We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location if your purpose is visit Golden Temple” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Darbar View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Darbar View
Ranked #48 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location if your purpose is visit Golden Temple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

The Hotel was good and clean. The staff was also really helpful and provided a great service. Made our stay comfortable. The room we were allocated had a funny small and we reported to the staff and they shifted us to another room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Neha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    33
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
28
28
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

A lovely little guesthouse where the staff working at the front desk bend over backwards to help u, even if there is some language difficulty.

Harpteet at the front desk was the best. I wanted to wear a Sikh turban and didn't know how to buy or how to wear. He offered to bring me one of his brother's which I refused politely and then he have me necessary dimensions for my big head and told me where to buy it. After I brought it back he put it on me himself and I looked great.

The location also can't be beat. Ur literally a one minute walk to the golden temple, one of the most amazing places in India.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jd_murcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Nice hotel with close proximity to golden temple, 2 min walk away. Rooms were neat and clean and staff were very helpful and provided service was v.good
Rooms are little small but enough for 2 to stay comfortably.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpraveenca2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Darbar View, we had a very positive experience the first time, but were very disappointed when we stayed recently. There was renovation work going on outside our room and it continued until late at night despite us asking for it to stop. The bed was also very uncomfortable and in need of replacement.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h_rossbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed here for three nights, booking via booking.com at what worked out at about £15/night.

The location is excellent, maybe a minute's walk from the Golden Temple. This allowed me to easily visit it a second time after dark (and, had I been sufficiently energetic, would have been handy for visiting it at dawn). The staff were very friendly and helpful. They recommended some nearby restaurants and also allowed me to leave my bag between checking out and catching my train.

The room was clean and reasonably comfortable, although I did find it a bit chilly; I think this might in part be a reflection of the time of year and the fact that there is (as usual in this part of India?) no heating, but there did also seem to be a bit of a draught from the balcony door. There was a mains socket next to the bed, so I could charge my phone up overnight while still having it handy. (I am amazed how often this is not possible.) The wifi worked well.

When I first checked in I was put in a normal room instead of the superior room I had booked. The staff rectified this almost immediately without being asked, however (I was trying to get the booking page up on the web to confirm before I complained).

I would definitely consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZornsLemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is a hotel with good location, clean good value. Safe, Staff is cooperative. I would stay here again
Our trip to Darbar Sahib was worth without any worries They even set up and auto for early morning drop off to station. I booked rooms for my friend. They also liked it

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bhopinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaurav B, Owner at Hotel Darbar View, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Darbar View Amritsar!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and your kind words have been shared with our team.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the Holy city.

Best regards,
Gaurav Bagai
Co Founder & Chief operating officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Do not get fooled by the positive reviews. The tiny room offered to me was stuffy and damp. The wall paint was peeling off at many places. No electric kettle was provided by the management. The only positive was the proximity to Darbar Sahib.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RAMANPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CJ International
Hotel CJ International
#63 of 96 in Amritsar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel City Heart
Hotel City Heart
#33 of 96 in Amritsar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abode UNA Xpress
Abode UNA Xpress
#23 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
#67 of 96 in Amritsar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grace
Hotel Grace
#42 of 96 in Amritsar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Robin
Hotel Robin
#52 of 96 in Amritsar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Darbar View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Darbar View

Property: Hotel Darbar View
Address: Bazar Mai Sewan, Near Golden Temple, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Darbar View 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all the facilities and services one can not expect in such a low price, our rooms are well equipped with LCD, Air conditioning, Mini bar, safe locker, 24 hours hot/cold water etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Darbar View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing