We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a marvelous time!”
Review of Hotel Darbar View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Darbar View
Ranked #53 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I always love visiting Amritsar and staying at the Darbar View. It's only one block to the Golden Temple so we can easily visit it anytime of day! Also, the Jallianwala Bagh is right close by. They always arrange my car from the airport and coordinate any excursions I want to take. I can recommend the changing of the guard at the border and a day trip to Jalandhar.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Darbar View
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is total value for money. It has the best location, clean rooms and great staff.its so close to the golden temple that u end up going there more often than not. The market for papad and other local stuff is also right under the hotel.staff is so warm sply the owner gaurav who hosts u in the city like a friend.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 447ruhis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The Hotel was good and clean. The staff was also really helpful and provided a great service. Made our stay comfortable. The room we were allocated had a funny small and we reported to the staff and they shifted us to another room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Neha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

A lovely little guesthouse where the staff working at the front desk bend over backwards to help u, even if there is some language difficulty.

Harpteet at the front desk was the best. I wanted to wear a Sikh turban and didn't know how to buy or how to wear. He offered to bring me one of his brother's which I refused politely and then he have me necessary dimensions for my big head and told me where to buy it. After I brought it back he put it on me himself and I looked great.

The location also can't be beat. Ur literally a one minute walk to the golden temple, one of the most amazing places in India.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jd_murcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Nice hotel with close proximity to golden temple, 2 min walk away. Rooms were neat and clean and staff were very helpful and provided service was v.good
Rooms are little small but enough for 2 to stay comfortably.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpraveenca2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Darbar View, we had a very positive experience the first time, but were very disappointed when we stayed recently. There was renovation work going on outside our room and it continued until late at night despite us asking for it to stop. The bed was also very uncomfortable and in need of replacement.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h_rossbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed here for three nights, booking via booking.com at what worked out at about £15/night.

The location is excellent, maybe a minute's walk from the Golden Temple. This allowed me to easily visit it a second time after dark (and, had I been sufficiently energetic, would have been handy for visiting it at dawn). The staff were very friendly and helpful. They recommended some nearby restaurants and also allowed me to leave my bag between checking out and catching my train.

The room was clean and reasonably comfortable, although I did find it a bit chilly; I think this might in part be a reflection of the time of year and the fact that there is (as usual in this part of India?) no heating, but there did also seem to be a bit of a draught from the balcony door. There was a mains socket next to the bed, so I could charge my phone up overnight while still having it handy. (I am amazed how often this is not possible.) The wifi worked well.

When I first checked in I was put in a normal room instead of the superior room I had booked. The staff rectified this almost immediately without being asked, however (I was trying to get the booking page up on the web to confirm before I complained).

I would definitely consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZornsLemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CJ International
Hotel CJ International
#67 of 98 in Amritsar
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indus
Hotel Indus
#60 of 98 in Amritsar
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abode UNA Xpress
Abode UNA Xpress
#26 of 98 in Amritsar
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
#70 of 98 in Amritsar
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Holy City
Hotel Holy City
#27 of 98 in Amritsar
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#18 of 98 in Amritsar
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Darbar View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Darbar View

Address: Bazar Mai Sewan, Near Golden Temple, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range: £17 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Darbar View 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all the facilities and services one can not expect in such a low price, our rooms are well equipped with LCD, Air conditioning, Mini bar, safe locker, 24 hours hot/cold water etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Darbar View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing