We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tarun Makker”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Merrion
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tarun Makker”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Good hotel with nice cozy rooms , helpful staff and good service too,food is exellent .Only problem is the payment of food served in room has to be paid on the spot.I told the reception guy to add the food bill in my room bill as all the hotels do this but he told me to pay the food bill on the spot.
VERY STRANGE ATTITUDE FOR THIS KIND OF GOOD HOTEL.
Rest everything was perfect

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Tarun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBW_Merrion, General Manager at Best Western Merrion, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Best Western Merrion!!!

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and for recognizing our team members.

We sincerely appreciate your positive comments on our product, facilities and food.

It is our continuous endeavor to ensure our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay and it is recognition such as yours which inspires us to strive even further to deliver our best.

I have noted your feedback such Room billings and it has been rectified the procedure.

The team and I thank you once again for your time and the wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you and regards,

your sincerely

Suryakanta Jana

General Manager, Best Western Merrion,Amritsar
gm@bestwesternmerrion.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    170
    49
    18
    6
See reviews for
181
63
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Its a cleanly built hotel with good facilities that one definitely needs in a city like Amritsar and in a cold weather like of January. The hotel serves complementary breakfast and the food variety is good. Room service is good and the staff is cordial. The hotel is not too far off from the railway station and the markets.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrishBhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Merrion, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merrion, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Hotel Best Western Merrion !!

Thank you very much for updating your review on trip advisor.We are over the moon with your lovely comments,we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our guest.

We look forward to serving as your host again.
Thanks and regards
Dheeraj Heera
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed there only for one night, reason why I honestly did not complain with the staff, otherwise, I would have left the hotel and request for my money back. As we stayed only one night, I preferred to avoid the show and carry on. However, I do not recommend the hotel at all, and despite most of the reviews in this site are good (reason why I chose the hotel in the first place), the experience was quite nasty.
I hereby explain in detail why you should not stay there:

1.Let´s begin with the fact that I requested for a non smoking room, and the smoke smell in the bathroom was quite intense. Allow me to point out that the bathroom has no exhausters and you cannot open any of the windows in the room.

2. The AC was broken, and although it is winter, the room was extremely hot. And by "extremely" I mean extremely. It was very uncomfortable to sleep in such conditions.

3. Cab services are good, the driver is there on time and he is nice, however, we are foreigners and the driver did not speak a word of English. Luckily, with our basic knowledge of Hindi, we could manage.
Prices for the cab are extremely high also.

4. Food in the restaurant was very good. However, the restaurant does not look clean at all (sofas are stained, table clothes too. The carpet is in terrible conditions. Windows are super dirty, etc) and although there was plenty of staff (and every time we went there it was only us and another table), the waiters and manager are quite distracted and you have to keep calling for someone to pay attention. However, I must say that they were extremely nice at all times.

5. The staff at front desk are super friendly and ready to help, however, they have no knowledge of the city. When you ask about an estimated distance or a park, for example, they will say they do not know. They didn´t offer a map either and the conversation was very limited to laughing and saying "I don´t know".
Also, when we were leaving, the receptionist (Rabia) asked about our stay and I told her that we were not pleased at all. She said "ok" and that was it. No apologies, no nothing...

As a conclusion, the hotel in not a 4 star hotel, if that is what you expect. I would try the Ramada instead, which is much better located, and at least from the outside, looked good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielaDiazFigueroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBW_Merrion, General Manager at Best Western Merrion, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Best Western merrion!!!

Thank you for sharing such a detailed review on Trip Advisor. Your time and feedback is precious to us.

Whilst apologizing sincerely for the inconvenience caused at the time of your stay with us, We sincerely appreciate your patience and understanding.

We have noted your feedback on all the area mentions by you and sincerely appreciate your feedback.

Thank you once again and we look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Thank you and regards,

Yours sincerely,

Suryakanta Jana.

General Manager,Best Western Merrion,Amritsar
gm@bestwesternmerrion.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We booked our stay at Best Western Marrion Amritsar via one of the popular travel portals. The booking explicity mentioned King Bed and Buffet breakfast as inclusions. The booking was made around 15 days before arrival date. Got a call on the day of arrival, confirming our arrival time. We were assured of the booking. On our arrival at the hotel, our booking and inclusions were confirmed. When we entered the room, we saw two single beds, contrary to the confirmation on call and front desk clerks' words. We reported the issue at the front desk. We were initially refused a change of room. We were told as the hotel is sold out there are no rooms available with king bed. While booking, under special request section, we had reiterated the point that we want only king bedroom and that too non smoking. However the managers' response initially was that this is a request and currently we cannot fulfill this. When we showed him the print of booking confirmation, showing list of inclusions as King bed, then finally, after haggling for almost 45 minutes, we were allocated a Deluxe suite, with the condition that we would shift to a room with king bed first thing in the morning. We agreed to this as it was already midnight and we didn't have any other option. This fiasco made us worried about what to expect later in this stay.

The good thing was to be experienced later. The breakfast was surprisingly delicious. The indian fare was very good. The continental variety was also available, which was average in quality. The restaurant had some limited menu, however one specific dish which we loved was Murg Lahori, we loved it so much that we had it twice during our 3 night and 2 day stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManasSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBW_Merrion, General Manager at Best Western Merrion, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Best Western Merrion!!!

Thank you for your time taken to review us on Trip Advisor.

We sincerely appreciate your compliments on our food & Breakfast and facilities.

I have also conveyed your gracious comments to the entire team, who were happy to read such a delightful review from you.

I have noted your feedback such as room booking point for our improvement and we will make sure your next visit will be much more comfortable.

We thank you once again for your generous comments and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Thank you and regards,

Yours sincerely,

Suryakanta Jana

General Manager Best Western Merrion,Amritsar,
gm@bestwesternmerrion.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

A good hotel with clean and cozy rooms. Helpful and courteous staff as well as nice breakfast. Only issue is that the food is a little overpriced (lunch/dinner). We had a comfortable stay and would definitely recommend this to anyone travelling to Amritsar.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Merrion, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merrion, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Hotel Best Western Merrion

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. One of the greatest rewards of my job is receiving encouraging feedback such as yours. Our staff takes pride in creating a memorable, exceptional “home away from home” for our guests.

We look forward to serving as your host again

Best Regards
Dheeraj Heera
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

They had to pick us up from the bus station, but when we arrived there, no one was waiting for us. We had to get there by our means at night. When we got there nobody said anything about it and just ignore the fact. After during our stay, people kept getting in our room without even knocking. We locked the door and they keep ringing a bell in our door, and when we opened nobody was there. That happened with the phone aswell, so every morning something like that woke us up. When we had food in our room (there was no restaurant, only room service) we paid and they just gave us less change. We asked and they said they just didn't have more money. We kept asking if they had toilet paper, they said they would bring it to the room and that never happened... 5 times. All in all the service was the worst. Absolutely annoying.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Merrion, General Manager at Best Western Merrion, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Guest
kindly let us know your name & room number with your check in date , so that we can clarify all the details with my staff the problems you face during stay .
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Nice hotel with big rooms.Staff is also helping and courteous .The only issue which I faced that ours rooms were not ready when we arrived ( it was 2:30 PM ) and breakfast lacked much of options.Apart from that every thing was just perfect .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayank1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Merrion, Front Office Manager at Best Western Merrion, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Hotel Best Western Merrion !!

Thank you very much for updating your experience on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read your fantastic review. We sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our product, Your Compliments have been shared with the entire team, who were delighted to note that their efforts were so well recognized.

Thank you and We look forward to serving as your hosts again very soon.
Best Regards
Dheeraj Heera
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#8 of 98 in Amritsar
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#9 of 98 in Amritsar
1,050 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#7 of 98 in Amritsar
972 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Merrion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Merrion

Property: Best Western Merrion
Address: Ranjit Avenue | 45 District Shopping Complex B-Block, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Merrion 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the central business district of the holy city of Amritsar, Best Western Merrion is an oasis of peace, Serenity and tranquillity. The hotel is located in the center of Ranjit Avenue with excellent accessibility to commercial districts and key corporate districts houses. The hotel offers its guests 40 well appointed and luxurious guest rooms along with Comprehensive business & Conferencing facilities. The Hotel offers a range of Dining Options including Roof top Pool Side BBQ, Round the Clock Coffee Shop, Multi-Cuisine Restaurant, Bar & Lounge and a Banquet Hall for large gatherings. The hotel can comfortably host up to 400 guests for banquet events with 3 conference & meeting rooms. The One- The Multi Cuisine Restaurant: Enjoy mouth watering delectable and authentic food at "The One." Designed with exquisite interiors and a calm relaxing ambiance, "The One" offers its patrons a memorable fine dining experience. Cup Lounge - Round The Clock Affair: Cup Lounge offers Round the Clock Service of Quick Bites for those racing against time and the a-la-carte menu also features Continental and Italian cuisines along with the must-have Indian dishes. Dazzle – Pool Side BBQ & Grill: Dazzle is an ideal place to relax by the pool side while enjoying the BBQ and beverages along with Live Music. Lava – Lounge Bar: Lava is the place to entertain and be entertained. Serving the finest selection of domestic and imported spirits with upbeat music and live-wire atmosphere, you will certainly be entertained. In Room Dining: If you don't believe in dress codes or are just not in the mood to dress up to dine out, just dial Room service. Our round the clock In Room dining allows you to kick back and relax in your room while we serve whatever it is that you are craving for in your room itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Merrion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing