We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Tranquil place....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Camelot Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camelot Resort
Ranked #48 of 95 Hotels in Munnar
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Tranquil place....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Camelot resort is definitely good place to stay and its away of from the crowd of the hills. The resort is surrounded by tea gardens and its beautiful . The sunbird room had a very good view and the rooms are well maintained. They have well maintained garden and one can relax and have awesome views of the hills and valley from the resort.

You can trek around the resort and the staff also offers the guide to track to nearest points.

Food is average and it would be good if they can appoint good chef and provide different cuisine..

Room Tip: Sunbird First floor rooms are really good with beautiful view of the valley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pguruswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    31
    10
    10
    10
See reviews for
47
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
u.s.a
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Camelot resort is a highly recommended place to stay in Munnar. The staff at this resort are always willing to go the extra mile to ensure that the guests have a pleasant stay. We stayed at off-peak season time, when there was a record rainfall and bad weather. But the staff and management at Camelot ensured that we had no difficulty despite the bad weather.
The rooms are neat and clean and hot water is always available. The meals served at the restaurant is tasty. A must go back to place in my list. Devi. U.S.A

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dw071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

This was my third visit to the resort having known Mr Dileep for over 10 years.
Memories of my previous visit and the indelible mark the location left on me made me wander back to the place.
And how much has changed, lovely rooms, paved walking paths, and landscaped gardens.. However, the warmth , hospitality and excellent service has remained the hallmark of Camelot.
The visit was marked by one of the heaviest monsoons the place has seen. Mist, howling windy and the rains added to the wonderful experience.., k p murali, Chennai

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kpmurali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Exact GPS Location of Camelot Resort: N 10°3'37.0" E 77°0'27.8"

Booking:
I booked the Hummingbird room(Super Luxury room), which is very spacious and has good view. However I felt that it doesn't worth even to pay this much for a resort which has only basic amenities.

Driving:
I took the Dindugal-Theni-Munnar route, but decided to return through the Udumalpet route due to lot of maintenance work in theni route. Also the udumalpet route has the waterfalls and many other tourist attractions.

Location:
After reaching munnar, I decided not to believe my GPS or Google Maps, since I learnt that it has a private road to the letchmi estate, which is not available in maps. You must take the mankulam road from Munnar nearly for 8 kms and then drive another 2 kms in a narrow private road (Forest).

Final 2 kms may increase your heartbeat because it has no proper road and very steep that you can't find in munnar. I guess another few degree inclination would have tilted the vehicle. However my car was able to climb in first gear without any trouble.

I really like this resort as there was a complete privacy with no disturbance. Rooms were clean and has good view from the room. Staffs were courteuos and They cooked a very good food. My kid never wanted to leave this resort as she liked it very much.

If you are planning to visit this resort, then buy BSNL (Cell One) sim card, since this is the only network that will work in the resort. You must reach the resort before 6 pm for clear visiblity (fog) of the road. Also I was told about an elephant that came down last night. There are no shops or hospitals for next 10 kms, so go prepared. However there was always a mild fear since I was the only guest in this private resort, phone is not reachable and nobody can question if something worst have happened.

For Family, if you are going in groups, then this is the best place to stay. Otherwise you may take the risk as I did.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sathish329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Camelot resort situated at the top most part of Munnar,It is most highlighting feature in the Camelot resort.. Camelot resort really is a hill station and providing super luxury room,luxury room,deluxe room as we prefer. Really I had a great experience there..We can catch the wonderful view of the misty mountains around Camelot resort.. I enjoyed the self sufficiency of Camelot.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shikanehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

This is one excellent resort for all its qualities - location, service, premises,
Here's what i loved about this place: - wonderfully warm staff - beautiful huge rooms and nice housekeeping staff who taught us how to fold towels in fancy shapes - lavish buffet spread for all meals - in the middle of scenic tea gardens - beautiful tree house
i would definitely come back here with my family to experience the best get together

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falconwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Especially the room that we got was facing the hills. The outside view from room was exceptional. The two days we spent was a lazy holiday where no phone could disturb. Just the two of us. We got some friends in the evening along with the owner of resort. We played some one minute games and had a bonfire before the dinner. I forgot the name of owner, but he was very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Navjot68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiero2012, Director of Sales at Camelot Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
We are pleased to note that you had a wondreful experience At Camelot Resort, thanks for motivating our team. The team and the owner Mr.Dileep is eagerly waiting for you to be back soon to our wonderful destination!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
2.4 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Fog Resort & Spa
The Fog Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
2.8 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Abad Copper Castle Hill Valley Resort
3.2 mi away
Tea Harvester
Tea Harvester
#6 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Resort

Property: Camelot Resort
Address: Munnar P.O. | Idukki Dist, Munnar, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camelot Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awesome view point and echo point inside the property, wonderful trekking trails inside tea and coffee plantations. Situated amidst nature, away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Organic fruits and vegetables farming, shuttle badminton court, free parking and accommodation & food for drivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camelot Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel Munnar
Camelot Resort Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing