We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located”
Review of Munnar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Munnar Inn
Ranked #70 of 103 Hotels in Munnar
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Budget hotel. Located in the heart of Munnar main market. But no lift. Staircases only. A lot of small restaurants around. Also local spices and chocolate shops. Local site-seeing cars/ buses easily available. Central bus stop is also hardly 100 meters away.

Room Tip: Not to take roadside rooms and on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Experience_Opinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

I had reserved a treehouse through the munnar inn, sending a money transfer as requested. When I arrived they said I did not send any money and that the tree house was not available, although I had a reservation number. Finally I could stay one night at Munnar Inn and second night at the tree house. None of them was comfortable or clean. I would not recommend any of the two places, very disappointing experience!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marika s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We had a terrible experince at the Munnar Inn. We were there for 3 nights of our 10 day Kerala vaction.
We had done advance booking, but when we arrived they mentioned that they are over-booked and moved us to a remote cottage 4km from the city. The place did not serve anything except tea.
The next day they moved us to Munnar Inn and gave us the Super Delux Room. The room was decent, but at night tiny cockroaches were seen near the tv and table.
The food is horrible and they probably have the worst cooks of Munnar in the kitchen.
Probably the only good thing about this place is that it is centrally located in Munnar.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelguru_pune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Would never recommend this Hotel to anyryone.
Had a very bad experience though we had booked well in advance they did not allow to check in giving excuse of no room availability.
Then shifted us to some remotely located Hotel as an alternate option. The new location was very far then what we were told.
No to this Hotel any time, the staff experience was bad.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vindagoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We were forced to spend a night at the Munnar Inn, a newly acquired property by Le Celestium (more about them in a different review). The only thing in its favour is that it is centrally located. We got the superior delux room, but after a short trip to the market, we opened the doors to our room to find it a playground for baby cockroaches. They were everywhere... on the bed, the nightstand, the table, the floor! The bed linen was dirty, and looked slept in. Although we were immediately shifted to another room, we asked housekeeping to spray a cockroach repellent, and the guy had the temerity to take an empty spray around the room. When I took it up with them, they just gave me an unapologetic shrug.
We also tried the food here at the Silverspoon restaurant, and it was the most terrible meal we'd had on our 10-day trip to Kerala.

Room Tip: If you really must, then choose the delux room on the third floor with the canal view. ONLY if you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chockro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We spent one night in the Munnar Inn. The hotel is located in the very center of Munnar, so do not expect beautiful views or nice things to see when watching out of the window. Clean rooms, hot shower, clean sheets and towels - that's basically all you can want as an economy traveller. And that's what we got at the Munnar Inn.
Notably, it can get pretty cold at night; extra blankets did the job the hotel's isolation could not do. The windows are poor noise-shredders, too, so try to get a room at the backside of the building.
We cannot recommend the restaurant in the basement for breakfast. No complaints about the toast and jam, but the kitchen was unable to produce 2 hard-boiled eggs and paired with rediculous service staff we had to cancel the order and were happy we didn't have dinner there.
The hotel does not have WiFi nor an Internet-PC, and international calls can also not be made there. "Only outside", which directed us to the Internet-Cafe in walking distance.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the backside of the building because it's more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hessebub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We visited Munnar in late October 2012, 24th to be exact, and stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Here are the pros and cons of this hotel.
Pros....
This place right at the heart of the town, so the market and all other facilities are in your reach,
It has its own restaurant, good food, but there are other food joints also available for you in a walking distance.
The bus & taxi stand is just next to this hotel, so reaching this hotel can not be a problem at all.
Cons....
This is not a place for people who wants to stay out of city / town hassle, and surely not for any honeymoon couple.
This hotel is actually has 3+ floors, but no lift, and stairs are very stiff, so elderly people and people who has problem of climbing stairs will be have problem even if the room is in floor 1 / 2
Conclusion : Its clean, good facilities, in short value for your money.

Room Tip: Avoid staying in rooms which are in font of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SHChowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.2 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellmount Resorts
Bellmount Resorts
#47 of 103 in Munnar
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Poopada Resort
Poopada Resort
#77 of 103 in Munnar
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#56 of 103 in Munnar
293 reviews
13.7 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Forest Haven Resort & Vista Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munnar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munnar Inn

Address: Telephone Office Junction,Opposite BSNL Office, Munnar 685612, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 103 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range: £20 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Munnar Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel munnarinn, tourist hotel of Munnar in Kerala, offers the best accommodation for tourists to Munnar with services including Multicuisine restaurant, package tours, tree house (House atop tree), campfire,trecking, gift shop, designers jewellery collection (The largest Jewellery shop in Munnar), and special honeymoon packages. You may also have a trailer made package to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Munnar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munnar Hotel Munnar
Munnar Inn Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing