We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel located at distance of 5 minutes from Harmandar Sahib (Golden Temple)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY
Ranked #4 of 153 Amritsar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We had been to this hotel with family of 6 and one kid. Hotel has very good and clean rooms.
Television is also available with lot channels and seperate area for kids.
Staff is very friendly and supported us in knowing about Amritsar and day planning for sight seeing. We could see golden temple comfortable as it is very near from hotel. Hotel provided us very nice punjabi food for linch which we had got ever.
Very good hotel for stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puneribana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

It was a g8t pleasure stayd in Akaal Regidency, "Our wish their commend" is d perfect word 4 dem. We dint feel dat we were away 4m our home, all facilies were there inside d room, all d commitments which they commit before booking they fullfild that. All of them from top to bottom, from MD to staff is really Down to Earth n vry copratv. we must say their hospitality is there strength.
we wish them Neverending growth n success.

Regards,
Mansi § Manish.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manishmansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The old city of Amritsar surrounding the spectacular Golden Temple is noisy and crowded but also fascinating. This excellent boutique hotel a minute from the temple offers very quiet, air-conditioned rooms that are clean, stylish and good value. The staff are very helpful and friendly. One of the most positive experiences we had on a three-week trip through Ladakh, Kashmir and the Punjab.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Super Deluxe rooms, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdDouglasSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

we enjoyed while staying at this hotel and the advantages of staying here are as below.
1) Very near to all markets & temple and other site seeing places
2) Very clean and comfortable.
3) worth for the money that we spent & rates also reasonable
4) Tasty food & all facilities available.
5) staff is also very cooperative and you will feel like at your home
6) They understand the guest requirement very well and provide all the services at reasonable rates.
based on the above I am sure i can refer this hotel to my friends as they take care as their family members and ensures for safety.

Room Tip: all rooms are good and you can select at your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ravikumarkusuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The biggest advantage is its nearness to the Golden temple. Its hardly 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

The rooms are smallish, and not naturally ventilated. Our room only had one small (1Ft X 2 ft) window, which opened to a wall (wall was 3 feet away !!!!)

Originally, I was told that a standard air conditioned room will cost 1200 rupees, but on arrival, it was strongly advised to take a executive room for additional 25% prize. I was wondering what would be the difference, and answer was equally educative.

The difference is
1. Executive room will have a non stop A/C even in case of power failure, while a standard room will be our of air-conditioning if there is a power failure.
2. You will get 2 itsy-bitsy packs of chips on house!!!!

Other than these 2 points, all the rooms are same ( I am writing owners words, and not my own)

After looking at the room, It was almost a compulsion to upgrade rather than a choice. As there was no ventilation at all in the room, I could not bare the thought of air conditioner being out for even a second. All this matter sounded as if the owner wanted to get more money from the guest at last moment. This is a bad business practice, and should be stopped by the owners at earliest. In my honest opinion, an uninterrupted air conditioning is a bare necessity for such a place, and it should not be an optional pricey upgrade.

Other than this issue, the place is friendly, and serves delicious food. The breakfast was good.

The place is clean, free of pests (this is really a positive point as it is in the small avenues of old Amritsar, surrounded by very old buildings).

If you are a big group, then parking might be problem, as there is place to park only one car.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SachinPathak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The place is very near to South gate of golden temple..However, this is not the only place in that area..A number of other options available too..Rooms are very small without ventilation. All of their rooms are of the same type. The various categories presented on the website are all the same so better take the cheapest room. However, they are well maintained with A/C et al..Super Deluxe room is a farce..If you are claustrophobic, avoid this place..Most of the food is outsourced i.e. brought in from somewhere else and served if you place an order..and because of this reason, the price too is high..The hotel arranges trips to various places in Amritsar including Wagah border but at a premium..The amritsari kulcha that some people have written about is outsourced from a nearby eatery..Best for foreigners who are on a budget tour..Bargaining will help..

Room Tip: Do not take the Super deluxe room because it is non existent. All rooms are the same. Take the cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kumarabhishek007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

we visited Amritsar in the first week of July and were reffred to this hotel by a frirnd.We booked executive room as we are a couple with small child.We were offered welcome drink which was a nicve herbal drink.The management and staff was very helpful in arranging our trip to Temple and wagha Border .The hotel is so close to the Temple that we could watch Palki ceremony twice in a day. This was the best experince of hospitality we could have.We will refer it to all.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karan_Bajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#3 of 114 in Amritsar
1,008 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#1 of 114 in Amritsar
1,205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Golden
Hotel Le Golden
#53 of 114 in Amritsar
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#15 of 114 in Amritsar
555 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Puri Palace
Hotel Puri Palace
#13 of 114 in Amritsar
602 reviews
7.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY

Address: Chowk Baba Sahib, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar
Price Range: £14 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Decent Hotel near Golden Temple with 3 star facilities.Your Home away from home in the feet of Shri Guru Ramdass ji. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing