We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value of money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat
Ranked #6 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Thrissur
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good value of money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

A nice place and the tree house is worth the money, should spend a day on it. for the amount of money one spend , u cant ask for more. if u are looking for a budget stay, dont look anywhere else, and if u planning to visit the places around, ecoland is far away from the munnar tourist spots. so i would say to have a relaxed 2 day stay, this the best place. if you want to go around, its better if you ask them to arrange. the service is very good, the care taker is doing a good job.

Room Tip: the tree house should be your first choice..if you are in a group other rooms can be preffered as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarathksarath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaEcoland, Public Relations Manager at Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thanks a lot for visiting us and your review mean a lot us! Thanks once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    31
    5
    2
    9
See reviews for
47
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

When we decided to go to Munnar during the last week of May, reviews of ela ecoland caught my attention. we booked the tree-house for 2 nights and must say it was worth staying at the place. The absolute privacy, quite mornings with view of cloudy mountains and waterfalls were absolutely blissful. Ela-ecoland had organised our whole package including pick up and drop from Munnar. The staff are friendly and served us amazing meals throughout our stay. Tree-house has basic facilities so if one is looking for luxury amenities it is not the place. There are power cuts and natural water source is not crystal clear..but those are part of adventure. I will highly recommend the place to people who love adventure

Room Tip: Monsoon will not be the ideal place to stay in the tree-house as the roof possibly needs repair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maitreedg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We were a group of 12 with age groups ranging from 12 to 70. We made a mistake by checking in late at night. It was already 9PM when we reached Ela (Damn the Munnar traffic). There was a power cut and it was quite scary to walk in an unknown area in pitch dark. The staff were courteous enough to wait for us in the road and direct us inside the cottages. They were also ready to carry any of the elders if needed(Kudos to them for the Service first Attitude). We were given a Single cottage and a Two-bedroom Rock House. The path to the Rock House was very steep. I would recommend those travelling with their families to book the Family Cottage in advance. The bachelors would love the climb to the Rock House and the thrill accompanied by staying in the Wooden house surrounded by rocks and the trees. We were served Dinner and the staff willingly delivered the food in the rooms. The next day revealed the beauty of the resort. There was a stream flowing through the resort and there was greenery all around you. We got more accustomed to the textures of the land and were feeling more in place with the surrounding. The climb to the Rock House was not hard any more as we were getting used to it. Maximum number of guests catered to will be around 10 and it will be a pleasant change from the crowds you see in the Hotels. There was a stream running around the resort and it provided a good ambient sound all though the stay. The man-in-charge is Mr Marimuthu and with a group of 6 staff, he has been running a real good show. The cook, Mr Deva was serving delicious foods as per our choice and would make any chef run for his money. We were arranged a Jungle safari and it by all means surpassed my expectations. I have been to many jeep safaris before but this was definitely the best. With a total of 5 rooms and nearly 4 acres to share, credit should go to the Management for sticking to such a plan and executing it with keeping customer satisfaction at the forefront.

Improvements Suggested:

Laying Stones on the way to the Rock House
Erection of Handle Supports in stairs
Generator Back-Up
Better lighting in the pathways

Overall, it was a great stay in a beautiful place catered by courteous staff. Newly weds would love the privacy offered. Bird watchers would be blown away by the number of birds around. Adventurous people will be thrilled by the location of the Tree House and the Rock House. Go to Ela Ecoland and be a part of nature.

Room Tip: Keep the doors closed after dark to avoid attracting insects. Check - In early to get settled down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karthik_freaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaEcoland, Public Relations Manager at Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Karthik:

It was our pleasure to serve such a wonderful group.

We have fixed our back up generators and its working fine, more lights have been installed on the way to the Rock house and the rest of the suggested work are under progress.

Your review means a lot to us !

Thanks a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calicut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We had an awesome time at Ecoland, I visited with my family including my parents and stayed at Ecoland for 6 days, we thoroughly enjoyed the stay and the beautiful location. Since, Ecoland organized the entire package for us, we had no worries. Our rooms were facing the valley and enjoyed every morning with the view and song of birds, we recommend nature lovers to visit Aanakulam( Elephant pond) in a 4WD jeep safari, and it’s very adventurous also. We were lucky enough to spot wild elephants there. The new rock houses at ecoland looks great, we could not stay there since it was just closing to completion. So, we liked the theme of this natural beauty with Treehouse, Rock house and cottages. Very importantly we had great food there with different local cuisines every day including country chicken, rabbit etc etc…they cooked real home made food with local spice from the farm. Will defiantly recommend everyone who loves nature and not looking for real luxury. My children enjoyed and were very happy with the holiday at ecoland also missing all staff there

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheminacalicut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed at Ela Ecoland during our visit to Munnar. The place has a perfect setting. Treehouse, waterfall, nice food, herbs and trees around, firepace in the evening. We spent one night in the Treehouse and one in the cottage. The staff is ultra courteous and helpful. Food preparation is very good and diverse. There is a small stream with a mini-waterfall within the premises and the view from the treehouse is heavenly. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kamlesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaEcoland, Director of Sales at Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Kamelsh:

It was our pleasure to have you both at Ela and we look forward to serve you, your family and friends again!

Warm Regards

Ravi
Ela Ecoland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

What a find! This place is truly amazing! We spent three nights here and loved the mountainside location away from the city. The location is beautiful, with a nice hiking trail right at your doorstep.The rooms are clean and the location is simply stunning with a 'jungle' vista all around. The staff is very friendly and helpful preparing the most delicious meals. There is nothing to complaint as long as you are not looking for luxury.This is all set in a 4 acre plantation of cardamom, pepper, coffee....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank loius p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

One feels at such peace as soon as you get to Ela. It was such a relaxing place to visit. The cottage was perfect and the food was wonderful. It's a great location, valley front, birds all around, giant squirrels, spice plantations all around - our most favorite location in India so far.
Great home cooked breakfast and dinners. We will come back for sure and recommended for Nature lovers.

Room Tip: Tree House is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shauna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
5.0 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
20.2 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jungle Jive Tree House Munnar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nature Zone Resort
Nature Zone Resort
#7 of 154 in Munnar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
6.6 mi away
Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat

Property: Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat
Address: Kallar Annakulam road | Near Primary Health Center, Munnar 685611, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco Friendly property located on a hillock around the hills of Munnar. The property has got a small waterfall within the location right in front of the front desk. There are large virgin trees and a lot of cardamom and coffee plantations in and around the property. There are luxury tents, a rock house and a tree house available at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing