We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4.5 for this gem in Amritsar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Amritsar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Amritsar
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“4.5 for this gem in Amritsar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Everything about this hotel worked well. The service was fantastic from every single employee encountered. The room was pleasant and great shower. Only reason I give 4.5 stars is that this is more of a business hotel in style and my preference is to stay at boutiques...also the food in the restaurant was just so-so. Still, I would recommend and definitely stay there if in the area again...talking of which, loved the Golden Temple and Boarder ceremony. Totally unmissable....and free!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bermondseytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. Am glad to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us as it is our constant endeavor to make our guest stay comfortable and memorable. Your feedback with regards to the food being average has been noted and discussed with the Head Chef.

Your compliments have been passed on to the team here whom you felt deserved recognition for the services provided to you during your short stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back and assure you best service at all the times.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    527
    185
    60
    51
See reviews for
652
348
67
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
332 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The property is located conveniently with easy access from the airport and the railway station. It is also very close to the Golden Temple and has a decent mall adjacent to it. Had visited the property a couple of years ago when it was operating under the name 'ista'. I must say that the service levels were very high then and have dropped considerably now when it is operating under the 'Hyatt' brand. The property seems neglected and lacking in facility management, housekeeping and the FnB service also seems to South bound.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karishma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am disappointed to learn that you did not have a comfortable stay and even found that the services have come down as compared to what we did when our property was Ista. I have well noted your feedback and I assure you that the necessary steps will be taken to rectify the same and you will surely see a difference upon your next stay with us, as it has been our constant endeavor to make our guest stay comfortable and memorable.
We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you the best service at all the times.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Hyatt is one of the nicest hotels in the area. The staff were very nice and thoughtfull and the room well enough appointed. Not a five star but a very nice four star. The only problem we had was a lack of communication on the car hire we used from the hotel. We wanted to book two cars for two full days to do all the sites. This was fine except they charged for a airport pickup and one full day car hire on the same day which we felt should have been just the car hire. They tried to make some adjustments but at the end it was not much. If you are going to use the car service I would highly recommend that you get all the detail of what it includes, kilometers, airports, parking ect.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travels4849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am glad to note that you had a comfortable stay with us as it is our constant endeavor to make our guests stay comfortable and memorable. Your compliments have been passed on to my team here whom you felt deserved recognition for the services provided to you during your short stay with us. Your feedback with regards to the car hire issue has been noted and the necessary steps have been taken so that none of our esteemed guest faces the similar problem. Request if you can send us your contact details to Ramandeep.Arora@hyatt.com enable us retrieve the information and have the same checked for you.

We look forward to hearing from you and also welcoming you back while assuring you of our best attention at all the times.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

No other hotel in Amritsar matches the location, setting and ambiance of the Hyatt Amritsar.

Located just as one gets off the Jalandar flyover thwe hotel is easy to access from anywhere in the city , railway station or airport. It is probably the only hotel set in a large property and not cheek by jowl with other structures as the rest of the hotels see mto be. Formerly the Ista , the Hyatt Amritsar offers impeccable rooms and service as can be expected from the hotel chain and is located right next to a large mall.
A cosy bar is a good place for a drink after a day out in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ushli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am glad to note that you had a great stay with us as it is our constant endeavor to make our guests stay comfortable and memorable. Your feedback is quite inspiring for my team here.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of our best attention at all the times.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Great hotel, stayed here for the second time. The overall quality and experience has gone up after the property was taken over by the Hyatt group. I would recommend the lavish and indulgent dinner buffet to all foodies.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shikhar1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!
At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay once again with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. Your feedback is very motivating for my team here as it is our constant endeavor to make our guest stay comfortable and memorable. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the dinner buffet at our restaurant, your compliments have been passed on to the chefs whom you felt deserved recognition for the services provided to you during your short stay with us .

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you best service at all the times.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Room services are very poor and front staffs are not proficient. In the restaurant service is very poor. In the room there is no WiFi facility. This is extremely poor part of this hotel. At the time of breakfast restaurant is not as clean as normal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonal4050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am glad to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us as it is our constant endeavor to make our guest stay comfortable and memorable. Your feedback with regards to the service in the restaurant has been noted and I assure you that you will definitely feel the difference upon your next stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you our best service at all the times.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayalonga, Andalucia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Useful central location, some 5 minutes from the bus station,10 minutes from the railway station & 40 minutes by car from the daily India/Pakistan Flag-lowering border ceremony. Heavy security at the entrance, checking cars, luggage & guests.We enjoyed a very good Samosa & Club sandwich lunch &, that evening, an excellent dinner in the "Thaichi" restaurant. We had a very comfortable room, with "all mod.cons." except a plug for the hand-basin - a common omission in India, even in first class hotels such as this. Sadly the visit was spoiled by our noisy shower & the sounds of showers & loos from nearby rooms. Noisy cupboard & bathroom doors were a major nuisance - need oiling. Exterior sound-proofing is inadequate against local weddings & festivals which, fortunately, seem to terminate by 23.00 or 23.30. Some distant train & plane noise. No English TV channels. Large, comfortable bed, pillows, etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh Wickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am glad to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us as it is our constant endeavor to make our guest stay comfortable and memorable. Your feedback with regards to the noise has been noted and discussed with the person concerned so that such an incident is not repeated with any of our esteemed guests in the future.
we look forward to welcoming you back and assure you our best service at all the times.

Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
5.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
0.5 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#10 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#7 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
1.7 mi away
Taj Swarna
Taj Swarna
#1 of 96 in Amritsar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Amritsar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Amritsar

Property: Hyatt Amritsar
Address: G T Road | Alpha One City Center, Amritsar 143001, India (Formerly Ista Amritsar)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amritsar
#3 Spa Hotel in Amritsar
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amritsar
#6 Business Hotel in Amritsar
#10 Family Hotel in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Amritsar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic Hyatt in the city of AmritsarNestled in the heart of the city and 10 minutes from the Golden Temple is Hyatt Amritsar, welcoming business and leisure travelers to enjoy luxury 5 star deluxe hotel accommodation coupled with the historical wonders the city has to offer.Hyatt Amritsar offers 248 elegantly appointed guestrooms including suites which are on the fourth floor of the hotel to ensure panoramic views of the city. Rooms have a sleek contemporary design with the highest levels of comfort.Savour specialty Thai and Chinese cuisine at ThaiChi or for more international and local Punjabi cuisine options with a flare, Collage is the ideal choice. When the sun goes down, head to The Lounge Bar for evening cocktails, soothing music and views across an open courtyard.Enjoy the warm Indian sunshine at the outdoor swimming and vitality pool or rejuvenate in one of eight treatment rooms at The Spa.Hyatt Amritsar is conveniently located 4 kilometres from the Golden Temple and Jallianwala Bagh. The Wagah border is also 30 kilometers away, and offers guests the opportunity to watch the retreat ceremony of the guard ceremony at the Indo-Pak border. The international airport is 25 minutes away, while the railway station is a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Amritsar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ista Amritsar Hotel Amritsar
Ista Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing