We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay at the Hotel Holy City.”
Review of Hotel Holy City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Holy City
Ranked #29 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I would never normally stay in a hotel like the Holy City but was pleasantly surprised by the standard of my room. It was a Super Deluxe room which was very nicely furnished, comfortable and well worth the money. For the budget traveller who has a short time to visit the Golden Temple then you could do no better that to stay just a 5 minute walk away from the temple. The staff were very kind and informative. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Super Deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0lycity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

Service is very helpful, staff very friendly, rooms are clean and bathrooms nice. The localisation is excellent- 5 min from Golden Temple. You can order a taxi whenever you want, taxi drivers are ok and the price is reasonable. Around the hotel are many places where you can eat good food and go shopping. We strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalafior888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Its is a good hotel. In the old city, really close to golden temple. It has clean rooms, good shower, and nice service. And its not so far from the train station, so its very cheap to take a rickshaw to get there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jumafa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is run by Mr Aggarwal and Mr Gupta. They were both very friendly towards me and showed genuine concern when I got good poisoning from too much bazaar food.

My room was good but that's because they told me that non a/c rooms were not available so I ended up paying more than I wanted.

The location is fantastic. You can walk to The Golden Temple in a few minutes only, a place I recommend you spend the bulk of your time in Amritsar. It is very beautiful and utterly peaceful.

Overall the hotel is a good stay, with a clean a/c room, tv and hot shower. I would stay here again when I come to Amritsar.

Ravi

JetPrivilege membership: 139548592

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank ravs000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

By calling "Hotel Holy City " the day BEFORE our stay and talking to the owner,
Mr. Agarwal about taxi prices was a good thing to do, however we would not have thought that Mr.Agarwal just "forgets" to inform us about the renovation in his own hotel.

Upon arrival in Amritsar, the taxi driver had difficulties finding "Hotel Holy City", therefore he stopped several times in the city and asked the locals about the exact location of it.

As we did not understand the conversation between him and the locals, at the end we landed at a different hotel. A man standing next to the taxi -with almost no English- told us:
" no Holy City - renovation, room here, Hotel Raj Darbar".......well, once we cleared up the situation with a very polite lady from the same hotel, we found out that this person was from Hotel Holy City waiting for those guests, who originally booked rooms with them. The fact was that as an agreement between Hotel Holy City and Hotel Raj Darbar, Hotel Holy City sent all guests to this other hotel as Hotel Holy City was under renovation, though the problem was that Hotel Holy City did not inform their guests about this „little” change in advance.. When the lady called Holy City for us, unfortunately we had to face a very impolite and aggressive voice on the other end of the phone. Mr. Agarwal was not able to listen to us at all, was loud and non-cooperative on the phone, therefore it did not make any sense listening to him.

We do think that as he is the owner and manager of the hotel he either should have notified us about the renovation in his own hotel in a mail or at least he should have told us on the phone when we called him THE DAY BEFORE OUR STAY that he will be redirecting us to Hotel Raj Darbar, with which he is having business contacts.

Very POOR service with a very IMPOLITE tone of voice.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank HRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Though we made a prior booking for two deluxe rooms but when we reached only one room was allotted to us that too after waiting for twenty mins. May be it was the peak time and all hotels were booked so no regrets as such. The room was neat and so was the toilet. Though the geyser was not working but it's ok didn't really feel the need.

The room service was fast. Towels and bedsheets were neat and clean. The room even had a television. You can even go for super deluxe rooms.

In a nutshell, it's a good budget hotel and the location is excellent, very near to the Golden Temple and plenty of eating options available nearby. If there do try Aloo Kulcha at Simran food joint next door.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravneet249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We had some trouble finding a decent budget hotel in Amritsar. After scouring the web for any sort of recommendation, we settled on Hotel Holy City.

The location is good - about a five minute walk from the Golden Temple, and the old man on reception is quite pleasant.

I would recommend looking at a few rooms before committing - I settled on a non-a/c room on the first floor which had a window and didn't smell of damp (unlike the others I looked at). The room had a good fan, we didn't feel the need for a/c.

As with most budget places in India, the room was far from spotlessly clean, but the sheets and towels were laundered (if a bit worn) and the floor swept. We had hot water and decent water pressure in the bathroom.

I wouldn't linger here, but it's fine for an overnight stop in Amritsar.

As well as the Golden Temple, do try to get to the India/Pakistan border ceremony - very entertaining, one of our favourite India experiences!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burch1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.2 mi away
Abode UNA Xpress
Abode UNA Xpress
#27 of 98 in Amritsar
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indus
Hotel Indus
#62 of 98 in Amritsar
141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel City Castle
Hotel City Castle
#28 of 98 in Amritsar
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel CJ International
Hotel CJ International
#70 of 98 in Amritsar
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Darbar View
Hotel Darbar View
#54 of 98 in Amritsar
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
#65 of 98 in Amritsar
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holy City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holy City

Address: Chowk Paraag Dass,, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range: £17 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Holy City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Holy City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing