We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ritz Hotel in Amritsar”
Review of Hotel Ritz Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ritz Plaza
Ranked #64 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ritz Hotel in Amritsar”
Reviewed 7 May 2010

Although we are not of the Sikh faith, going to Amritsar was something both the boyfriend and I were looking forward to.When we had guests visiting us who were also interested in going there, we thought
this would be the best opportunity to go. Having heard SO much about the Golden Temple, it was on our list of ’’10 places to see in North India’’. We were not disappointed. There is something so holy about this place - it just hits you in the face. The serenity and the sheer devotion of the people is just something you have to see. An added attraction is a visit to the Wagah Border. I’m telling you, the patriotism in you just rises. Brilliant show by both sides of the border and a complete adrenaline high!! Do go. You won’t be disappointed.

You will however be disappointed with the Ritz Plaza. We were told this was the best in Amritsar. Something tells me that was incorrect information. It looks great from the outside - the inside is not a pretty story.

First, they messed up our reservations. We had booked three double rooms, they offered us three twin rooms. When we protested, a very disinterested bellboy showed us to the double rooms.

The rooms and the general ambiance:
It felt like this hotel was built in 1970 and then the management just forgot to renovate! Not to mention the constant smell of sour milk in the corridors!! The decor of the rooms was very dark. From the upholstery on the couches and the matching bedcovers to the drapes, it looked like a bad 70’s flick.
The showers only gave hot water. If you wanted some cold water mixed in - nope. Not possible. Ask the angry red marks on my shoulders :-(

They have one all-purpose restaurant which doubles up as the coffee shop. And they have a Bar. I must admit that the food was good – although the service was appalling! We ordered 5 chicken burgers and 20 minutes after placing the order, a very sheepish waiter returned telling us to order something else as the burgers were over…(!!?!!) It took 30 minutes to get beer and they had the strangest rules for happy hours!
The buffet breakfast had very cold and congealed food. One of us wanted a cheese, tomato and onion omelette. The cook forgot to put in onions and tomatoes and when he was asked to change it, he just broke open the cheese omelette and added raw onions and tomatoes from the top as garnish! Nouvelle Cuisine wot? :-S

All in all, I don’t know if this is the best hotel in Amritsar…and if it is…name be damned – this definitely ‘aint the Ritz!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajraj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    89
    71
    42
    32
See reviews for
92
59
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Made a program to Amritsar via shatabdi with friends. We reached at 10 pm so we needed to find the hotel as we all were very tired. We had our supper in a dhaba. The dhaba owner told us about Hotel Ritz. We just went there. Our first impression was not so good as we had to wait so long in the Conference Hall for the keys. After that we slept. The beds were very comfortable and moreover I felt in love with the pillows. The bathrooms were also well kept. But on the other hand I feel that it is a bit expensive. I did not know whether they are having a swimming pool as we never had the time to experience it. The room service was also not good. The room service guy was not even in his uniform.

Thats my mixed opinion about Hotel Ritz.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikiniks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Its an Ideal place to stay in the heart of Amritsar at a reasonable tarriff...breakfast is complimentary. All the important markets like lawrence road, coper road and Sikh Religious place Golden Temple are close by.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shashifirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We reached Hotel Ritz Plaza early morning by the Golden Temple Mail from Delhi, and with trepidation reached the hotel lobby, since our booking was from 12 noon. But to our pleasant surprise, we were greeted with selcome drink and guided to our rooms, since we had requested for early check-in (in case we reached Amritsar early). The travel desk guided us to the places to be seen and we moved on to visit Golden Temple which is a few kms away from the hotel. After spending a good few hours at the Temple, we went to Jalianwala Bagh which is quite in the proximity. As guided by the Hotel's travel desk, we tried our luck to go to Wagah Border and witness the evening parade and succeeded!! It was a momentous experience to be standing on the border of the country without any fear and enjoying parades of the border forces of either of the countries. Having enjoyed to the hilt, we returned to the hotel exhausted and fell asleep soon after a sumptous meal. Next day was our return journey to Delhi and we spent the forenoon shopping / window shopping through the markets of Amritsar. Amritsar is the centre for sports good manufacturing as well as textiles.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chatru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jammu
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

itz Plaza has many firsts to its credit - being the first centrally air-conditioned hotel in Punjab. In its own history it has hosted a galaxy of who's who, including a visit by the Queen of England. The hotels refurbishment aimed at modernizing and adding comfort to a home steeped in history. Hotel Ritz Plaza is 2 kilometers from Amritsar Railway Station and 12 Kilometers from the International Airport. The most holy Sikh shrine, The Golden Temple is just 10 minutes drive from Hotel Ritz Plaza.Room The Hotel is 21 Kilometers from the Wagha Border checkpost with Pakistan. The hotel is a perfect base for these as well as for sojourns to the Himachal and Kashmir Hills

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hexloads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2010

An indian hotel room without a toilet shower!! The service in the restaurant needs lots of improvement! We ordered coffee with breakfast which ended up coming after the breakfast was over. The chooza makhni was very sweet. The service was awful. No waitress would come to attend for a pretty long time. We needed to call the attendant for water and side plates (which are normal routine for their job).

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bollymedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Went to the Wagah border post betwean India and Pakistan. Great fun !! Its about 30 Kms. Booked through the reception at the hotel. ost about 1000 rupees each.They run the tour every evening at dusk. Hundreds of people there. Singing, chanting etc. The golden temple is the main reason for visiting Amtitsar. We went on a Sunday and as you would expect it was packed. Got a TukTuk which was fun. Worth visiting the Food Hall where upto 30,000 people are fed every day for free.Just to see the process. Where they prepare the food and clean up all the plates is amazing. Worth going just to see that. The temple is quite small but beautiful surrounded by a moat within white ornate buildings. Just down the road within walking distance is the place where the British massacre took place.( Jallianwala Bagh) I thought it was just a memorial garden but it turned out to be much more than that. In fact we got quite a lot of hostile looks at the Golden Temple as well as if we weren't welcome there. It was the only place in India that I felt this and I was pleased to leave Amritsar.

  • Liked — Front Desk
  • Disliked — Business Service
  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KnphBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.1 mi away
The Fern Residency Amritsar
The Fern Residency Amritsar
#58 of 96 in Amritsar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel PR Residency
Hotel PR Residency
#17 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#4 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#5 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Narula's Aurrum
Hotel Narula's Aurrum
#24 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Alstonia
Comfort Inn Alstonia
#23 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz Plaza

Property: Hotel Ritz Plaza
Address: 45 Mall Road, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ritz Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ritz Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Plaza Amritsar
Ritz Plaza Hotel
Amritsar Ritz
Ritz Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing