We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VFM”
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lawrence
Ranked #41 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
Namakkal, India
Level Contributor
137 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“VFM”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

VFM quite close to Golden Temple, hardly 3 Kms. Decent restaurants around. Great Dhaba food too. Attached restaurant available, had break fast - quite good. spacious room and decent amenities. AC control could have been better

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nataraj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    37
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
39
12
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed with my wife in this hotel during my amritsar trip in month of Aug 13.
The rooms were quite big and my stay was overall comfortable. They maintained a decent cleanliness in the bathrooms.
Pros: Big and large room.
Very nice restaurant,
Nice location
Cons: Bed quality should be improved.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bibhutiprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gurgaon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We visited Amritsar in August 2013 along with our extended family. We drove down from Delhi.
PROS: large spacious rooms ( the rooms 309 & 310 are the ones u shd book)
Good food
CONS: bathrooms not upto the mark
The bed cover was torn at various places. Towels were dirty.
The tap had mainly hot water. Probably mixer not working properly.
The Ac was too cold and the controller was not working

Room Tip: Room no 310 and 309 are good , neat and clean rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRGoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This hotel is located in the center of the market . Liked the rooms which are spacious and nicely maintained. The staff is courteous and even liked the food. If you wanna stay in amritsar then this is the place for u....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarishThakur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Lawrence, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for providing your positive feedback and sharing your valuable experience with us.
We are delighted to know that you had a good experience and comfortable stay at Hotel Lawrence.

We look forward to your next visit and we assure you to provide even better facilites and services on your future visits.

Warm Regards

Harbhajan Singh
GM, Hotel Lawrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

We were booked at this hotel enroute to chandigarh when we drove in from Simla.we were supposed to have a plan with breakfast and dinner included.we arrived after a 12 hr drive at 8.30 pm.we went right into the restaurant for dinner.The restaurant manager was not seen at first,busy watching the cricket on television.we then placed our order with the waiter for some veg items.The manager then appears suddenly and says these things and those things cannot be ordered.since we were 5 passengers, it looked pretty unprofessional.we then had a argument with the person and concluded dinner soon.As for the room it is large no doubt but air conditioning controls were spoilt,fan controls were not working,the taps in the bath area were not working and room was quite stuffy.i think the room was not fit to be rated super deluxe.The same night the power went off and it took nearly 5 minutes for the power to work again and another 5 minutes for air conditioning to work.all in all but for the room size nothing great here,better to look for other options.i will never stay here again.also housekeeping was very good and deserve compliments as also room service.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank sukamath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Lawrence, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Sir

We are extremely sorry and regretful that you din't get proper services and facilites at our Hotel during your stay. We apologize for the behaviour of our Restaurant Manager who refused you few items and convinnced you to change your placed order, it was very unprofessional of him.

We also apologize that you had to stay in those rooms in which fittings were not working properly and gave you discomfort during your stay.

We assure you we will try to keep our fittings and fixtures in better working condition and overcome all the faults you found with our property.

We request you to reconsider your decision and visit us again on your next visit to Amritsar.

Sincere Regards

Harbhajan Singh
GM, Hotel Lawrence, Amritsar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed at this property in March 2013 with my wife and kid. We were coming from Jammu after visiting Vaishno Devi and really wanted a nice place to stay. Got the room on the front side. The best part of the hotel is the spacious rooms. Food was very nice and tasty. The rooms were tidy. The bathroom needs a little makeover and the management should seriously think of putting some exhaust in the bathrooms - it looked a little humid inside the room. Overall a very nice experience and surely recommended for all in case you visit Amritsar. Distance of key places - Golden Temple shall be around 5 Kms and Wagah Border around 35 kms.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nitesh_gupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Lawrence, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Sir

We are glad to know that you had a great experience staying with us. Thank you for appreciating our food quality and taste which we always try to keep simple so that it tastes more like home made food.

We are already making changes to our bathrooms gradually, we are upgrading all bathrooms by replacing the bath tubs with glass shower enclosures. We have exhaust systems in our bathrooms, we have small netted outlets with wooden frames in the ducts of all bathrooms which have exhaust fans installed at the end of the duct on the terrace, maybe one of the exhausts might not be working during your stay.

Sir, we have calculated distance to Wagah Border and Golden Temple according to the shortest route and the distance shown by our test vehicles's tripmeter.

Hope to see you soon on your next visit.

Warm Regards

Harbhajan Singh
GM, Hotel Lawrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We were two couples and stayed in this hotel for 2 nights (10th and 11th March). Had a great time in the hotel. I asked for back side rooms on the upper level as suggested in some of the reviews here and got them ( to avoid traffic noise from the main road). Reception was courteous and I was thoroughly impressed by the room service. Not even once I had to follow up for anything that I asked for and the service was prompt too. At this price, you cannot ask for anything more. If you like spacious rooms, dont look beyond hotel Lawrence.

You will love the breakfast served in the morning (you can have it in the room too).

If you have any related questions, I would be glad to help.

Room Tip: Choose a back side room on the upper level to avoid noises from main road traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solarsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Lawrence, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Sir

We are glad to know that you had a wonderful experience at Hotel Lawrence during your stay. Thank you for appreciating the size of our rooms, we have built spacious rooms so the customer doesn't get the feeling of a cramped space which usually one gets generally in a hotel room, the room is designed in a way that the customer gets the feeling if he/she is staying in his/her home bedroom.

Your positive feedback motivates to keep our standards at the top and serve you even better on your next visit.

Warm Regards

Harbhajan Singh
GM, Hotel Lawrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shiraz Regency
Hotel Shiraz Regency
#14 of 97 in Amritsar
559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Narula's Aurrum
Hotel Narula's Aurrum
#23 of 97 in Amritsar
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avaas Lifestyle Hotel
Avaas Lifestyle Hotel
#34 of 97 in Amritsar
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
FabHotel Aay Kay Model Town
FabHotel Aay Kay Model Town
#56 of 97 in Amritsar
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
FabHotel Orbion Mall Road
FabHotel Orbion Mall Road
#29 of 97 in Amritsar
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Humble Hotels Amritsar
Humble Hotels Amritsar
#26 of 97 in Amritsar
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lawrence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lawrence

Property: Hotel Lawrence
Address: 6 Lawrence Road, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lawrence 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lawrence is very centrally loacted at Lawrence Road which is the hub of entertainment, shopping and dining of Amritsar. Hotel is centrally air-conditioned and offers one of the most spacious room in the whole city with all the modern amenities like 24 hours running Hot & Cold Water, 24 hours Room Service, Mini Refrigerator in room, Spacious separate sitting area in every room, Free Broadband Wi-FI Internet, Direct-Dialing Telephone with International Calling etc.There are two Banks with ATM on hotel premises, there is a Domino's Pizza outlet on the Hotel premises and Pizza Hut is just few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lawrence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing