We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, Disappointing food for vegetarians”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
KTDC Tea County Munnar
Ranked #11 of 103 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I went from 22to 29 Sept 2013 KTDC monsoon package.
KTDC is probably one of the most professionally run government tourist organization.
Tea County is placed at very good location beautifully laid out property. Very courteous staff.
Transport was good and punctual.
My only grouse is about veg food.My impression is all KTDC resorts are not serious about veg food.At Munnar same Pulao and dal were repeated for two days. Same was story for breakfast .The cooks should stop serving puri bhaji.It is uniformly tasteless at all resorts. There was no attempt to serve Kerala food. No Kerala dish is there on menu. It is all Punjabi dishes which the cooks are not good at. I had to ask the restaurant manager to give me something different, which he did on the last day. The chefs should take some tips from a dhaba and not be shy of introducing local food which they must be knowing well

Room Tip: Choose 1 st floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drakul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here for a family leisure trip for 2 nights. Excellent KTDC property with nicely landscaped loans and cottages.
Majestic look of the property and rooms are also well meaintained. Facilities in terms of indoor games or even the indoor swimming pool was not fucntional. Staff is welcoming and helpful
Go around the place walking and yes tea can be smelt all in and around the property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VIG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is the best hotel i have stayed.
I spent 2 nights there.
The staff is very excellent and sweet in nature.
The food they provided is very delicious.
There is a warm welcome by the hotel staff.
The view from the hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vipul2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We spent two days here. Good clean rooms and great views. Very spacious hotel. Bad gym but many indoor games for everyone. In-room heaters are very good. Great location too... very pleased. Best hotel in town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mishal153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Part of the Kerala Government KTDC Properties, it is located in the centre of town like all other KTDC Properties. The rooms are very spacious and well equiped and give an excellent view of the hills from either side as its located at the top of the mountain.
The food is average and its better to look for other options in the town below.
We were given a complementary upgrade to premium category room and it was close to the reception as requested.
Have to walk a bit for rooms situated away from the reception. Have to walk up a floor anyways to reach any room.
They also have an ayurvedic spa in the hotel but its on the expensive side. For those wanting to go for a cheaper option, there are a couple of ayurvedic treatment options at a very short distance from the hotel on the right hand side, which give good massages, but i wouldn't recommend it in the winters or cool weather as they do not have heated rooms.
There is not much to see in the town, and one has to travel away from the city anyways to explore the sight seeing options, so location is not such a big advantage except for some eating out options at walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Better to take a room on the first floor to get a good view and also preferable close to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KARAN_DHURKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Went in Sept 2011, great place, nice rooms. Nice location, close to the market. Food is better outside than inside the property.
Rooms on the top floor have a better view of the mountains n landscape, but the adjoining rooms are too close...feel like next door person can enter into your room!
There is bath tub also in some of the rooms. But, the weather usually is cold n one doesn't want to soak in bathtub when its cold.
Go to saravana Bhuvan in market for nice South Indian food!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank aum1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

i have stayed there during my kerala tour & this is very good resort for family also. rooms are quite good in comfort & size. the location of hotel is also good.

munnar is small & good city. it is just feel you hills station as himalaya like temperature & view. there is lagrge spread out of tea gardens on the whole hills.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NishiChandigarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
4.2 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,032 reviews
13.3 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
543 reviews
3.7 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
749 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Fog Resort & Spa
The Fog Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Chithirapuram
763 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KTDC Tea County Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KTDC Tea County Munnar

Address: Colony Road near Govt. Guest House, Munnar 685612, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
#6 Family Hotel in Munnar
#7 Spa Hotel in Munnar
#7 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
#8 Luxury Hotel in Munnar
Price Range: £61 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — KTDC Tea County Munnar 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint cottages, fragrant tea gardens and mist-draped mornings are hallmarks of Munnar. For years the cool and picturesque town of Munnar was the summer retreat of the British and it still retains the charm of a colonial past. The destination is home to the only sandalwood forest in Kerala and is also famous for its exotic flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your KTDC Tea County Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ktdc Tea County Hotel Munnar
Tea County Munnar
Tea County Hotel Munnar
KTDC Tea County Munnar Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing