We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convienient”
Review of Hotel Le Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Golden
Ranked #42 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Reviewed 24 December 2013

If your agenda is Golden Temple Darshan ..then is the place to book and stay. Just opposite the temple , we were able to go for darshan at 3a.m without having second thoughts about safety or catching a rickshaw . We stayed in the super deluxe room . We were being given the room at the ground floor which was near the reception area , I personally did not like the idea , then we were given the option of the first floor which was better . It was clean and luckily the bedspreads were clean too. The bathroom had hot water facility , but the only problem was it smelled, be sure to carry your deo. Spray . The staff was very kind , helpful and pleasant . Stayed there for one night .

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chandhok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Golden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed there for a night only and I Was delighed that Golden temple is just opposite to the hotel. We wouldn't have got the opportunity to visit Golden temple both in night and morning if we were staying in some other hotel.
We stayed in the super deluxe room and the room was clean but very small. Food was average and the service isnt great either.

Overall, I wont recommend this hotel for more than a day's time and that too due to its proximity to the Golden temple. But If you are staying in Amritsar with only intentions of visiting the temple, its definitely better to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarimaSharma15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The area around the Golden Temple is getting a face lift same as it was last year.
So the best option is this Hotel as its opposite to the Ghanta ghar entry of Golden Temple.
You step out of the Hotel, take 15 steps & you are into the Golden Temple.

We booked ourselves for a Super Deluxe room which I thought was small so decided to look for the executive room & it was what we were looking for.
The room being on the First floor had wide glass window overlooking the Ghanta ghar & The Akal Takhat.
It was a large room (I really mean large in comparison to the other 02 Hotels I have previously stayed) with wooden flooring, a sofa, a nice LCD TV & tea/coffee maker in the room which you generally don't find in Hotels near to Golden Temple.
The bathroom was decently sized with basic amenities & hot running water in the taps too.

The room came with breakfast included- It was a buffet placed at their glass enclosed restaurant from where you can see The Golden Temple.
The buffet had- tea/coffee, aloo-puri, poha, daliya, sambhar-vada, butter toast & curd.

The food was delicious but the room service is quite slow.
You have to wait for 1/2 hour or 45 minutes for your order to be delivered.

Rest, all was absolutely perfect. This is the hotel is would always stay in whenever I would stay in Amritsar in future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room no:2006
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rakita_Rajput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights in the first week of September 2013 after talking to the manager and getting a decent discount (verbally). After reading the hotel description, we asked for a room facing the Golden temple with a view of the temple and were suggested to book the Executive room. We were told it is bigger, more luxurious and obviously pricier, and the Delux/Super Delux rooms didn't face the temple and had no view. We booked 2 rooms, 1 Executive and 1 Super Delux and paid almost twice as much on the executive room (after discount as they couldn't offer much on the Executive room). When we arrived at the hotel, we were disappointed to find out that the Delux and the Executive rooms were identical, once facing the temple, one not, but neither of them had any view. The view was the only reason we paid more money which definitely wasn't worth it. Unless you are in the restaurant which is on the top floor, you don't get a view of the temple. The staff knew this but they misled us to believe we have a view from the Executive room.

Nevertheless, the location was great as the temple is just 2 mins walk from the hotel. It is hence also a very safe location for families or women travelling alone or even late at night. We visited the temple in the morning and evening knowing we are so close to the hotel.

There is some road work going on so little bit congested/polluted in the front of the hotel and cars/taxis are not allowed at all times. There are no other restaurants nearby, you have to walk 10-15 mins to get to the big Dhabbas. So if you are with families or elderly people, you may want to get a cab or settle with the hotel's restaurant which is not a bad option. The food was a bit pricey, but was good and tasty.

The Executive room was not very spacious, the sitting area was very tiny, even for 3 people. The Super Delux room seemed better in that respect, same size and ammenities but less money.

The hotel was very stingy with towels and soaps and we had to call and request both the days we were there as we had 3 members in 1 room.

The hotel provided breakfast buffet which was adequate and included items like idlis, batata-poha, fruits, toast, oatmeal etc. Breakfast for 2 people is included with the room tariff, had to pay for the third guest.

It is best to arrange for your own transportation to/from station and the airport as you will get a better deal and it is easy to find cabs. There is cab booking office about 7 mins walk from this hotel.

Jallianwala Bagh is also conveniently located within walking distance, so is the shopping area, though we didn't do any shopping. The airport is about 30-45 mins away, so leave ample time during rush hour. Lowering of the Flags ceremony at the Wagah border is a must-see if you are visiting Amritsar and is less than an hour away by cab (readily available) from this hotel/Golden temple.

Other than our disappointing experience with the "Executive room with the view", rest of the stay was ok and the hotel served our main purpose - visiting the temple at our time and leisure.

Book cheaper options to get your money’s worth, Delux/Super Delux rooms are good and adequate and with discounts are decently priced for the quality and location. Negotiate on a final price inclusive of all taxes and charges to avoid surprises. Enjoy your stay and Sat Sri Akal !

Room Tip: Book Super Delux or Delux rooms if price is a concern. More expensive options don't offer more f...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The main USP of this hotel is its location.If you are visiting amritsar for golden temple, would highly recomend this hotel.We had booked delux room.

note- Room size of delux room is small, if looking for spacious rooms then book higher category rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaneetP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Do not be guided by their website – it's completely different. True – this hotel is a spit across road to Golden temple, and it has ok rooms. That's where the good stuff ends. It's down a rubble & rubbish filled wide alley, which also houses a lot of beggars, and very very poorly dogs (very upsetting).
The roof top restaurant as featured on the site is nothing more than a depressed forgotten roof space (we booked this primarily based on this feature), now clad completely in dirty glass, obscuring the already A/c unit obscured view of the temple. It offers absolutely nothing. Service was appalling, only 10 5 of menu available. It was very clear that they did not want or welcome western travellers.
Everything was a problem. Every little menial request (of which there were few) was either not actioned – or ridiculous sums of money requested. My companions & I are well travelled within India, and have never experienced this level of service. If all you want is a bed. Fine. If you want anything more – avoid. Avoid.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FRX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Yes the hotel is bang opposite to Golden temple, stayed here for couple of nights overall hotel is good but roads nearby are narrow so difficult to reach there.Room are basic but somewhat small and has a/c, fridge, tv like basic amenities required.hotel was clean and restuarant at roof top gives beautiful view of temple but when we visited hardly people were seen in restuarant though we had a relaxed lunch and service+ food which we got was excellent.Even we hired taxi from them for wagah border trip and experience was good.

Nice budget hotel for short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saranggd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Narula's Aurrum
Hotel Narula's Aurrum
#24 of 98 in Amritsar
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puri Palace
Hotel Puri Palace
#16 of 98 in Amritsar
552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 98 in Amritsar
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Namaskar Residency
Hotel Namaskar Residency
#1 of 98 in Amritsar
494 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#4 of 98 in Amritsar
959 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Robin
Hotel Robin
#37 of 98 in Amritsar
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Golden

Address: Bazar Mai Sewan | Clock Tower Ext Opp Golden Temple, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range: £18 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Golden 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a prime property just opposite the world-renowned Golden Temple and the best among hotels in the vicinity of the temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Golden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing