We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“near to Golden Temple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY
Ranked #2 of 140 Amritsar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“near to Golden Temple”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

stayed at this property recently .

Pros :
Very near to temple
very clean rooms , with all basic requirements & hot water
Co-operative staff, arranged with local travel.
paid pick-up from station

concern:
Rooms were very small for the price.
Had booked for addl bed for kid the same was not provided , the front desk shud have been aware of booking details , in morning when it was mentioned at front desk was advised that i should have informed on arrival itself , however agreed to reduce the cost of addl bed which was good .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rm_arjuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    121
    44
    10
    6
See reviews for
132
73
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were met at the railway station arranged, the hotel is situated down a small street a few minutes walk away from the Golden Temple. There are not many options for eating close by. Our deluxe room was small but clean and comfortable with plenty of hot water and a room heater,both very welcome when the weather is cool and foggy. The windows do not provide any natural light,the upside to this is the rooms are very quiet despite the hotel being in the city centre. There was complimentary mineral water, tea and coffee making facilities plus biscuits etc in the room but no catering in the hotel. We ordered room service via reception a couple of evenings and the food was hot and acceptable. The hotel arranged a trip for us to the Wagah Border stopping at some temples on the way. The staff were very helpful when we needed to change out check out arrangements at the last minute, overall a good choice if you want a budget hotel close to the Golden temple.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Refuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The location of the hotel is at walking distance from the golden temple which makes it a perfect location. Rooms were small but very clean. The staff was polite & helps you for everything you ask them. Overall good option if you wanna stay near golden temple.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank leo_34_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Seema at the reception was excellant and always with a smile. Staffs were more than cooperative.

Hotel location, however, is not that way good but near Golden temple that is applicable for almost all the hotels. Rooms are good but little small is size. Bathrooms also are little small but clean.

They don't have their own restaurant but have a small dining place where selected foods are served on demand. Food quality is okay.

Hotel has a car rental also but you do not have much choices as they have fixed Rs 1200 (small car) / Rs 1400 (for travera) charges for a trip to Wagah border + 2 temples. Quality of driver can always be improved as you find sometime the driver little irritating and arrogant too.

It is value for money at Akaal but only for a short trip.

Room Tip: go for executive rooms with little add-on service
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Based on the review provided by guests in TripAdvisor, we stayed at Hotel Akaal Residency for a night and totally endorse the excellent feedback provided by many. Truly its a wonderful place to stay with very clean environment supported by excellent staff who really assisted us to make our experience in Amritsar memorable. Its just a 5 min walk to the sacred Golden Temple and one can't ask for more when near a sacred place, a clean and decent accommodation backed by excellent assistance is provided.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padmakumar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, 3 persons. The only tiny problem that I found was that the deluxe room was small for us. But if you are traveling in a group or 2 persons is the best choice.
Pros:
-Excellent service. They arranged everything for us without any charge and they were willing all the time to help us.
-Excellent location. One minute walking to one of the entrance of the palace.
-Excellent infrastructure. Bathroom, rooms and the entire building is comfortable, extremely clean and well maintain.

Cons:
-Room are for two person. If you want to stay three in a room is convenient but it can be a little bit small.
-Food is not good at al. We had dinner here but the food it was tasteless and overprice for the area.

The best option for staying in Amritsar. Thanks for your help!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mecrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days. It was an amazing experience. As it was 26th Jan 2014 there weren't much rooms available due to rush. But by gods grace we got this hotel. But the budget we were looking at was a bit low what they offered. But when they heard about our budget they gave us some discount which made us comfortable about the money part.
The hotel is situated 5 mins walking dist from Golden Temple. The rooms were amazingly clean with 24 hours electricity backup. 24/7 hot and cold water. The people were amazing and really helpful.
In all it was a gr8 place to stay.
Thanx for a wonderful exp.

Room Tip: Room no 205 was gud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anshu2561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Namaskar Residency
Hotel Namaskar Residency
#1 of 97 in Amritsar
453 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#4 of 97 in Amritsar
930 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 97 in Amritsar
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#18 of 97 in Amritsar
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel CJ International
Hotel CJ International
#74 of 97 in Amritsar
400 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#8 of 97 in Amritsar
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY

Property: HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY
Address: Chowk Baba Sahib, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Decent Hotel near Golden Temple with 3 star facilities.Your Home away from home in the feet of Shri Guru Ramdass ji. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing