We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and well-located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY
Ranked #2 of 140 Amritsar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and well-located”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Situated only a 5 minute walk from the Golden Temple and not much more from the main centre, this is a well-appointed and well-maintained hotel with very friendly and very helpful staff. They also arranged a good value and comfortable trip to the Wagha Border Ceremony. The only downside was rooms with no external windows, so it was not easy to tell what time of day it was!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JJHDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    121
    45
    10
    6
See reviews for
133
73
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was a lovely little hotel which was exactly as described on Booking.com. Very friendly staff at check in and during the rest of our stay they could not have been more helpful. The room was not huge however was more than adequate with a very comfortable bed. The room was cold but at this time of year that is to be expected however the hotel were quick to supply us with a heater which resolved that problem nicely. The bathroom was functional and clean and the separate hot water boiler ensured that within a few minutes of switch on we had plenty of hot water on demand. The WiFi worked perfectly throughout the duration of our stay which is not always the case in India. The location was good with the Golden Temple only a short walk away and the main shopping area about 5 minutes on foot.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trustmetours57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Location is fantastic -less than 5 mins walk to the Golden Temple. Owners & staff very helpful. Did not eat in hotel so cannot comment on food. Rooms have good facilities - fridge, flat screen tv, complimentary snacks & tea/coffee making facilities. Only negative is our room (we had a delux room) had a cold ambiance.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LoopyLouRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Akaal Residency during December third week. The management is customer caring. This hotel also mentioned clearly their refund policy when I requested about refund policy in case if I have to reschedule my plan. This is a good policy as most hotels are not willing to offer tourist friendly refund policy.

The hotel is very close to Golden Temple and there are tea/ medicine shops/ restaurant at a walk able distance.
Also quality of hot water is very good at Akaal Residency and so is central heating system. Rooms are well maintained but small compared to what is normally offered for this rent.
But overall experience with staying at hotel Akaal Residency is very good as the service is prompt and so is customer caring management

Room Tip: Just mention your requirement to hotel management. They are tourist friendly and do the needful if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BNAmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Me and my friend from seattle stayed here as we visited the golden temple. Staff was so friendly and accomodating. Made us feel as if we wereat home. Would recommend this as the only place to stay when visiting the golden temple. (Which is just a block away.) Has everhthing you need. Heat/AC, free cable and wifi and much more. Very western

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roop151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pekin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

stayed two nights there,very close to golden temple,helpful staffs ,the room is nice as well just the hotwater shower was not good .the water was hot but just a few water came out so u can imagine what kind of feel i had...hope they could improve that!

Room Tip: lower rooms should have better hotwater shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanshan36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Akaal Residency for three nights in September 2013. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I imagine that they do not cater much to foreign tourists as breakfast was a bit of an issue! But the rest of the food was really tasty and delivered to our room if we wanted. The room was basic but comfortable (except for the air-conditioning unit at bed level which means the air blows straight at you when you're in bed!) Good shower and wifi connection. Amritsar is more expensive than other places in India but this hotel is in a great location right around the corner from the Golden Temple and very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Namaskar Residency
Hotel Namaskar Residency
#1 of 97 in Amritsar
466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 97 in Amritsar
776 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#4 of 97 in Amritsar
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#19 of 97 in Amritsar
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel CJ International
Hotel CJ International
#73 of 97 in Amritsar
402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Golden
Hotel Le Golden
#44 of 97 in Amritsar
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY

Property: HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY
Address: Chowk Baba Sahib, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Decent Hotel near Golden Temple with 3 star facilities.Your Home away from home in the feet of Shri Guru Ramdass ji. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing