage atleast minimal English / Hindi and they had a slightly better arrangement for food. But if you are going to be out most times, or just want a relaxed quiet vacation with minimal requirements, take this place for the locale and value for money!

Room Tip: The place has just two cottages. Pick the one on the first floor to get a great view of the plantati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subhashhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trivandrum
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2013

i had stayed there with family for 2 nights -- excellent atmosphere - chirping birds, green tea gardens & most lovely atmosphere -- a life time visit to God's own resort & surrounding -- food is very good - home style -- cannot ask for anything a better than this in a place like this -- Whoever has designed this has done it so well-- exclusive 4 cottages with great view & stunning environment --we thoroughly enjoyed--definitely wanted to get back

Room Tip: felt the upstair rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijayanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I had been to this resort in Feb with my family and found that it was the best resort to have a relaxed and peaceful vacation. The resort is located in a beautiful place which is totally isolated from the busy city life .The rooms and property were very clean and well maintained. It Is really suitable for those who prefer a very calm and peaceful stay. The view from the balcony can be described as "simply out of the world ". It offers the perfect view of the surrounding tea plantations and greenery. The location is just awesome, and if you have lived in the concrete jungle... this place is green heaven. To sum it up one of the best place to relax and stay in Munnar without burning your pocket :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praveenunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.0 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
887 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tea Valley Resort
Tea Valley Resort
#5 of 8 in Pothamedu
480 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
KTDC Tea County Munnar
KTDC Tea County Munnar
#14 of 97 in Munnar
698 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RG's Whistling Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RG's Whistling Woods

Property: RG's Whistling Woods
Address: Pothemedu Via | Ottamaram, Munnar, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 163 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Also Known As:
RG's Whistling Woods Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing