We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable and very close to Golden Temple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY
Ranked #2 of 145 Amritsar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Hotel is around 15 Kms from Airport. It is very very close to Golden temple. Probably about 200m to Gurudwara.

The hotel is so well maintained. Particularly liked the freebies like chocolate, snacks, water, soap/herbal shampoo and the welcome drink.

From airport the taxi (RS 800/-) can only reach outer perimeter of temple. For next 1.5 kms, you will need to hire a e-rickshaw (about Rs 60/-) to reach the hotel. Looks tedious, but once you reach you realize the advantage of staying so close to Golden temple.

Why Stay Close?

Primarily you need to look for 2 events in Golden temple: Morning ceremony where the holy book is brought into the temple (around 4:30 AM) and Evening closing ceremony (around 10:00 PM). So, it makes it easier if you stay near by to reach in time and get to see the holy book closely.

Langar (Prasada served in Gurudwara)

Its served for free but the most delicious. Its just amazing to see the unrelenting work of the volunteers. You can join hands in helping out.

Though the hotel provides food, preferably breakfast alone can be taken, Lunch and Dinner at Gurudwara is advisable.

The hotel staff is very courteous and help you with all the queries. They helped us book a taxi to visit Wagah border (Rs 1500/-). In all, we enjoyed staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiddalingaSwamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSSAmritsar, Owner at HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your encouraging Review. We have always and will always try our level best for providing hospitality services near the Holy Golden Temple.Golden Temple has number of Gates and we being just 50 meters from the South Gate (Entry from Gurudwara Baba Atal side)along with other hotels in the close vicinity of Temple fall in No Entry Zone , but if contacted earlier we can arrange for your smooth airport/ Railway station transfers at very reasonable price and that too right at the Gate of hotel.You are always welcomed with us in your next visit to the Holy Golden Temple.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

We booked this hotel only because it said it was 0.3 kms away from Golden temple. To our surprise the hotel was quiet wonderful and the staff was very cordial and friendly. The owner/manager was quiet helpful and guided us through the trip since we had not planned anything in advance. They arranged a pick up from station for us in very economical price and further too arranged a taxi for us to Wagah border. The gentleman also guided us through the best eating places around the golden temple. One thing I would advice the hotel owners (if at all they read this) to include wifi in their room rent. This is no longer a luxury, its a necessity now. We wont mind paying for it while booking our room as part of rent but over and above is a deal breaker.
With such good service and all the help and it being only 2 minutes walking from Golden temple we loved and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Amritsar.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ektamahajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSSAmritsar, Owner at HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2014

Dear Madame

Thank you very much for your precious review. Your priceless words fills up with the spirit to work more enthusiastically for providing the best of the hospitality services.Just for your information wifi is free in our Executive and above categories. It is paid only in the basic category that too at a nominal price starting from Rs 20 per hour to Rs 100 for 24 hours. We assure you when you come next time you will find us more improved and we only need blessings of our worthy guests to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed as family of 3 from August 4 - 6th. The hotel is very close to Golden temple and makes trips very convenient at any time of the day. Hotel has clean rooms and very cordial staff. The owners were very informative and helpful with travel tips. I had asked for a auto pickup from railway station which was very seemless. Thanks Akaal residency team.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hello197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

On our trip to Amritsar from 08th Aug till 13th Aug we stayed in Akaal Residency in Suite room 314. Excellent hotel and great staff. Staff was very warm and friendly. The owner Mr Prabhjot Singh and the staff treated us like family . The location is the best as its walking distance to Golden temple .

Ashu's car service was excellent. Very helpful and humble guy and all the tours arranged for us by him.

Over all we had a great experience and I would highly recommend this hotel and car service of Ashu's (Can be arranged through Hotel) if you are visiting AMRITSAR .

Wahe Guru Ji Ka Khalsha Wahe Guru Ji ki Fateh.

Sukhdev Singh Bhamra
Dubai

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sukhdev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Don't rely on their brochures or website!
Located vary close to a holy sanctum, hotel is simply looting visitors by charging all taxes and not giving any receipts. Room classification is terrible and whil you check in, they would ask you to sign a take over sheet. Shame on management!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shiv_mathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSSAmritsar, Owner at HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Mr Shiv Mathur, We are very sorry to hear such a stupid review from a literate person of your profile. How could you defame a Hotel by falsely stating that we have not deposited the tax collected from you. For your short memory let me inform you that we have issued you Invoice number 210 dt 28-6-14 , the breakup is as follows Room Rent: 1621 (after 10% discount)
Luxury Tax @ 8% 130
Service Tax @7.42% 120

Total 1871

Again for your memory 1000.00 was token money deposited by you in the bank and 870 was paid in cash. Now coming to room classification , I need not to comment as more than 175 reviewers have commented in their reviews as far as our services, cleanliness and hygiene is concerned.
And your English seems to be quite great as even after reading number of times I could not understand the meaning of "whil you check in, they would ask you to sign a take over sheet. ".
Please explain me the same (you can call Hotel). And just to add, even knowing that check out time is 12 noon and the room is booked for next Guest, you remained away from Hotel upto 2 pm and we shifted the next Guest to other room. Instead of feeling thankful for the late check out , you have written such an unpleasant review.
Shame on you for such a derogatory remarks about taxes.
Sorry travel community for being harsh to Worthy Guest as the Guest has questioned our dignity and we can not compromise on self respect. Had the Guest reported on cleanliness,hygiene, services and any mistake in staff behaviour ,we would have immediately felt sorry .We again feel sorry from the travel community if we have replied something wrong,but these type of remarks tarnish the image of Hotel and can not be tolerated. Our motto is to provide you best of hospitality services and we adhere to that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel was nice and clean. The food can definitely be better. Room size was smaller than expected. Location is not appropriate for commutation. As auto rickshaws cannot reach the hotel, you have to walk or take a cycle rickshaw.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Honey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSSAmritsar, Owner at HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your valuable review.we will certainly improve on the points you have mentioned. We are very close to the holy Golden Temple and all area around the Temple is No Entry Zone. There is a problem for commutation but it is always advisable to contact the Hotel where you are booked so that they can help in your proper transfers
We wish to see you in your next visit to the Holy Temple.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

On our trip to Amritsar we were recommended by a family friend to stay at this hotel . Excellent hotel and great stay . Staff was very warm and friendly .Walking distance to Golden temple and that gave us the advantage of visiting the temple at midnight for early morning darshan .
Ashu's car service was also great .Over all a great experience and I would highly recommend this hotel and car service if you are visiting AMRITSAR .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mody1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSSAmritsar, Owner at HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Mr Modi
We thank you very much for your encouraging review . We have always tried and always will try to provide our Guests the best of hospitality services.We will always be welcoming you and your family/friends on your next arrival

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#3 of 112 in Amritsar
998 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Golden
Hotel Le Golden
#53 of 112 in Amritsar
171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#1 of 112 in Amritsar
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#15 of 112 in Amritsar
544 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Basera
Hotel Basera
#56 of 112 in Amritsar
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abode UNA Xpress
Abode UNA Xpress
#25 of 112 in Amritsar
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY

Address: Chowk Baba Sahib, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar
Price Range: £14 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Decent Hotel near Golden Temple with 3 star facilities.Your Home away from home in the feet of Shri Guru Ramdass ji. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing