We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Ritz Plaza, Mall Road, Amritsar”
Review of Hotel Ritz Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ritz Plaza
Ranked #67 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Ritz Plaza, Mall Road, Amritsar”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Fantastic location, competitive pricing and good spacious rooms.
Being in Amritsar, I expected more from the Quality of food, especially when it is priced heavily.

This was the second time I stayed however, other amenities like Swimming pool etc have deteriorated. They have Spa but no gym.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing the garden are well lit and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prashantvishwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    90
    73
    42
    33
See reviews for
94
60
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

After travelling around India for a month our last stop was The Ritz in Amritsar. Initially the staff were extremely pleasant. We had booked for three people over 6 months ago and upon arrival we were put into a two person room and a makeshift bed was squeezed into the tiny tiny room hours after we arrived. we were continuously getting calls and un-necessary knocks on our door with every staff member expecting a tip for doing absolutaly nothing. The place is extremely run down and the pictures on this site AND its own website are not at all what it is like. they offer a pool. the pool was empty when we got there!!! we asked everyday if it was going to be filled and they kept saying yes! we stayed for two nights and it was never touched. they nodded and smiled and said yes it will be filled. NOTHING! the food was terrible and the staff became ruder and ruder when we asked for WIFI internet vouchers. There is a sign in the room that says not to leave valuables in the room unattended. not ONE place we visited in India stated this and we did not like to have to take everything with us just because they could not employ trust-worthy staff members. This place is in a good location and it was so sad that our last place in India turned out to be our worst experience. i would not recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mckeanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amritsar hotels

Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Opting for Ritz proved to be the biggest mistake.
Also i was made to understand in an indirect manner that "if you book through a portal, you will be treated accordingly".
On check in there was no water in the room. When asked for the hotel guys were of the opinion that water is chargeable. Agreed, but should a guest be served water on arrival or not ? This is just one instance.
Ritz has forgotten "Hospitality"
For sure i am not going to Ritz again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Yeshudas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Oh dear where do I start. The hotel sounds grand and looks good on their website but the reality is a great disappointment. Tired and threadbare needing a serious overhaul.
Everywhere could at least do with redecorating and refurnishing.
The staff try hard but cannot overcome the lethargy of the place.
Our tablecloth in the dining room was dirty when we arrived and was still in place when we left two days later. The food is no better being just edible.
The Basil Fawlty maître d prowled the dining room.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

this hotel is badley in need of imediate refurbishment, it is not like what is portrayed on the internet. when we arrived at this hotel my disappointment was so upsetting, i told my rep my family and i would not be staying at this hotel, he said next morning he would sort it out, he didnt we were told we chose it we would be staying there? on apositive note the staff were fantastic, we couldnt use the hotel pool as it was empty, be awere now not when you arrive?

Room Tip: i would not stay here again, that is my advise to travelling assosiates
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susielyly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We booked 2 rooms for 3 nights for our small party. I had e-mailed previously to ask for quiet rooms and these were provided. If you want all mod cons then this hotel might not be for you, but we liked the ex colonial feel of the place and the fact that it had some character (although it is a bit tired in places). We found the staff very helpful and they even confirmed an onward flight for us. The food was good and we enjoyed the quiet buzz of the place. My sister swam in the pool and we walked out and did some shopping in the evening. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel directly for quiet rooms on the top floor. Ours overlooked the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2013

All was acceptable in hotel except the exterior cleanliness n the absence of some basic sefvices. The taxis which stand outside put all their muck in the parking n that is straight in front of the entrance of the hotel. The basic services like WiFi n mineral water are part of d package nowadays, but not in this hotel. Lastly the rooms need soundproofing for a comfortable sleep. Window glasses are thin n doors are normal making every sound reach your ear. Next time will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Harpreet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.1 mi away
The Fern Residency Amritsar
The Fern Residency Amritsar
#60 of 97 in Amritsar
54 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel PR Residency
Hotel PR Residency
#16 of 97 in Amritsar
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#4 of 97 in Amritsar
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Narula's Aurrum
Hotel Narula's Aurrum
#23 of 97 in Amritsar
192 reviews
5.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson, Amritsar Airport
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 97 in Amritsar
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz Plaza

Property: Hotel Ritz Plaza
Address: 45 Mall Road, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ritz Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ritz Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Plaza Amritsar
Ritz Plaza Hotel
Amritsar Ritz
Ritz Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing