We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place!!!”
Review of Ramada Amritsar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Amritsar
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome Place!!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Ramada Amritsar is so conveniently located near to the famous attractions of Amritsar - The Golden Temple and Jallianwala bagh. They are all a 5 min walk from the hotel. if you are a foodie then Bharawan da Dhaba is also very close by. For shopping spree, this place is apt. Food at this hotel is very tasty. It is indeed, value for money

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aug703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    416
    122
    40
    31
See reviews for
463
225
61
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This review is about the heartless attitude of the reception staff at Ramada Amritsar.

We were holidaying in Srinagar and took a one day trip to visit the Golden Temple on the 21st of July. When we arrived at the hotel my wife had fever and her temperature felt quite high. Since, we had left our bag containing medicines in Srinagar, I went to the Reception to request for a thermometer and crocin (paracetamol).

Shockingly this 4 star hotel did not have a thermometer or crocin; in fact they did not have a first aid kit at all. Instead, the reception staff told me to try the medical shops in the bazaar. I went out to buy the thermometer and crocin but due to a Bandh, all medical shops in the Hall Bazaar area were closed and after trying for around 15 minutes I returned back to the hotel.
I requested them to see if any hotel staff had a thermometer or if any hotel staff stayed nearby; could they arrange the thermometer and crocin from their residence. Finally one person at the reception gave Rs. 50 to member of the staff and told him to get the thermometer and crocin from a medical shop in another area.

The temperature reading showed above 103 degrees. I gave my wife crocin and kept cold compress on her forehead - two hours passed and there was no sign of the doctor. The reception staff did not send a vehicle to pickup the doctor-on-call for 2 hours. I again went down to the reception and requested the Doctor (Dr. P.S. Grover) to reach the hotel and the kind Doctor arrived within 20 minutes and examined my wife and wrote a prescription, saying that he will ask a hotel staff to collect the medicines from his hospital and have it delivered.

I accompanied Dr. P.S. Grover till the lobby. The kind Doctor spoke to two members at the hotel lobby who played dumb and did not show the slightest interest to accompany him nor try to arrange another staff person to go with him. I went with the Doctor in his car and he gave me the medicines from his pharmacy and I returned back to the hotel.

By next morning my wife's fever had subsided, and we did make the trip to the Golden Temple before leaving for the airport to catch our flight back to srinagar.

Room: We had booked our Room on Hotels.com during Ramada's anniversary celebration offer. To celebrate their anniversary, they gave us a room (no. 226) with the WORST possible view at the end of a corridor.

Breakfast Buffet: From the Buffet, I chose South Indian Idli and Uthappa; both of which were stone cold. They also had North Indian Potato Bhaji with Masala Puri in the buffet; but the Masala Puri Dish was empty. Since, the south Indian breakfast was uneatable... finally had croissants with Jam for breakfast.

Departure: We ordered a radio taxi for the airport. The reception staff failed to inform us that the taxi had arrived even after the driver had given them our Room number. This delayed us by nearly 20 minutes. There are 2/3 people at the reception and there seems to be a complete breakdown in communication among them.

Hotel Staff: The overall impression I got was that to cut corners, Ramada hotel employs freshers as Trainee staff who are incable of taking any decisions in emergency situations.

It is only in difficult situations, you realise the capability of people around you and Ramada Amritsar miserably failed to show the human side of their management.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mahesh_P_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The room was ideal for two guests. We felt a bit uncomfortable because we were three in the room. Service and food was good. Chicken tikka was wonderful. Overall our experience was good, and we wish to enjoy this facility again..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Manjeet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a very beautiful hotel. The service is so greathat that we felt exactly like home. I would like to especially thank Miss Navdeep Kaur who gave very excellent service to us during our stay at Ramada.
Very happy and satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We had a good experience at this hotel, stayed twice in July and August for 2 days each.

Excellent location, rickshaw at door step to take to golden temple or to market.

Sandeep at travel desk provided good guidance to cover nearby tourist cities and obviously arranged transport at short notice.

One can't expect any good view from this hotel, considering its location.

Food and service were top class.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The property is amazing and has all the basic amenities which one would like to have . The price of the in house food service is very economical . Golden temple is just 15 min walk away from the hotel . So if you have a car don't bother taking it out .

Now for the staff - When i was clearing my Final payment , the staff told me I have paid them a extra Rs 500 note which they have adjusted in my bill . I was so happy to see honest people like them

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connoisseurdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I don't know how we missed this Hotel in our previous trips to Amritsar..........its a very nice place to stay walking distance from Jallianwala Bagh and Bhrawan Da Dhaba which means it is a 5 min rickshaw ride away from the Golden Temple......try to get a corporate discount check agoda for deals......we got a Deluxe room for Rs. 3000/night (with breakfast)......the rooms are very clean the room service is good.......but then their restaurant is a bit pricey so rush to the nearby dhabas (Bhrawan, Kesar, Punjabi Dhaba) for lunch/dinner.
Overall a damn neat hotel in terms of price, facilities (they have a swimming pool also so the kids will enjoy) and location..........

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GurpreetMehdiratta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaurav1bartwal2, Front Office Manager at Ramada Amritsar, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to Amritsar.

We cannot thank you enough for taking time to update your experience on TripAdvisor. Your time and praise is overwhelming and precious to us.

We are delighted to read your fantastic review and sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our services.

Your positive observations regarding our hospitality is really inspirational for all of us.

At Ramada Amritsar, it is our endeavor to ensure that every guest leaves as an ambassador of our hotel. We are delighted to read that we have exceeded your expectations.

We thank you once again for your appreciative feedback and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you & Regards

Gaurav Bartwal
Front Office Manager
8288024505
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#9 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
6.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
1.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#7 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
0.4 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#19 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#4 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Amritsar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Amritsar

Property: Ramada Amritsar
Address: Hall Bazar, Amritsar 143006, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Amritsar 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Amritsar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing