We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lawrence
Ranked #39 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel!”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Since Amritsar is close to the boarder of Pakistan and India, I use Amritsar airport as a hub when I go to Pakistan. This time I got on 5 airplanes from Japan. I was very tired for 2 days of airplane travels and arrived at 8pm at Amritsar airport. When I arrived the hotel, I was welcomed by the hotel's staffs. They spoke fluent English and I didn't need to worry about cheating at all. Staffs were with full of hospitality.

Discount price for a double bed room made it affordable for 1 person. Hotel room was very specious, The shower room had a bathtub and hot water. Checkout time is 12pm and breakfast is served until 11am so it's good for late risers. Food is fine for non Indian food referrer also.

The hotel made me relax after a long journey. I will use this hotel again when I travel to Pakistan.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ymiller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Lawrence, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Mam

We thank you for you review and sharing your good experience with you and appreciating the courtesy shown by our staff to make your stay comfortable.

We try to offer maximum value for money to our guests and we are happy to know that you had a satisfying experience regarding room rates.

Looking forward to your next visit to Pakistan.

Warm Regards

Harbhajan Singh
GM, Hotel Lawrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    37
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
39
12
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dalhousie, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This is another Hotel i usually prefer at times . Rooms are indeed big . Staff is hospitable too . As i live in Dalhousie happen to visit Amritsar quiet often . As they know me now not much of a problem getting a discount . Under ground parking is there so it helps . If you want to know more about this Hotel please mail me bhallakanwal@hotmail.com . Thanks Dr Bhalla K .

Room Tip: Get a Room on Upper Level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhallakanwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The hotel is in heart of the city and 10- 15 mins drive to Golden temple and Jallianwala Bagh. You have lots of restaurant around instead to take food in hotel you can walk down and have good varieties of Punjabi foods. You can get fresh paneer while you have a walk.
Good things:
1- Huge, spacious room and bathroom
2- A double bed, a small table with chairs and a sofa-table set in the room
3- Location is fine.
4.Staffs are good.

Room Tip: Rooms are larger compared to other hotels in India
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WandererofIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We are a NRI family from Moga, Punjab and we stayed at Hotel Lawrence during the first week of Punjab.We reside in Frankfurt, Germany and we visited Punjab after 10 years and i'm proud to say that Amritsar has really matured hospitality wise, earlier there were only 2-3 good hotels here for overnite stay but now there are a plenty of them & even international chains.

We stayed at Hotel Lawrence, Amritsar for the first time and our experience was great as we are use to with European style of rooms which are very small and tight but here Hotel Lawrence had rooms as big as our Apartment with all the facilties and with very hygenic conditions. The color scheme of the rooms, lobby and corridors gives you a very soothing feeling. Food is great, true 'Ambarsari/ taste and richness. We were surprised when we checked out very late in the evening and Hotel still did not charge anything extra.

Definitely will stay again at this hotel and will recommend to every1.

Room Tip: If you want to watch activity then ask for road facing rooms, if you want quiteness then ask for non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bobby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
246 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Located on the busy Lawrence Road, this hotel offers the opportunity to have a comfortable stay right in the heart of a busy street that offers many shopping opportunities. The hotel is part of a commercial building with some other establishments and is located on the upper floors. Car parking is available at the basement of the building. The rooms are priced reasonably and the staff is helpful and efficient. The rooms are very large and furnished reasonably well, though the furnishing could be maintained better. Air conditioning is effective and is a requirement for the hot days that are common at Amritsar in summer! The restaurant too offers a wide variety and good food. There are many interesting paintings in the room, in the corridors and in the reception area and the paintings have been chosen by a keen eye. All in all, a nice hotel worth staying in!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giribpai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Amritsar is a total let down. Most of the trees have been eliminated and islands of peace such as a part have motorcycles racing through! The city is full of cheats and pick pockets. The streets are full of macho drivers honking nonstop. As such if not for the Golden Temple, no one would set foot in this god forsaken place. So visit the Golden Temple, Wagah border (carry only 200 Rs with you to both places and nothing else). Stay at Hotel Lawrence and then get the heck out. The hotel is awesome and rooms are massive. The staff is friendly and warm. Room service food is EXCELLENT. Overally I highly recommend Hotel Lawrence which is really completely different from the horrible city of amritsar. The hotel is in a commercial building facing a busy street so AVOID street facing rooms. Aside from that no negatives.

Room Tip: Go for non street facing rooms. Stay for as litte time in Amritsar as possible. The city is horrib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenGlobalCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2012

when you pull into the hotel , The first thing that strikes you is that the hotel is on the second floor. located on lawrence street. the hotel is surrounded by places to shop and eat.
we stayed in the suite. The rooma are spacious ,well lit and a pleasant place to be. the staff is friendly and well spoken. the room has all the features you would want including a mini fridge. i was fairly impressed with the cleanliness. if at all the hotel lacks are amenities like a gym,swimming pool,tt table etc.

but you get way more than what you pay for, i would certainly recommend this place for people with families visting the golden temple.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatednemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.3 mi away
FabHotel Orbion Mall Road
FabHotel Orbion Mall Road
#28 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avaas Lifestyle Hotel
Avaas Lifestyle Hotel
#33 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.8 mi away
FabHotel Aay Kay Model Town
FabHotel Aay Kay Model Town
#57 of 96 in Amritsar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puri Palace
Hotel Puri Palace
#14 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Narula's Aurrum
Hotel Narula's Aurrum
#23 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Namaskar Residency
Hotel Namaskar Residency
#2 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lawrence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lawrence

Property: Hotel Lawrence
Address: 6 Lawrence Road, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lawrence 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lawrence is very centrally loacted at Lawrence Road which is the hub of entertainment, shopping and dining of Amritsar. Hotel is centrally air-conditioned and offers one of the most spacious room in the whole city with all the modern amenities like 24 hours running Hot & Cold Water, 24 hours Room Service, Mini Refrigerator in room, Spacious separate sitting area in every room, Free Broadband Wi-FI Internet, Direct-Dialing Telephone with International Calling etc.There are two Banks with ATM on hotel premises, there is a Domino's Pizza outlet on the Hotel premises and Pizza Hut is just few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lawrence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing