We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A few shortcomings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A few shortcomings”
Reviewed 1 January 2010

The hotel was opened recently and still has the new hotel feel about it. I was travelling with my wife and 2 young daughters. Took the reception staff more than 15 minutes to check us in which was not great as the kids got very bored.

The porter took our bags to our room promptly and I was astonished to find the room had a damp patch and flaking paint on the wall which divides the bathroom from the bedroom. When travelling with young children I always carry out a quick risk assessment and within a minute I found the full front windows could easily be opened and it was a good 20metre plus drop to the ground. I phoned the reception and explained that as there was no balcony the opening windows were a health and safety flaw and requested they be locked. The receptionist explained they could not lock them but agreed to change our room on account of this problem and the damp patch.

So off we went to the next bedroom which also had a similar damp patch in the same area. The room did not smell of damp and the window openers had been removed so the windows could not be opened. This was fine so I accepted this room.

We visited Sri Harmandir Sahib in the evening and then eat at the Brothers Dhaba which is not too far from the hotel.

On coming back to the hotel we ordered their fruit/ice cream special and it was excellent. They top it with real cream which tastes superb.

The beds were very comfortable and the AC functioned well. The beds were so comfortable that the kids were still asleep at 9am which is unusual.

The buffet breakfast was also very tasty and the staff very helpful. They could do with some more variety similar to the Radisson buffet breakfasts in India.

There is a small pool on the roof terrace. The lift does not go right to the top so you have to use the stairs to reach this area. Again there were some safety issues on the roof terrace such as balustrades which had gaping holes so your kids can fall through and a very dodgy diwali lighting setup which could easily be pulled by children to expose live wires.

The pool was not clean as there was some problem with it. The view from the roof terrace area is superb and it is well worth going up.

If Mr Sandhu who owns this hotel could sort out the damp patches and the health and safety concerns then this hotel would be my first choice in Amritsar.

  • Liked — Beds were very comfortable.
  • Disliked — Damp type patches on the some walls.
  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singhstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    364
    122
    31
    41
See reviews for
380
147
40
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Expat in Madras, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

The room was very large, but lacked a homely feel. It is okay, clean and modern. There is no gym or pool, which is a disadvantage. Food not very impressive. Breakfast was poor.

  • Liked — Large room
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rawguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Counrty Inn in ASR was very clean and well maintained. The staff was very friendly, humble, courteous, and knowledgable. Excellent food, room service and valet parking.
I would recommend to all visitors from abroad as it is 100% better than what it is in Canada. Very cheap and good quality than what we got in Canada at Collinwood Holiday Inn.
The lounge is very attractive and clean. Floors are also well maintained. Dishes are clean. 24 hours hot water and electricity. Clean towels and linen. Very well organized. very affordable
I will definately recommend this Hotel to everyone.
Thanks to all the staff of Country Inn Amritsar

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — bathtub/jaccuzi
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank supersilver350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana
Level Contributor
95 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2009

Good Property Located in the Heart of the City . Property is newly constructed . Services are also good. Rooms are spacious and neatly done. I really liked the Property. I hope that they maintain the property and give good Services.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Singh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amritsar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

Last Month we had our first Meeting in this newly built hotel at Amritsar .
We were very much satisfied with the qulity service provided by them .
They took very well care of me and alll the guests who came to visit . Mineral water bottles were also provided for all the guest who visit , which is just the example of the hospitality of this beautifully built Hotel in centre of the city .
The in room service is also very nice they provide a great varity in food .
Excelent is just the word for the comfort in this hotel .
Hope you too have a great stay ...!!

  • Liked — All Newly Built
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Capt_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Really was an excellent experience. I stayed here for two nights and was impressed with the quality of the rooms, service and overall experience. Extremely good value for money as well.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank praky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#9 of 96 in Amritsar
1,519 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#10 of 96 in Amritsar
981 reviews
5.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
0.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#7 of 96 in Amritsar
929 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#18 of 96 in Amritsar
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road
Address: Queens Road,, Amritsar 143001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing