We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Akaal Residency - Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY
Ranked #2 of 140 Amritsar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Akaal Residency - Excellent”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I just stayed in Akaal Residency for several days with a friend. The people there were extremely helpful and nice, the rooms were spotless, the prices were very reasonable, and the location was unbeatable (an easy walking distance to the Golden Temple). The place was quiet, yet central, so getting anywhere was not a problem. Unlike in many hotels the people in Akaal Residency did their best to suggest cheaper (though equally good) options to whatever we required (transportation, dining, shopping). They were also, very delicately and unobtrusively, taking responsibility for our safety when we went out at night (always offering to arrange transportation with people they knew - and no, it was never more expensive than if we made the arrangements ourselves - in fact it was cheaper). Places such as Akaal Residency are the reason I usually prefer to stay in guesthouses rather than in a large hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InnaSht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    121
    44
    10
    6
See reviews for
132
73
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Hotel Akaal Residency is in a nice, quiet location back from any main streets, yet close enough to the Golden Temple and the main streets where you can choose from many restaurants and cafes. We stayed in an executive room and were given a complimentary basket of chips and biscuits and a couple of bottles of water each day. The room and bathroom was really clean with hot showers. A real highlight of our stay was the warm, friendly staff who were happy to help whenever they could. It was probably a little pricey compared to other budget accommodation around, but it was a really comfortable three-night stay for us.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I am a UK resident and was planning to visit India with a 1 day trip for Amritsar with my family (2 small children) and parents. I looked up the hotel details over the internet and decided to call them up to enquire regarding accomodation. I got a call back from the hotel providing me all the details required and I could book the two executive rooms on the phone. I got an email confirmation as well. The hotel staff were also very helpful in arranging a large car to pick us up from the railway station when we arrived. In the interest of time we proceeded straight to Wagah border and got there just in time to see the beating retreat ceremony. The driver then took us to the famous Bharawan Da Dhaba for some yummy dinner. We then visited the Golden temple in the night and the next day morning. The accomodations were very comfortable and the complimentary herbal tea was refreshing. Kids had a good time playing in the kids area. We had yummy Amritsari Kulchas at the hotel for breakfast before setting off for Jallianwala Bagh. We then returned back via train to Delhi. The hotel owner, Mr Sethi was very helpful in pointing us to local shops providing specialist produce and gave helpful directions to see Amritsar in the best possible manner in the short time we had. A nice hotel ideal for both families and singles or couples and located 5 mins from Golden Temple. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kapilmehta2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011


We arrived very early and to our surprise, they allowed us to take our room.  We were very impressed by the hotel's design and the rooms were beautiful.  The bathrooms were clean and the showers were hot!

Mr. Prabhjot Singh Sethi, the owner of the hotel came around to meet us personally.  He and his team of excellent service staff helped us with all of our arrangements including consulting a pharmacist, booking excursions and booking our train tickets. I highly recommend you check out the border closing ceremonies at the Indian/Pakistani border too while there!

After travelling around India for the past few weeks, this hotel was an oasis. If you need a rest, this is the place.  There is a reason why this place is rated #1, it simply is.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LloydandMaryAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Located a very short distance from the Golden Temple, the Hotel Akaal Residency met and exceeded our expectations. The owners of the hotel and all their staff went out of their way to welcome us and make our stay a memorable one. Complimentary water and snacks each evening, plentiful, hearty and tasty breakfasts, and helpful tips on the tourist sites were provided daily and we are glad we spent 4 nights.

But what really stood out for us was the husband and wife tandem who own and manage the Akaal. They were so proud of their city and nearby Temple and wanted us to experience a large helping of their joy. When a cooking lesson could not be found, Aman spent all afternoon and into the evening teaching us how to cook Punjabi cuisine. On another occasion her husband had a parade stop outside the Akaal so we could see a demonstration of Sikh martial arts.

The room was clean, the hot water on demand and it was super quiet despite its proximity to the Golden Temple. The Akaal has been a family property and hotel for many years and judging by our stay they will continue to provide exceptional hospitality for years to come. Top marks

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CUL8RLethbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAAL, Owner at HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear Madam.We thank you very much for such a wonderful review.We wish to provide all our prestigeous Guest best of Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We arrived early in the morning, the hotel staff has offered us spare room before our rooms were ready for check in. Generally, the staff was very helpful and trying their best to make our stay the most comfortable.
The hotel is smack in the centre, about 5 minutes walk to Golden Temple complex, so in perfect location. The rooms had no windows, but that was highly appreciated as the noise level on the streets in India would prevent good night sleep. The only improvement that could be done would be the bathroom, thay was fairly run down and the water pressure was not great either.
Overall, the hotel is clean, staff very helpful and location is great, so definitely one to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal_K82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gurgaon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This is a great hotel. Its very close to the "Golden Temple". The hotel rooms are in excellent condition. I would recommend this hotel highly to everyone.

Room Tip: Great hotel - very close to the "Golden Temple" - 2min. walk. The hotel management go out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammireddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Namaskar Residency
Hotel Namaskar Residency
#1 of 97 in Amritsar
454 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#4 of 97 in Amritsar
930 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 97 in Amritsar
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#18 of 97 in Amritsar
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel CJ International
Hotel CJ International
#73 of 97 in Amritsar
400 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Sham Villa
Hotel Sham Villa
#10 of 140 in Amritsar
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY

Property: HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY
Address: Chowk Baba Sahib, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Decent Hotel near Golden Temple with 3 star facilities.Your Home away from home in the feet of Shri Guru Ramdass ji. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing