We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Decent Budget Hotel”
Review of Hotel Holy City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Holy City
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Location, Decent Budget Hotel”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Though we made a prior booking for two deluxe rooms but when we reached only one room was allotted to us that too after waiting for twenty mins. May be it was the peak time and all hotels were booked so no regrets as such. The room was neat and so was the toilet. Though the geyser was not working but it's ok didn't really feel the need.

The room service was fast. Towels and bedsheets were neat and clean. The room even had a television. You can even go for super deluxe rooms.

In a nutshell, it's a good budget hotel and the location is excellent, very near to the Golden Temple and plenty of eating options available nearby. If there do try Aloo Kulcha at Simran food joint next door.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravneet249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    24
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
10
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We had some trouble finding a decent budget hotel in Amritsar. After scouring the web for any sort of recommendation, we settled on Hotel Holy City.

The location is good - about a five minute walk from the Golden Temple, and the old man on reception is quite pleasant.

I would recommend looking at a few rooms before committing - I settled on a non-a/c room on the first floor which had a window and didn't smell of damp (unlike the others I looked at). The room had a good fan, we didn't feel the need for a/c.

As with most budget places in India, the room was far from spotlessly clean, but the sheets and towels were laundered (if a bit worn) and the floor swept. We had hot water and decent water pressure in the bathroom.

I wouldn't linger here, but it's fine for an overnight stop in Amritsar.

As well as the Golden Temple, do try to get to the India/Pakistan border ceremony - very entertaining, one of our favourite India experiences!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burch1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everywhere!
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I got stuck at 10pm on a busy weekend without a room after an advance booking at another GH wasn't honored. Checked in here which seemed to be one of the few places in town with a vacancy. 600 rupees got my indifferent service, an interior room with barely a window (interior), a rusty old air cooler that I didn't even attempt to work, a TV that also didn't work (and didn't look like it had in years) and a "Indian guesthosue smell" that seemed to combine mildew and body odor. But, the bed and the sheets were clean and there was sufficient (cold) water. I moved to a better place the next day but this place was ok in a pinch, I guess.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OffDuty10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jalpaiguri, India
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

In last year puja vacation we were in trip of kashmir and punjab. In punjab Amritswar was a spot of us on of us booked this hotel through a local travel agent. I must say it was really good one. After arriving 20hrs late by train we were just tired enough when we cheeked in to hotel it was about 1.30 mid night. The management arranged pick up vechile for us from station in only Rs 200. The rooms were good and clean and the service was also good spesially at that time also they served us hot ruti,tarka and egg vujia which was price less for us. the only complain is the bathroom is not spesious but the rest is good.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajarshibhowmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We are two guys from Sweden and we stayed one night in Holy City.
The staff was excellent and friendly and helped us with alot.
Service was very good, and when we had to take out money from the ATM one of the employes was friendly enought to come with us and show us the way to the ATM.
I highly recommend everyone to stay at Hotel Holy City in Amritsar.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristofer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Premier
Hotel Premier
#22 of 97 in Amritsar
72 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Namaskar
Hotel Namaskar
#32 of 97 in Amritsar
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indus
Hotel Indus
#61 of 97 in Amritsar
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel City Castle
Hotel City Castle
#30 of 97 in Amritsar
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abode UNA Xpress
Abode UNA Xpress
#27 of 97 in Amritsar
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Golden
Hotel Le Golden
#46 of 97 in Amritsar
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holy City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holy City

Property: Hotel Holy City
Address: Chowk Paraag Dass,, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Holy City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Holy City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing