We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located and well run home stay - a haven from the hustle and bustle of Amritsar”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amritsar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Acres Haveli and Retreat
Ranked #18 of 149 Amritsar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We did not stay long enough in this charming and professionally managed home stay - a further night relaxing in the lovely grounds and enjoying the hospitality would have been ideal. Green Acres is an ideal base for the two principal local attractions - the Golden Temple and Wagah Border Ceremony.

Green Acres rightly has an excellent reputation that the Singhs' are justifiably proud of; they go to considerable lengths to ensure that your visit to Amritsar is memorable for all the right reasons. Take their advice and let them help you get the very best from your stay. In particular visit the Golden Temple for first light, and be present for the arrival of the Holy Book.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Toaster803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a fantastic stay in Green Acres. This is a peaceful haveli outside of Amritsar (it takes 10 minutes or so to get into town), a very quiet location with an orchard in the back, the rooms are immaculate. Winneet and Ranjeep made us feel very welcome - the food was delicious, and Moti their help was an absolute darling. The tractor ride into the nearby village is a must - especially the visit to the school were the students were delighted to see us. Cannot recommend this highly enough if you are looking for a relaxed stay in Amritsar.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_S2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This was our first trip to Amritsar and we chanced upon this place through Trip Advisor itself. Needless to say we were very pleased with the property and had an awesome stay. The place is beautifully done up with old style decor and has a huge farm adjoining it. The owners are wonderful people and treated us as family extending utmost hospitality. The experience of a stay in the farmhouse is a pleasant departure from the usual hotel stay and our kids aged 6 and 4 thoroughly enjoyed it. Good food, great hospitality, amazing stay, we"ll definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LetsGetAway123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We were made to feel very welcome at Green Acres from the moment we arrived and met our hosts and their young son.
Winnie and Ranjeep (apologies if these names are misspelt) run the Haveli more as a hobby than a business and it is not open year-round. However, if they are open when you want to stay, don't hesitate to book!
We had a beautifully presented, ensuite, double room, with a comfortable bed, plenty of storage, refrigerator and flat screen TV (not that we used it). There was a small patio at the front and a larger one at the rear.
Unfortunately the pool wasn't yet open when we visited, but garden furniture was provided in the orchard, so that we could enjoy the sunshine to the full.
Breakfast is included and the food is delicious, so take the opportunity to have dinner if your schedule allows. (Winnie is a pastry chef.) Pre-dinner we sat in the courtyard around a bonfire with other guests and enjoyed hot snacks and home made soup.
We were offered, and accepted, a tractor ride around the village. We sat on plastic garden chairs on a trailor at the back of the tractor, like the Carnival King and Queen! I'm still not sure whether we or the villagers were more entertained, but it was a fun thing to do!
This was our first real homestay in India and we loved the personal hosting, local knowledge and informed recommendations. All with no compromise on comfort!
The location is very convenient for the airport, the town and the Golden Temple. The Temple is a real "must see" as is the Wagah Border ceremony (also an easy drive away).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hotflop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at Green Acres for a few days in January 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were a bit ill when we arrived and so didn’t feel like the meal we’d asked for in advance, but Wineet (sp?) was very kind and accommodating, giving us some lovely fresh soup, which made the world of difference, and sending out Moti (a really helpful and smiley member of staff) to buy us some bananas, especially. Green Acres continued to be the perfect place to convalesce and within a couple of days we were feeling much better.

All the food was exceptionally fresh and healthy (many of the ingredients grown on the farm and cooked with very little oil) and our hosts made us feel very much at home. The only thing I would say is be a little careful if you are on a tight budget. Because we felt more like guests of the family than customers (eating meals with the family etc) and because we never saw a menu, we weren’t aware of any of the prices of food or drink (there may have been a price list in our room, but we didn’t look at it if there was). Though delicious, the food was quite pricey, and the cost of the wine was truly shocking (presumably because it’s imported). It was our own fault for not asking about prices, however, and we only mention it as some guests may want to ask about the cost of wine before splashing out!

The haveli has been refurbished to a high spec and was very clean. We stayed in one of the luxury rooms and the bathroom was one of the best of our two and half week trip (clean, hot water, and a good shower). The bed was also very comfortable, and I think there was a small safe for valuables. The only discomfort was caused by the cold at that time of year. Very few places in India have central heating because the cold months are so short-lived, so we were sleeping in thermals and woolly hats! However, Green Acres was the only place we stayed to offer us an electric heater and hot water bottles without our having to ask, and these made a big difference.

We definitely didn’t regret our decision to stay outside Amritsar itself. Green Acres felt like a haven after the chaos of the city, and we thoroughly enjoyed our tractor village safari and helping Javed feed the hens! It only takes about 10 mins to get into the city for sightseeing and Wineet and Ravdeep kindly suggested we call them if coming back late at night to give them the number plate of the taxi in advance for the sake of security. We were also very close to the airport and Wineet drove us there at the end of our stay herself. It was little touches like these that made us feel very well looked after at Green Acres and would make us recommend it to others without hesitation.

Thank you Wineet, Ravdeep, Javed, Moti, and all for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theworldisadewdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Me and my husband visited green acres haveli this December for a quick vacation. We zeroed in on green acres as we did not want a conventional hotel and a farm stay sounded wonderful. This was the best decision we ever took. The haveli is outstanding, the food they serve is better than any other hotel. They really take care of you as a family and we ended up getting much more than we actually expected. Ravdeep and Vineet are wonderful hosts and they did everything to make our stay worthwhile. I definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to go to Amritsar. It is much better than any 5 star hotels around.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tulip785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We had planned a visit to Green Acres Haveli six months back ! It was like a dream come true for all of us ! The Hospitality , The Yummy Home Made Food , the warmth of the Hosts was really amazing ! We all were overwhelmed by the entire atmosphere! I will always recommend a stay for atleast two nights to get the combination of Nice relaxation as well as The Sightseeing at Amritsar !
We wish All the Luck To the Wonderful Family & very friendly staff ! All in all its a perfect ten on ten !

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ambarish_hombali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
5.5 mi away
Sadda Pind
Sadda Pind
#8 of 100 in Amritsar
157 reviews
5.4 mi away
Amritsar Bed & Breakfast
Amritsar Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 149 in Amritsar
80 reviews
6.1 mi away
Farmer's Villa
Farmer's Villa
#7 of 149 in Amritsar
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#6 of 100 in Amritsar
1,781 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
9.1 mi away
Hotel Teg Royal
Hotel Teg Royal
#44 of 100 in Amritsar
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Acres Haveli and Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Acres Haveli and Retreat

Address: 1, Green Acres | Airport Road, Amritsar 143101, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar
Price Range: £31 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Acres Haveli and Retreat is a farmstay nestled in amongst fruit orchards yet only 5Km from the city center. The owners have opened up their heritage home and warm hospitality to guests looking for a unique and relaxing stay in Amritsar. Special packages and rates along with variety of activities and excursions are available.. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing