We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, hotel needs improvement.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY
Ranked #4 of 149 Amritsar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed here as it was a great location close to the Golden Temple and to the "downtown" of Amritsar. Unfortunately our hotel experience was not fantastic. The rooms were not ready by two o'clock and we had to go away for lunch until 5pm and even then one of the rooms wasn't ready. Be careful of what room type you book. We had three rooms all the same size but with different benefits, i.e. one room didn't have breakfast as part of the room, two rooms got a basket of complimentary snacks, and only one room had toiletries. Rooms had no window to an outside view and seems to be above a workshop of sometime. The best deal is to book through the website. Breakfast is very basic tea, coffee with toast or paratha. This hotel is great for a basic stay.

Room Tip: Check the "extras" that come with the room on the website you are booking through. Managem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew402_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed here in the mid of December. Most benefits of this hotel are its location within a 5 minute walk to the Golden Temple. This was the nicest midrange place. , The rooms are very clean, spacious. Everything clean, well-kept and pretty, free in-room Wi-Fi, The service is very friendly and you feel welcomed at once. Excellent breakfast as well. Good value for the money. Definitely recommended

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Hotel Akal Residency is the best hotel to stay in Amrisar. It's just 5 steps away from the golden temple. Hotel service is excellent. We reached there at 2 AM (midnight) but still we got good service from hotel staff. Morning breakfast was also good. Room was also good. They provide you room heater free of cost, and heaters are of double coils. So it maintains warmness in the room.

So I would suggest you please go for this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aditya2431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Akaal Residency’s location is ideal for those wishing a short .4 km walk to the Golden Temple.

Room 104 was small, clean, with basic décor and, uncomfortably from a safety perspective, no window. It held a short length, queen width bed with crisp white linens, wardrobe with 4 hangers, bar fridge, luggage bench, small wall desk with mirror, a slatted chair, air conditioning and flat screen tv; no wifi. The clean bathroom featured western toilet and sizable shower with curtain. The room’s individual hot water tank guaranteed limited hot water. No toilet paper, no soap.

Bend low if you are of average height or taller entering the breakfast room. Our advice is don’t bother with the breakfast room at all and seek meals outside this hotel. Your wait will be shorter, the food will be better, the utensils cleaner and the service, if but mediocre, will top Akaal’s. When asked for feedback, we shared our findings (including the actual dirty cutlery) with the owner/manager but she appeared to be in a deep state of denial.

If you plan to stay only one or two nights, don’t mind a windowless room and refrain from eating here, we can recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: Rooms we had did not have windows. Ask when booking so you are aware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltales-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The Akkal Residency is literally located around two corners of the Golden Temple. It's a five minute walk. That's the unbeatable plus of this hotel. So it's very easy to walk to the temple at different times of the day. That's a great advantage against many other hotels somewhere in Amritsar. Rooms are basic (not very big, limited day light etc.), even the best category we booked (which dont' cost much more), but very clean, water was hot etc. You don't need more because You are here for sightseeing. So beside location the very good relation between price and what You get is the second plus of the Akall.
Breakfast - You order via phone to somewhere, choose one dish from the menu - is very simple, took some time to be on the desk. That's no plus. Not everybody of the friendy staff speaks good English.
And to get to the Akaal by car is a little adventure. Very narrow street, lot of turns etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TundB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

The selling point for this hotel is its location within a three minute walk to the Golden Temple. We stayed in a superior room and it was quite simple with the basic necessities but really cold in late December. Ask for more blankets and bring warm pajamas. The food was delicious - try the gobi paratha for breakfast. Friendly staff that politely responded to requests and questions. Our driver was unable to take us directly to the hotel due to traffic restrictions on the street. We had to haul our luggage by rickshaw from a parking garage a half mile away at night - rough start to our stay at the Hotel Akaal Residency.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank sushgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Location; Owners; Staff;Food; - All excellent. Stayed there from 3-5 nov 2012. It is walking distance from the Golden Temple. On my request they also sent cab to pick us up form amritsar railway station. Enjoyed my trip to amritsar.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maninder Singh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#2 of 100 in Amritsar
988 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Golden
Hotel Le Golden
#51 of 100 in Amritsar
171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Teg Royal
Hotel Teg Royal
#44 of 100 in Amritsar
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#1 of 100 in Amritsar
969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#15 of 100 in Amritsar
537 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Basera
Hotel Basera
#54 of 100 in Amritsar
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY

Address: Chowk Baba Sahib, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar
Price Range: £13 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Decent Hotel near Golden Temple with 3 star facilities.Your Home away from home in the feet of Shri Guru Ramdass ji. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing