We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a horror movie! BEWARE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat
Ranked #6 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We have just returned from our 3 week trip to India and unfortunately Ela Ecoland was the worst accommodation that we encountered. The first issue is that it is not in Munnar, it is at least 1 hours drive away. Whilst the jungle location is nice with the river flowing though it is not among the tea plantations that you visit the area to see.

The 'cosy' cottage was dark, damp, dirty, cold and un-welcoming with random dusty ornaments in it. The tent next to us was awful, covered with mould. The shower did not work so we had to resort to washing ourselves with buckets of water. There was dirt and mould everywhere and there was no power for the majority of our time there. Wires were hanging and the electrics looked totally dodgy. The bed had a horrid blanket that smelt of damp. There was no ceiling, it was just a green fabric separating us and the roof which leaked when it rained. The food also left quite a lot to be desired - the food was prepared in a dirty kitchen. With the location so remote there really was no escape to anywhere more comfortable. Ok the website says 'does not offer the luxuries you might expect in resorts' we were expecting basic but clean - it was not clean!!

Another misleading quote from the website - 'The cottages have spacious and tastefully-appointed living space and invitingly clean and warm bedrooms'. Erm - tasteful - no. Inviting - no more like a room you would see in a horror movie when a couples car breaks down and the only place to stay in the creepy cottage a mile away. Clean - no.

Whilst our host Mr Shiju was very polite and friendly (hence the 2 given for Service), the accommodation really didn't live up to our expectations. We feel that Ela Ecoland misrepresents itself on yours and its own websites. There really is very little 'eco' about it. The river flowing through the site was pretty but the local men digging and extracting sand from it hardly seemed very 'eco friendly'.

As a result we checked out after one night and went to stay elsewhere. Overpriced an absolute rip off with a completely misleading 'fancy' website. AWFUL PLACE.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Capock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2010

It was an exhilarating honeymoon trip. We had a wonderful time in Ela ecoland. It was a beautiful place and the time we spent in the resort was amazing. Food was yummy. Great place to be with family and friends to have a good break. The whole trip was arranged in an immaculate manner that definition of an ideal honeymoon fitted this trip. The credit goes to Krishnan who offered this package to us. Catch Krishnan @ 9841030553. Pictures of Ela Ecoland can be viewed @ http://picasaweb.google.com/ElaEcoland/ElaEcoland#

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Priyavinod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Me and my family had a wonderful expreince at Ela ecoland, those 4 days, we were treated like kings and we had one of the best holiday ever, we woke up every day with sounds of birds, real majical sounds, my kids were busy playing with all the pets at ela, there were ducks,swams freely swiimming th valley. this is purely an eco preoperty. we had fruits everday from the farm, we throughly enjoyed the oranges,magoes,jackfruits,strawberries,papayas,passion fruits and different varities of mounatin bananas. the treehouse was a big surprise and located beatifully on 5 huge tress with majical view, we have deciced to spent atleast 5 days here in ela evry year. my kids keep talking about ela even after coming back, we wish the promoter and all the staff the very best for maintaining this place so beautifully and we hope be back soon, i would certainly recommend to all my collegues

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blessyjacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

I had pleasure to stay at the resort while owner of the resort Mr. Das was there and I think I was lucky at that. I am surprised by the reviews giving 1 rating to the resort. I liked the resort for its rawness and the food that was served which was true to the Kerala delicacy. The resort is 18 km away from the city, which means that you are closer to nature and far from city rush and the tree house actually makes you feel that you are staying right in the laps of nature. The water stream flowing beside the resort and the cardamom plantations all around make the resort itself look beautiful.

I was really delighted by the service we were provided by the staff, which may be because the owner was staying while we were there, but my stay was wonderful. The cook, Mr. Gopalkrishnan served us interesting Kerala delicacies which we still remember. The staff was on toes all day round.

The only problem with resort is not-so-clean room, which I would not have expected because of the location. I never heard of a 5 star tree house?

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank engupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

My wife, 2 kids and myself were travelling for a month in Kerala. This place was the worse experience of all hotels which we visited.
We arrived to the hotel with great expectations built by their website. The location is indeed beautiful but this is where the similarities to the promisses end. The place's maintenance is very low, rooms are dearty and sheets seems not to be changed for a while.
The owner is in some remote location and the on-site manager seems to be more interested in drinking then any other thing.
We stayed with a couple of friends that just could'nt stand the smell in their room and left after one night. We were too lazy to pack after the first night and were punished by a second night.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GG_HodHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2008

We were visiting Ela for the second time and it looks different and beautiful with the newly built cottage, even though it was raining for the whole day we did have one of our best times ever. We were swimming in the Valley right in front of our cottage and water was as pure as mineral water, they were treating us like like a family and the food served was traditional and was tasting really yummy. There were many farmers plucking the cardomom seeds and we did join them for fun. even though we had frequent power cut they had back up genertors to suport. We cant find any negatives there coz thats exactly what we were looking for. a real realaxed holiday for us and we need this so badly since we live in a crowded city. We would certainly recommend this all our freinds. This is not a 5 star hotel for your info, nither it provides such luxury, but definitly the location, people, rooms and food is much natural than a 5 star. we would come back again in march with our parents for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dranju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

Me and Jhon had one of the best expereince at Ela ecoland, we felt like very close to nature, homely food made our stay even better. There was no hot water in the tree house but they were ready with hot water when ever we wanted. We met a cpl from Atlanta who were staying in the cottage near the stream and we had a lovely time together with bornfire nights. Intially we were planning to saty for a night at the tree house and later extented it to another 3 days. Surely we will visit again and also will recommend this beautiful piece of nature to our freinds.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lizjhon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
7.1 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
757 reviews
20.2 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
547 reviews
5 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#3 of 15 in Chithirapuram
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dew Drops
Dew Drops
#2 of 198 in Munnar
187 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kaivalyam Retreat
Kaivalyam Retreat
#3 of 205 in Munnar
705 reviews
8.3 mi away
Dream Catcher Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat

Address: Kallar Annakulam road | Near Primary Health Center, Munnar 685611, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Price Range: £34 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco Friendly property located on a hillock around the hills of Munnar. The property has got a small waterfall within the location right in front of the front desk. There are large virgin trees and a lot of cardamom and coffee plantations in and around the property. There are luxury tents, a rock house and a tree house available at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing