We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amritsar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tourist Guest House
Ranked #50 of 140 Amritsar B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed for 3 nights but should have looked elsewhere for accommodation. Quite far out of town, sandwiched between a fly over and the railway line, it's not exactly quiet. Rooms are used and abused; mine came complete with worms in the bathroom. I've stayed in lots of cheap places but this was awful. No communal space to meet other travellers. There must be better alternatives in town.

Room Tip: Round the rear is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TumblingMalteaser89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    15
    13
    17
    3
See reviews for
3
12
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The rooms are quite big with a bathroom. Hot shover availible. But no tv and bad wifi reception on the room. You have to pay extra for wifi, toilet paper etc.
2km to the golden temple, 1km to the railway station.
Service is awful. We had to ask 3 times for the wifi password and it s not working properly. Waiter is asking for tipps while you re eating in the restaurant. I don' recommend to eat in the restaurant. It's really expensive and not very tasty.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steckse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amritsar hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Decent rooms spoiled by everything else. They are big and spacious. That is the only good part. And the price of course. Then they are dirty, the staff is unfriendly. All this could have been ignored given the room and rate, but their dishonesty cannot be. Anyway, you can go but make sure to discuss every last penny.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salimraza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here for one night, the room was a decent size with its own bathroom but they were very very dirty and dusty. We also had an issue with the fan as the only way it could be on was if the fluorescent light was on also.
Really did not get a good vibe from the owner and wouldn't trust him around money. Make sure you check your bill and confirm the price of the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

The place is a bit hard to find the first time... Nothing special, really cheap, and walking distance to the center... I stayed in the single room and was very small and cold (according with what i payed).... Also the shared bathrooms were not clean...
The staff was nice and they have a good terrace (with nothing on)... But i am sure if they put more tables would make a great place to hang out and have an afternoon beer!
No wifi, very bad internet computers that u pay for the hour...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arizazealuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roeland Park, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

We found this location through Lonely Planet. I had email contact with a very nice and helpful man before arrival. (Who i did meet after arrival). The man on duty was not friendly or nice. He quoted us a different rate from the email. The rooms are large, high ceilings, very worn and basic. The rooms are clean. Very acceptable for the double rate of Rs. 400.
I elected to use the wifi at Rs 100 per day. The man on duty would not let me use it until I paid. I was foolish to not ask for a receipt. The next am at check out he demanded another Rs. 100 for the Internet. He also added on Rs. 100 to the second room we had, stating it had been discussed with them. I later discovered that it had not.
The rooms are very basic, as expected for Rs. 400. I suggest demanding a receipt for every single rupee spent if you choose to stay here. Have a copy of all email correspondence.
I will not stay here again due to the business practices of the staff.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Staci O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

What can I say, amritsar may boast the magnificent golden temple but it provides some of the worst accommodation in India. Another perfectly useless recommendation from lonely planet (typical). Rank rooms, nowhere near the prices advertised in LP, this kind of dive does the city no favours. To be avoided at all costs unless you like damp dirty rooms!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel City Castle
Hotel City Castle
#29 of 97 in Amritsar
126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Grace
Hotel Grace
#49 of 97 in Amritsar
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#4 of 97 in Amritsar
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Asha Guest House
Asha Guest House
#43 of 140 in Amritsar
41 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sharma Guest House
Sharma Guest House
#53 of 140 in Amritsar
30 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#8 of 97 in Amritsar
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Guest House

Property: Tourist Guest House
Address: G.T. Road, Near Bhandari Bridg, Amritsar, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing