We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected Hyatt” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Amritsar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Amritsar
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unexpected Hyatt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

while the location is prime. ideally placed from golden temple and jallianwalla bagh, next to a shopping mall standing majestically to its brand name. however things change as u enter the hotel premises. the room was extremely small. disappointed b the size of rooms. too small to fit a family of three. furniture was wearing out. the swimming pool was a scare. extremely dirty with pigeons and pigeon feathers floating all round the place. amazing gym and spa. the breakfast and dinner spread was good though one had to ask again and again for the live kitchen food. plus the key card stops wrking randomly, the staff reported later to keep away from cell phones. and the staff could be more active during wee hours of the morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamyP94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Valued Reviewer

Warm Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar and thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Firstly let me apologize for the poor impression we have made on you. This is certainly not the impression we would like to pass on to our guests. We are very disappointed to learn that our stay and customer service experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered, although I can assure you that this is not typical of our otherwise high standards we aim to achieve.

At Hyatt, our associates are trained to provide our guests with authentic and impeccable service at all times and are nurtured under the core values of our company. However I understand that we did not come across to you in the same manner as per your feedback. I assure you that your feedback has been taken up with all concerned and would ensure that such instances do not reoccur.

I urge you to give us another opportunity to serve you better. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Amritsar

Best Regards,


Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    527
    184
    59
    51
See reviews for
652
346
67
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have to admit we are Hyatt Fans. We have stayed with them world over and especially multiple times at the Park Hyatt Goa. We love the way they treat their properties and patrons.
Irrespective of whether you are in Africa, South East Asia, Americas or South Asia(India Included), Hyatt properties are a cut above the rest and they are indeed one of the best in luxury and attention to detail.

We checked in on Friday and stayed for 2 nights. The rooms are a little small compared to some of their other properties around but we had taken 2 connecting rooms on the 18th floor and hence did not feel the pressure of space. The food is good but we did most meals outside except for breakfast.

The service is world class and prompt. There is a very high level of understanding of customer needs and preferences. We needed some medicine urgently at about 4 AM and we got it in less than 15 minutes. Staff is resourceful and caring.

Everything was perfect except they did not have TV channels tuned for the Soccer World Cup 2014. I missed two key matches. My family was thrilled though as they had my full attention all the time.

Hyatt Amritsar is an awesome place to stay. Thank you for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Top Floor, City View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KD_246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Valued Reviewer,

We appreciate you taking time and reviewing the experience during your recent stay at Hyatt Amritsar.
We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable and memorable stay with us and the associates to be courteous and helpful especially when you needed the medicines. However, we are terribly disappointed to know that you missed out on your favourite soccer matches. The same has been well noted and we have an opportunity to analyse and come up with solutions in the best interest of our guests. At the same time we thank you for recommending Hyatt Amritsar through this platform.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to Hyatt Amritsar during your next visit to the city.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The previous hotel stay in Varanasi had spoilt us and although this was an above average hotel it paled by comparison. The major benefit is that it is close to the Golden Temple and the Wagah Border for the flag ceremony which has to be a must when staying here. We occupied an executive suite that certainly just met our expectation and seemed somewhat inadequate after the welcome from management when we arrived and again when we left. All the breakfast meals were adequate and service was good, however on returning to the hotel on the first night could not enter our room, Going back down to reception, we ascertained that they had failed to activate the entry card and you should consider requesting two cards.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesdean25745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Valued Reviewer,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

We appreciate you taking time and sharing the experience about your recent stay at Hyatt Amritsar. Am pleased to hear that you found the location to be good, Executive suite made you feel comfortable and met your expectations. We are also happy to hear that the breakfast was as per your liking and the team took good care of you. At the same time we are terribly disappointed to know that we were unable to leave an impact during your stay with the key card not working when you returned back to the hotel which could have been on account of the key coming in close contact with a magnetic field. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you and your accompanied traveler.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure of a much better overall experience at Hyatt Amritsar

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Super Property at a great location with very comfortable rooms and breakfast. Had been to Amritsar to visit the Golden Temple and Wagah border as other than that and the Jalianwala baug there is not much to see in Amritsar.
Very professional staff at the check in as well as restaurant. When we sat for breakfast, my daughters chair was creaking and making a noise and the staff quickly changed the chair and was very apologetic for the same, the check in and check out process was very quick and professional and that is what impresses me of the Hyatt always.
Biggest plus is the property is adjoining a Mall and when you have a daughter who is a Mall addict, I think I made the right choice, the Golden Temple is also just 10 mins drive from the hotel and they have a pick up and drop facility which is much appreciated.
Their pool is great for a dip and since we were there in the summer we got to use it only for one evening.

Room Tip: Stayed in the suite which was quite large for a family of 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Valued Reviewer,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

We appreciate you taking time and reviewing the experience during your recent stay at Hyatt Amritsar. We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable and memorable stay with us and found the location to be good and suiting your needs. We thank you for the words of appreciation for our hotel and the service team

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Hyatt Amritsar

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Amazing property. Great location.
We went without booking. The staff asked us to wait so that they could confirm availability. Once the check-outs were done, we were provided a room as quickly as they could. Great service and professionalism. They did not over charge because we were in need!
The property is next to the Mall which adds a good twist to it! Not too far from the Golden Temple. You can take the hotel service or walk out and hire an autorickshaw. Just that simple!
Food is amazing. You can have it at the hotel or in the mall next to it.

Room Tip: - Book in advance and you cold get a really good deal. - If you want to hire an autorickshaw, walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prantapkalra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Valued Reviewer

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the convenient location of the hotel, overall quality of accommodation, your dining experience and the service extended by our associates around the hotel.

We once again thank you for your feedback and sincerely look forward to welcoming you again at Hyatt Amritsar during your next visit to the city.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Compact but comfortable room. We asked for a 'quiet' room, the reception staff chuckled- "We always give Europeans the quiet rooms" they explained- good to know they know their customer preferences!
Slept very well!!
Had a good buffet dinner, excellent selection of food. There is also a shop selling pies/pasties/buns etc within the hotel which we had on the first night having travelled and not feeling very hungry. Next door to the hotel is a large mall, also a good outlet for eat in/takeaway food.
The Hyatt is still I believe advertised as the only hotel in Amritsar which caters well for overseas visitors. We were not disappointed and can recommend it. The Golden Temple is approx half an hour's drive away.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Valued Reviewer,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the convenient location of the hotel which is next to the mall and only 10 minutes drive from the Golden Temple, overall quality of accommodation, savories and pastries available at The Pastry Shop, your dining experience over dinner and the service extended by our associates around the hotel. We make all efforts to meet and exceed the guest expectations.

We once again thank you for your feedback and thank you for recommending Hyatt Amritsar through this medium.

Looking forward to welcome you again at Hyatt Amritsar during your next visit to the city.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bombay
Level Contributor
101 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We came here on 29 may without any booking and the staff at the reception were very sweet and we took a room on the 19 floor... The hotel is simple beautiful atleast we loved it... Proper security n beautiful Ambiance.. The staff is very very sweet n friendly n always smiling. Loved the pool side. The food in the chinese restaurant was awesome m the staff was soo sweet to get me a dessert for my bday...only wish they had ac in the elevators... They had a nice shuttle service arranged for the temple darshan 3 times a day... Will definately come bac n stay here

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maalvika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Valued Reviewer,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hyatt Amritsar on your birthday and taking out your valuable time in sharing your experience. Happy to hear that you had a good and memorable experience on your birthday while interacting with the associates around the hotel and they made your stay a comfortable one. Am happy to note that you like the ambience of the hotel, the swimming pool and also liked the food at ThaiChi. Your mention about the ac in elevators has been well noted.

We once again thank you for your feedback and sincerely look forward to welcome you again at Hyatt Amritsar during your next visit to the city.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
5.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
0.5 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#11 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#6 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#19 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Amritsar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Amritsar

Property: Hyatt Amritsar
Address: G T Road | Alpha One City Center, Amritsar 143001, India (Formerly Ista Amritsar)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amritsar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amritsar
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amritsar
#6 Business Hotel in Amritsar
#10 Family Hotel in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Amritsar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic Hyatt in the city of AmritsarNestled in the heart of the city and 10 minutes from the Golden Temple is Hyatt Amritsar, welcoming business and leisure travelers to enjoy luxury 5 star deluxe hotel accommodation coupled with the historical wonders the city has to offer.Hyatt Amritsar offers 248 elegantly appointed guestrooms including suites which are on the fourth floor of the hotel to ensure panoramic views of the city. Rooms have a sleek contemporary design with the highest levels of comfort.Savour specialty Thai and Chinese cuisine at ThaiChi or for more international and local Punjabi cuisine options with a flare, Collage is the ideal choice. When the sun goes down, head to The Lounge Bar for evening cocktails, soothing music and views across an open courtyard.Enjoy the warm Indian sunshine at the outdoor swimming and vitality pool or rejuvenate in one of eight treatment rooms at The Spa.Hyatt Amritsar is conveniently located 4 kilometres from the Golden Temple and Jallianwala Bagh. The Wagah border is also 30 kilometers away, and offers guests the opportunity to watch the retreat ceremony of the guard ceremony at the Indo-Pak border. The international airport is 25 minutes away, while the railway station is a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Hyatt Amritsar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ista Amritsar Hotel Amritsar
Ista Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing