We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place for One / Half Day Trip”
Review of Elephanta Caves

Elephanta Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
US$61.00*
and up
Private Elephanta Caves Tour
More Info
US$39.00*
and up
Mumbai Elephenta Caves Private Tour
More Info
US$36.00*
and up
World Famous Ancientness Elephanta Caves Tour with Toy Train Ride
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Elephanta Caves are situated on Elephanta Island about 7 kms from Mumbai’s mainland shore. The caves can be reached by an approx. 1-hour boat ride from Gateway of India.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“A good place for One / Half Day Trip”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Last Visited : February 2014.

How to Reach: We reached from Pune by Volvo Bus upto Sion Station. From there we took a cab to reach this destination on our way to Elephanta Caves.
Site Review : I have visited this place for the first time but, ferry ride from Gateway of India to Island is a treat.

Historical Information: The Elephanta Caves are a network of sculpted caves located on Elephanta Island, or Gharapuri (literally "the city of caves") in Mumbai Harbour, 10 kilometres (6.2 mi) to the east of the city of Mumbai in the Indian state of Maharashtra. The island, located on an arm of the Arabian Sea, consists of two groups of caves—the first is a large group of five Hindu caves, the second, a smaller group of two Buddhist caves.

Additional Observation: In the start there is a navy area of the left hand side and a murky view of Trombe oil refinery. prohibited to take snaps during this navy area ride.
When you reach the island it is a 5 min trip by a small toy train / or by walk from the bank of the sea to foot of the hill.
Crossing the local bunch of shops , and can had lunch at the hotels at bottom of the hill , it a good steep climbing. But view is good after reaching there. Not all the caves are good but it is must to see 20 feet (6.1 m) high Trimurti sculpture , called "Sadashiv". Then a little rest and climb further to see the big rotating cannon a good historical learning on how they used to operate a cannon.
Then on return a large pool of birds fly behind your ferry boat is a awesome view. Also must mention the amazing view of TAJ & Gate Way from the arabian sea is must to see. A nice feeling to see the reflections of TAJ & Gate Way of INDIA in water.

Localities : Place is overall poorly maintained to manage this high footfall. Ferry ride to elephanta caves takes 160 /- approx. per head.

Hotels : No hotel on island , go and return by last ferry.

Contact Details: NA

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Soumendra_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    574
    235
    51
    30
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Elephanta Island”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My daughter and I loved the ferry trip out to the island to see the caves. We were tempted by all the beautiful local art and craft on the way. The shopping is very reasonable and the best place to buy souvenirs that I have found.
Caves are remarkable and a real treasure to find such incredible carvings of the Indian Gods and Goddesses, the Hindu Trinity.
Well worth a visit, as it is also very peaceful there after the hustle and bustle of Mumbai.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Elephanta Caves”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

An hours trip by ferry, these can be taken at the same place as the gateway to India.
We were there in May, so it was incredible hot and humid. The 120 odd stairs to the caves are lined with vendors selling trinkets and lots of beautiful things. There is a fee to enter the actual cave site.
The caves are amazing, even though some have been destroyed by Portuguese bullets, they are still impressive. they tell the story of the Hindu trinity.
We were fortunate to get a guide on the island as we got off the ferry. His English was good, and he was very knowledgeable on everything to do with the island. if you do get a guide, make sure you find out the cost before you start off on the tour.
Carry water to drink, as we were told not to drink the water, there are stalls/ restaurants selling drinks and food. Keep it in your bag, as there are thirsty monkey's around that will grab it from you.
Great views of the gateway leaving the bay and coming back, as well as amazing views of Mumbai.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mintlaw
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Elephanta caves Mumbai”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

when we visited these caves we hired a sailing boat from the Royal Yacht Club and with a trained boat skipper we sailed for about an hour.With the weather being very humid this was the best way to keep cool.We also took a picnic with us on the sailing boat which passed the time until we got there.Once arrived found to be one of the best trips we have had whilst we stayed in India

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 430alistair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“SHORT CRUISE OFF THE MUMBAI COAST”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hour to hour and a half boat ride is very relaxing. The caves are well maintained and holy trinity of Brahma, Vishnu and Maheshwar beautifully carved in stone is an amazing site. Some must dos recommended: Carry a camera with a flash as lighting is very low in the cave. Do not carry food, juices etc,. visibly displayed, as you may be subject to a horde of monkey attack. On arrival in Elephanta, after getting off the boat, even if you have to wait, take the toy train. It will save you a long walk in the sun. Finally, on your return (you may have to pay a little extra), take a larger boat into Mumbai. The topmost deck during return will provide you amazing sights of the city

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Dhrubo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elephanta Caves also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Navi Mumbai, Mumbai (Bombay)
 

Been to Elephanta Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing