We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY
Ranked #2 of 140 Amritsar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed at the hotel from March 8-10.

Pros:
Very Very close to golden temple
Reasonably priced
No hidden charges
Owner takes personal interest in guests' well being
Cheerful, friendly and helpful staff
Rooms are clean

Cons:
Rooms are a bit cramped
Only basic food prepared in hotel and rest is got from elsewhere

I visited Amritsar along with wife and 2 year old daughter so was looking for a clean homely stay very close to golden temple and based on most of the reviews on tripadvisor Hotel Akaal Residency seemed to fit the bill.

Did the booking over the phone and the room rates, inclusions etc were clearly explained. I opted for the Super Deluxe category because it included Station Pickup and Breakfast in the price (they mentioned that the room size is same as other category) and I didnt want to get into the hassle of haggling with Taxi drivers or searching for breakfast in a city that I was totally unfamiliar with. They confirmed the reservation promptly after I transferred a token amount to their specified bank account. They were also professional and followed up by calling me on the day of arrival to double check train timings to ensure that the driver and car are waiting by the time our train reached Amritsar.

Check in process was smooth and fast. The room was clean though a bit small which is to be expected considering the location. I think the tradeoff is worth it.

Options for breakfast are not extensive considering that they procure it elsewhere but good enough. In fact not having a wide menu option meant that we tried out many famous Amritsari eateries such as Kesar Dhaba and Bhrawan Dhaba which we may not have if the hotel had an attached restaurant. One point to note is that the staff cheerfully prepared Ghee - Rice and Daal specially for our little kid since she didnt eat at the place where had lunch, even thought it was past 3PM. This kind of going the extra mile definitely made me an admirer.

We arranged for a cab to Wagah border from the hotel itself and though it was a bit expensive compared to the rates outside cabs were charging, I felt that for the peace of mind it was worth it.

The hotel also procured our onward journey rail tickets at short notice and also got us pickles, papad and wadis - local delicacies (all with a suitable service charge of course)

They arranged for an auto for our early morning train as well.

All in all a very good experience. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shreeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    121
    44
    10
    6
See reviews for
132
73
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Good location - about a 5 minutes walk to the Golden Temple- is the main positive about this hotel. They do not have a kitchen and order food from outside. The hotel service staff is good. Found them to be handicapped in their ability to organise good vehicles for either the drive to Wagah Border or elsewhere as them seem to be totally dependant on only one source. We were provided with a vehicle to drive us to Katra but the driver (the son of the vehicle owner) kept on juggling between the three phones he was carrying (as he was conducting his business while driving) therefore not allowing us to relax during the long journey.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alok_Bahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

stayed for one night with family. had booked 5 super deluxe room. booking was hassle free and hotel staff was very prompt and supportive.
good things first: very close to golden temple. nice and clean rooms.
not very good things: food is bought from outside. very limited things available in the hotel kitchen. takes time to serve and sometimes gets cold.
bad things: they offer pick up and drop from railway station in the super deluxe package, but these pick up and drops are done on mahindra gio autos which are not very comfortable. for us the drop was even worse, they gave us 3 autos (not even gio) which were very uncomfortable and were driven very rashly by the drivers.
though they maintain the cleanliness of hotel, the helpers/servants who serve food and clean rooms are not clean and sometimes stinks.
recommended, but not the super deluxe package with pick-up and drop from station and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav_chawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAAL, Owner at HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Sir
Thanks for your kind review. There are a few things which I would like to clarify on behalf of hotel.
1. Your package was upgraded executive and not Super Deluxe and we do provide only pick up from station in Car in S.D package . You were complementarliy adjusted pick up and drop on Auto as per prior consent from your side.This is not the normal case. Secondly Autos are not our priority,we arranged them on customer's demand and Hotel has nothing to do with the rash driving.However,your complaint regarding cleanliness of staff is wholeheartedly welcomed and we appolozise for that and for your information that boy is seriously warned to takte care of personal hygine.This has happened for first time and will never happen again.House Keeping Manager is also showcaused for his untidy dress.We stand committed for cleanliness and hygine.
2. The food is outsourced, we clearly mention it to our prestigeous guests and even ask for prior order so that the food does not gets cold,but if you order again and again knowing that it is coming from outside,we can not help coming to your expectations. Amritsar is a place full of varieties of foods and we offer the same Amritsari taste to our guests by getting the same taste to you near the Temple,but we need time and service routine to do that.
Any other complaint regarding our concern is most welcomed and we are committed to serve you at reasonable prices,providing you the feeling of home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We decided to visit Amritsar back in Feb, 2012.
After much delibration and searching through TripAdvisor and other websites, I decided to book Hotel Akaal Residency. And, it was worth the effort.
I got in contact with the owner of the hotel who personally called me to offer a room of Highest category with a complete package of Wagah Border and some more sightseeing which was definitely worth the price.
The owners and the staff was very helpful and this was a wonderful stay.
Most importantly, the Golden Temple was right next to the hotel and we visited Darbar Shahib more than 7 times in a short stay for 3 nights.

Overall a magnificent stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Prash2Cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed at Akaal Residency during our visit to Amritsar. This was possibly the best choice we made. The hotel itself is nestled in a tiny lane, but right behind the Golden Temple. This makes it easily accessible to the most important sites in the city - the Golden Temple and Jallianwallah Bagh. The hotel staff are friendly, hospitable and very helpful with information and tips. If you're lucky, you will get to meet the owner Mr Prabjot Singh and his father. They are incredibly well informed about food, travel, and offer extremely useful tips to travelers. I would like to say that besides the excitement of experiencing the serenity of the Golden Temple, the patriotic and surreal existence of the Wagah Border, what made our trip memorable was our stay at Akaal Residency. I was five months pregnant, and had to be extremely vary of the food- which is incredibly rich in Amritsar. But I had no worries as long as I was eating at the hotel, because it tasted like home cooked cuisine - wholesome and non greasy. The rooms are a bit small, but they make a perfect stay for short durations. They have tried their best to offer all amenities within the capacity of Chowk Baba Sahib - which is a really narrow lane, only accessible by cycle rickshaw and foot.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a working geyser if traveling in the winter. Amritsar is incredibly cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manakrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We had booked for couple of days and were doubtful of the cleanliness and hygiene, which to our surprise was very good for this size of set-up. It was neat and clean and just next door to Golden temple, we went three times couple of times walking from the entrance near to hotel.
Decent service definitely lacks variety.The owners are helpful and courteous and explain things properly.

Over all a very good stay .
.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have window that is in open space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitinitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

A good choice for a few nights in Amritsar:
Rooms: we stayed in an executive room - small and windowless, but clean. Hot water, and a bathroom with a partitioned shower (rare find in India!) May be a bit cold in the chillier months.
Food: don't bother with the food at the hotel - there are lots of little dhabas to be found in the surrounding streets.
Service: this family run establishment is great on service, really went out of their way to help us with any of our queries including taxi bookings and transfers, foreign exchange, even got me some paracetamol when I requested it.
Location: the trump card. Most of the hotels are at least a rickshaw away from The Golden Temple, from Akaal you are in easy walking distance of it and the Jallanwallah Bagh memorial.

I would recommend this for a few night's stopover in Amritsar.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyFeet84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Namaskar Residency
Hotel Namaskar Residency
#1 of 97 in Amritsar
453 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#4 of 97 in Amritsar
930 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 97 in Amritsar
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#18 of 97 in Amritsar
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel CJ International
Hotel CJ International
#73 of 97 in Amritsar
400 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#8 of 97 in Amritsar
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY

Property: HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY
Address: Chowk Baba Sahib, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Decent Hotel near Golden Temple with 3 star facilities.Your Home away from home in the feet of Shri Guru Ramdass ji. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing