We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for nature lovers!”
Review of Camelot Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camelot Resort
Ranked #49 of 103 Hotels in Munnar
Reviewed 12 December 2012

It was a nice journey from cochin to munnar hills. Never forget those days we spent there, especially the service of resort Camelot. mountain heights, tea, cardamom plantations, sweet songs of birds... views from the balcony were amazing, also their mouth watering kerala dishes were delicious. they provide natural clear water from a nearby stream.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collins M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2012

We are just back from a trek through the plantations around Munnar.
By chance we stumbled upon this resort and had a lovely light lunch and a great cup of tea(of course), overlooking the magnificient surrounding. The staff was very courteous and helpfull .

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

make mytrip is marketing this hotel as luxurious 4* hotel,inaitally its 3* on the paper,worth 2*
booked for 2 nights,could stay only 1 night.in the room,closed balcony there were a lot dead insects,butterflies.it wasnt cleaned before we checked in.
wardrobe: old torn luggage tags.bathroom very old,old system of hot water(gas system)
having no water pressure, very hard to take a hot shower.black gas stains on the ceiling.
very dirty bathmat ,towels with big black stains, bed sheets with holes and the color is gray(once upon a time probably it was white)
25 year old tv, only one small restaurant...kitchen is near reception( i have never see such a messed up place..everything was on the floor),restaurant table cloth with stains&dirty

also its a very cheap hotel probably ,all alone men were there drinking in the garden till the morning.

the location is -end of the world
no telephone range
not enough stuff the handle the hotel

Room Tip: dont go there...all hotel should be renovated i have all the photos and evidince this hotel made m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jermenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dileeep1, Owner at Camelot Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

We are sorry to hear that we were not able to meet up with your expectations. Camelot has taken great pride in serving guests for over 11 years. Most of the reviews in TripAdvisor reflects the satisfaction of the people who stayed with us. Since ours is a resort which is located in a remote area, which gives every visitor a chance to be as close to nature as possible and as secluded, there might be small compromises regarding the facilities provided. We have always tried to give the best services to our customers, keeping in mind the serenity of the forest region around us. Camelot sincerely apologizes for any discomfort caused to you and thanks you for telling your troubles to us openly. We believe that criticism is healthy for the growth and improvement of an institution like ours. We will take your concerns into account and try to improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I really enjoyed the stay 6 Km away from the town, and now its very easily accessible.
It was a trip with my friends 2 months back. Wonderful location with mist, clear, partly clear, drizzle like climatic conditions. Enjoyed a lot.
sujesh.lall@gmail.com

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sujeshLall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

i stayed in the resort from 23.10.12 to 24.10.12. the location of the resort is around 10kms away from the main road leading to munnar. after 9kms, about 1km,the road to resort is very steep,narrow and risky.you need to be an experienced driver and u need to have a good car to power your way to the resort. you cannot drive in the night,so once you check in, you will be stuck there.
the resort is located in a nice place, but with no scenic view. the resort is small, with only a small room for recreation, with 1 dumb bells, chess & table tennis & nothing else to do.
the rooms are ok. we had taken 2 luxury rooms which costed us rs. 7,000(supposedly discounted price) per room on double occupancy . the normal rooms are rs.5500 per room on double occupancy. this i felt was too high for this resort. we had spent the previous night in cochin at taj gateway and had paid similar tariff for a wonderful stay.one can understand that this is a resort and one cant compare the pricing, but when you dont get for what you pay, its not worth it. the only positive about the resort is the staff is sweet and the food is good, though basic.
this resort is only for the adventurous guy groups only, and not for families or couples.

Room Tip: club mahindra, mountain club and a few more are located at a scenic place on theni road-please check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satishkuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The most vivid travel experiences usually find you by accident, and the qualities that will make you fall in love with a place are rarely the features that took you there, but the essence itself…..Paradise found….. Tucked away in the foothills of Munnar, this haven could well be described as the Garden of Eden

Inspired and named after an exotic flower species, it is a paradise significant of new beginnings and a sense of freedom.

The Camelot resort is spread across a sprawling seventeen acre estate and will entice you with best of Munnar. It’s a place like no other untouched and pure. With nothing but nature all around you.

Positioning itself as a destination of relaxation and rejuvenation, the Camelot resort is a place where you can come to relax and unwind from the chaotic hustle and bustle of city life.


With all the comforts of home and surroundings that resound with peace and calm, the Camelot resort stay makes a perfect holiday or weekend destination of choice.

Camelot is one of the best resorts in Munnar.Camelot is just an amazing resort especially for those people who want to have a peaceful place during the vacations.

Although the resort is 11 kms away from the Munnar town, the resort is a best place to stay.Being 11 kms away, Camelot is surrounded by lush green Tea Estates known as Letchmi Estates.The beautiful lush green surroundings rejuvinate the visitors and give them the unforgettable experience.
The resort has two honeymoon suites,4 luxury cottages,2 deluxe cottages and 7 standard rooms.I booked the Deluxe cottage and it was really worth staying there.The service is quite impressive and the entire staff is quite responding.

The staff is very polite and there is a guarantee of service for what you have asked for.But you need to have some patience.The resort is ultimate in hospitality.

The food is quite tasty especially the non vegetarian food and it's a delight for non vegetarians.The vegetarian food is also good here.

Important Tip:In order to avoid any hassle, try to reach the resort by 5 PM in the evening as the road to resort is a bit challenge.But in order to gain something you have to compromise some times.After reaching the resort one can easily forget the challenges.The road to resort is quite steep and always drive you vehicle in first gear to avoid any dangerous situation.Better calll the resort reception once you reach Munnar town.Ask the reception to send any person to one bridge near the resort.
Last but not least, the Camelot resort is totally out of this world.One of the best place for Nature lovers and delight for those who want some adventure in life.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kishan_Lalwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Three of us and my dog recently stayed at Camelot for 2 nights; it has a fantastic location, we were offered a choice of rooms with a recommendation to take the rooms that overlooked the valley and had some of the best views. The service here is absolautely delightful and I have to make a special mention here of Roshan- who heads Front Office and will willingly take you for a walk through the tea gardens and keep giving you little pictures of information or quizzing you through the walk to make it very interesting. Also Selvam who would run between the kitchen and our room day and night loaded with trays of food and cater to every request with a smile. He was quite knowledgeable about the tennis players and backed my friend on the chances of Federer beating Djokovic in the Semis. Very pleasant boys who were a pleasure to talk too. The place is filled with orange trees, they grow their own strawberries, cabbage, carrots, beans, capsicums, etc. and all organically. I had never seen most f these things grow and was quite taken in by the experience of biting into a freshly plucked strawberry on my walk through the grounds. You cannot see another resort for miles. The rooms are nice though rather small, they have gas geysers in the bathroom so you don't have any wait for hot water and you have plenty of it on cold rainy days.
The food is delicious, cooked fresh, they will tell you to let them know an hour in advance which I thought was very reasonable.
What left a bad taste in our mouth however was the way they billed us for the meals. We had agreed on a price per room on bed, breakfast and taxes. So lunch and dinners would be extra. Dileep the owner had also agreed that since he was charging me double occupancy for the room I occupied with my dog (just my dog and me) oen of the meals for my dog/day would be counted in the compleimentary breakfast and I would have to pay for the other. Yet at the time of checkout when we scanned through the bills- they had charged us for both meals of the day for my dog and the explanation given was that since he did not eat idlis and dosas like us but khichdi and chicken, that had been charged. This despite me sending precise detailed mails on what he would need for his meals. It doesn't end there, we had even been charged for the chutney they would serve with our meals. This is the first place I have ever been to in the whole world where someone has actually put chutney under the charge tab. They went to the extent of charging us not by the portions they would serve but how many people ate the meal and this was ala carte not buffet meals. So for lunch we had ordered thoran, sambar and kerala rice and they actually charged us for 3 portions while obviously having served no more than 2 just because there were 3 of us eating it. When we pointed this out, the Chef gave us some lame explanation about KOTs which was meant to confuse us but didn't because of our knowledge of those terms and also the fact that they had only 1 person in the kitchen team and that was the Chef himself so there was no one else responsible for it. Since they do not have a credit card swipe machine at the resort, we agreed to pay at their office in Munnar town and despite having informed them of that earlier, at the time of payment they mentioned that card payments would attract a 3% fee. I thought this should have been mentioned before surely but by now we were tired of arguing about everything so we agreed to a 2% which the owner agreed to the minute he realised we used to work at a Bank and knew what charges card payments entailed. We managed to get all the baseless charges removed but this left a very bad taste in our mouths. It just seemed that they wanted to slip in as many charges as possible hoping we wouldn't realise and would pay up which is very underhanded behaviour.
So go to Camelot because it is a beautiful place with a good team in place but clarify all charges and check all bills before paying.

Room Tip: The upstair rooms overlooking the valley are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anjali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
2.4 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
401 reviews
5 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
749 reviews
2.8 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
543 reviews
3 mi away
The Panoramic Getaway
The Panoramic Getaway
#5 of 15 in Chithirapuram
410 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deep Woods Resort
Deep Woods Resort
#22 of 103 in Munnar
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Resort

Address: Munnar P.O. | Idukki Dist, Munnar, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
Price Range: £83 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camelot Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awesome view point and echo point inside the property, wonderful trekking trails inside tea and coffee plantations. Situated amidst nature, away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Organic fruits and vegetables farming, shuttle badminton court, free parking and accommodation & food for drivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Camelot Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel Munnar
Camelot Resort Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing