We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For those who like location, free walk and shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ritz Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ritz Plaza
Ranked #69 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
1 review
“For those who like location, free walk and shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Very nicely located property:
1. Close to raiway st.
2. Not far from Golden Temple.
3. Good branded shopping is just a 2-5 min. walk.

One of the oldest family run hotel in Amritsar with traditions, friendly staff and picturisque patio.

Room Tip: Garden or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelShams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHIPL, Manager at Hotel Ritz Plaza, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Mr Shamshidov,
Greetings!
Thank you for the nice words of appreciation. It was very nice to meet you and your family and we look forward to hosting you back with "The Ritz" Soon.
Best Regards

For Ritz Plaza, Amritsar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    85
    70
    42
    32
See reviews for
89
57
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I happened to be here for less than 24 hrs ; To be precisely for 20 hrs. But since the timing was not matching to their check out timing, I had to pay for 2 days .This was after commitment from General Manager of Hotel that he would charge us for 1 day only considering very short stay .The room condition/cleanliness was shabby . Heater was not working in Amritsar winter condition for whole night .Bathroom & main doors were Jam & guess 1 ltr mineral water !!!! I consumed only half ltr for 4 peoples in 1 day :-)

Room Tip: Highly recomneded not to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahesh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHIPL, General Manager at Hotel Ritz Plaza, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Sir,
Greetings!
Thank you for staying with us. We value your patronage. Sir, Kindly recall the booking that you had made through an online travel agency which was for two nights, as is printed as well in their voucher. You had asked us what charges will be levied if you stay only for a night and as you have rightly said that the undersigned confirmed the same back to you that you will be charged only for a night if you stay only for a night. That being said we expect you to cancel your booking for one night if you intend not to stay for two nights, which for some reason you did not and hence in the hotel record you were listed as a NO SHOW. In this case when a client does not arrive in spite of a booking, a 100% retention is charged which was told to you, when you checked in the next day.

We have noted the other points mentioned by you and we apologies for the inconvenience that you had. I have checked the doors of both the rooms and yes the door for one of the rooms is a bit hard probably due to moisture in the wood. The same has been rectified now. The Minibar is chargeable
which is written on the advice printed in the Bar Advice card. The heating issue has also been checked and it has been informed that you floor was fully occupied and the central heating was on for the night at a desirable temperature, which probably was not comfortable for you.

In any case we are still apologetic that you had these issues at the Hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amritsar hotels

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights to visit golden temple and wagah border.pleasantly surprised.although the place is quite old,it was compensated by the ever so helpful staff.rooms were centrally heated and comfortable as it was very cold.the breakfast was very good as well.nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geeta d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHIPL, General Manager at Hotel Ritz Plaza, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear madam,
Greetings from Ritz Hotel.
Thank you for the kind words of appreciation. The same will be conveyed to the team.
Thanks & regards

For Ritz Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived late at night having travelled all day from dharamshala. Our driver nearly missed the hotel as it was pitch black, no lights advertising the place. The guy behind the counter at the time was a bit clueless, asked him for a map of amritsar and he replied that he didn't have one? How can an hotel not have a map of the town?

Room was pretty spacious, there were two well used sponges in the shower, which we hid under the sink and the cleaners kept putting them back in the shower.

First night there, there was some sort of party going on, wherever you went in the hotel you could hear the music but after calling to reception, the party stopped, luckily,

Food mediocre, although the staff were really friendly and attentive.

Hotel needs refurbishment, looks very tired and sad.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Von_Smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I have just enjoyed a weeks stay at the Ritz plaza. This hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Amritsar, so it has some character around it. I found the hotel to be an all round pleasant experience. The rooms have all the facilities you need. They are cleaned daily, and the beds are changed at your request. The restaurant has a good selection on it's menu, and the staff are polite. There is a small, but pleasant bar, and the prices are reasonable. The reception staff are very helpful and friendly as are all the staff in the hotel. Their is a swimming pool available, but it was out of season when I stayed. The hotel is situated in one of the best areas in Amritsar, on Mall road. This used to be the area the British used when they where in India, so it has history. Overall I would say I enjoyed staying here, and would stay again in the future.

Room Tip: My room was located on the third floor. There is a lift as well as stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013Paul1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed in this Hotel in October for seven days The hotel looks good from outside and due to its central location, thats all. The food is expensive. Gym was not functional.They charge you for the Wi Fi.Endeaveure is to make you buy mineral water from restaurant at exhorbirant price for a hotel of this standard. Breakfast spread ( complimentary ) is a formality with hardly few items,though the staff present tries to make up for the defficiency by being extra polite.The room was spacious but the central AC was making lot of noise.

Room Tip: prefer a room on third floor south side ( facing small swimming pool )
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beerwah, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here in January 2012 and was impressed with the hotel and service, unfortunately we can't say the same this time round. The room we had was in need of some TLC. The hand basin in bathroom did not look clean. The toilet had a leak onto the floor. Paint had been spilt onto the bath and not been wiped up so it had dried leaving big white marks on it. A/C worked well. Had to pay for WiFi access. The pool was green and closed so couldn't use it. The restaurant service was good however the table clothes were stained and dirty. It didn't encourage one to eat. Over all would recommend tourists to look else where.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunnag0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.1 mi away
The Fern Residency Amritsar
The Fern Residency Amritsar
#55 of 96 in Amritsar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel PR Residency
Hotel PR Residency
#17 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#4 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#5 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Narula's Aurrum
Hotel Narula's Aurrum
#23 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Alstonia
Comfort Inn Alstonia
#24 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz Plaza

Property: Hotel Ritz Plaza
Address: 45 Mall Road, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ritz Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ritz Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Plaza Amritsar
Ritz Plaza Hotel
Amritsar Ritz
Ritz Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing