We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location to visit Golden Temple but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Golden
Ranked #47 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best location to visit Golden Temple but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed there for a night only and I Was delighed that Golden temple is just opposite to the hotel. We wouldn't have got the opportunity to visit Golden temple both in night and morning if we were staying in some other hotel.
We stayed in the super deluxe room and the room was clean but very small. Food was average and the service isnt great either.

Overall, I wont recommend this hotel for more than a day's time and that too due to its proximity to the Golden temple. But If you are staying in Amritsar with only intentions of visiting the temple, its definitely better to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarimaSharma15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    72
    38
    12
    11
See reviews for
74
33
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

The area around the Golden Temple is getting a face lift same as it was last year.
So the best option is this Hotel as its opposite to the Ghanta ghar entry of Golden Temple.
You step out of the Hotel, take 15 steps & you are into the Golden Temple.

We booked ourselves for a Super Deluxe room which I thought was small so decided to look for the executive room & it was what we were looking for.
The room being on the First floor had wide glass window overlooking the Ghanta ghar & The Akal Takhat.
It was a large room (I really mean large in comparison to the other 02 Hotels I have previously stayed) with wooden flooring, a sofa, a nice LCD TV & tea/coffee maker in the room which you generally don't find in Hotels near to Golden Temple.
The bathroom was decently sized with basic amenities & hot running water in the taps too.

The room came with breakfast included- It was a buffet placed at their glass enclosed restaurant from where you can see The Golden Temple.
The buffet had- tea/coffee, aloo-puri, poha, daliya, sambhar-vada, butter toast & curd.

The food was delicious but the room service is quite slow.
You have to wait for 1/2 hour or 45 minutes for your order to be delivered.

Rest, all was absolutely perfect. This is the hotel is would always stay in whenever I would stay in Amritsar in future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room no:2006
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakita_Rajput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights in the first week of September 2013 after talking to the manager and getting a decent discount (verbally). After reading the hotel description, we asked for a room facing the Golden temple with a view of the temple and were suggested to book the Executive room. We were told it is bigger, more luxurious and obviously pricier, and the Delux/Super Delux rooms didn't face the temple and had no view. We booked 2 rooms, 1 Executive and 1 Super Delux and paid almost twice as much on the executive room (after discount as they couldn't offer much on the Executive room). When we arrived at the hotel, we were disappointed to find out that the Delux and the Executive rooms were identical, once facing the temple, one not, but neither of them had any view. The view was the only reason we paid more money which definitely wasn't worth it. Unless you are in the restaurant which is on the top floor, you don't get a view of the temple. The staff knew this but they misled us to believe we have a view from the Executive room.

Nevertheless, the location was great as the temple is just 2 mins walk from the hotel. It is hence also a very safe location for families or women travelling alone or even late at night. We visited the temple in the morning and evening knowing we are so close to the hotel.

There is some road work going on so little bit congested/polluted in the front of the hotel and cars/taxis are not allowed at all times. There are no other restaurants nearby, you have to walk 10-15 mins to get to the big Dhabbas. So if you are with families or elderly people, you may want to get a cab or settle with the hotel's restaurant which is not a bad option. The food was a bit pricey, but was good and tasty.

The Executive room was not very spacious, the sitting area was very tiny, even for 3 people. The Super Delux room seemed better in that respect, same size and ammenities but less money.

The hotel was very stingy with towels and soaps and we had to call and request both the days we were there as we had 3 members in 1 room.

The hotel provided breakfast buffet which was adequate and included items like idlis, batata-poha, fruits, toast, oatmeal etc. Breakfast for 2 people is included with the room tariff, had to pay for the third guest.

It is best to arrange for your own transportation to/from station and the airport as you will get a better deal and it is easy to find cabs. There is cab booking office about 7 mins walk from this hotel.

Jallianwala Bagh is also conveniently located within walking distance, so is the shopping area, though we didn't do any shopping. The airport is about 30-45 mins away, so leave ample time during rush hour. Lowering of the Flags ceremony at the Wagah border is a must-see if you are visiting Amritsar and is less than an hour away by cab (readily available) from this hotel/Golden temple.

Other than our disappointing experience with the "Executive room with the view", rest of the stay was ok and the hotel served our main purpose - visiting the temple at our time and leisure.

Book cheaper options to get your money’s worth, Delux/Super Delux rooms are good and adequate and with discounts are decently priced for the quality and location. Negotiate on a final price inclusive of all taxes and charges to avoid surprises. Enjoy your stay and Sat Sri Akal !

Room Tip: Book Super Delux or Delux rooms if price is a concern. More expensive options don't offer more f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The main USP of this hotel is its location.If you are visiting amritsar for golden temple, would highly recomend this hotel.We had booked delux room.

note- Room size of delux room is small, if looking for spacious rooms then book higher category rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaneetP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Do not be guided by their website – it's completely different. True – this hotel is a spit across road to Golden temple, and it has ok rooms. That's where the good stuff ends. It's down a rubble & rubbish filled wide alley, which also houses a lot of beggars, and very very poorly dogs (very upsetting).
The roof top restaurant as featured on the site is nothing more than a depressed forgotten roof space (we booked this primarily based on this feature), now clad completely in dirty glass, obscuring the already A/c unit obscured view of the temple. It offers absolutely nothing. Service was appalling, only 10 5 of menu available. It was very clear that they did not want or welcome western travellers.
Everything was a problem. Every little menial request (of which there were few) was either not actioned – or ridiculous sums of money requested. My companions & I are well travelled within India, and have never experienced this level of service. If all you want is a bed. Fine. If you want anything more – avoid. Avoid.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amritsar hotels

Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Yes the hotel is bang opposite to Golden temple, stayed here for couple of nights overall hotel is good but roads nearby are narrow so difficult to reach there.Room are basic but somewhat small and has a/c, fridge, tv like basic amenities required.hotel was clean and restuarant at roof top gives beautiful view of temple but when we visited hardly people were seen in restuarant though we had a relaxed lunch and service+ food which we got was excellent.Even we hired taxi from them for wagah border trip and experience was good.

Nice budget hotel for short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saranggd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Hands down this is THE place to stay for access to the Golden Temple. It is 50m from one of the gates so it doesn't get better than that. The proximity to this fabulous temple means that you can visit any time, several times and for as long as you wish and I found myself wondering over there for a bit of quiet time on a few occasions at various times of the day.

We arrived in Amritsar on Diwali afternoon - our hotel is opposite the Golden Temple and so straight away we had an issue as the area was closed off to motorised vehicles - including auto tuk tuks. This meant that we had to load up rickshaws with heavy suitcases and watch those poor men struggle through the crowded streets!

Our rooms were clean but fairly basic - they had air con and ceiling fan and the hot water worked. We also had a fridge and kettle etc for tea and coffee making but they seemed to have an aversion to giving us any replacement coffee but had handfulls of sugar!

We were meant to move rooms to the front of the hotel overlooking the temple but we opted to stay in our room - it was further back from the noisier front and was cheaper than the intended one.

The rooms were cleaned well daily with clean linen and towels every day. I'm not sure why hotels in India don't provide bath mats however. Unfortunately, on the last morning our shower was blocked but prior to that it had been fine.

The restaurant is on the top floor and with a small outdoor space overlooking the temple we had the best view of the Diwali fireworks you could imagine. The food was good - we never had a problem with the food itself but service is not the best. There isn't always someone up there to take your order. An odd thing - there are omelettes on the menu but you cannot eat them in the restaurant only in your room as they can only serve "vegetarian" food in sight of the temple (eggs in India are considered non-vegetarian). Anyway - the omelettes are fantastic and made a great lunch. Breakfasts were good too.

We stayed in Amritsar for 5 nights (probably too long) and the staff were always polite and helpful and I loved the location which always felt safe and central (easy to find your way back after a morning wondering the side streets).

The downside of this hotel is that the owners are missing a huge huge opportunity. This hotel could be fantastic. It has location but is tired and in need of refurbishment. The restaurant is in a fantastic place - a conservatory-style area overlooking the Temple and yet they don't clean the windows, the table linen needs changing, the blinds need replacing and when it rained the glass roof leaked. What a missed chance. However by Indian standards I think it did reasonably well.

Also I would point out the Temple is under a huge extension programme (I believe set to continue for a few years) and this means the area is dusty, and access is not the best but that's not the fault of the Le Golden obviously.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 4003 (actually on the third floor) which is the floor under the restaurant and kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G13G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel CJ International
Hotel CJ International
#73 of 96 in Amritsar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel City Heart
Hotel City Heart
#34 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
#67 of 96 in Amritsar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#18 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abode UNA Xpress
Abode UNA Xpress
#21 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#4 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Golden

Property: Hotel Le Golden
Address: Bazar Mai Sewan | Clock Tower Ext Opp Golden Temple, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Golden 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a prime property just opposite the world-renowned Golden Temple and the best among hotels in the vicinity of the temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Golden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing