We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under construction, but the garden's lovely”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #55 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Under construction, but the garden's lovely”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was the only place we stayed that we DIDN'T find on tripadvisor, and it's the only place we were disappointed in. Despite a top review in Rough Guide, Grand Hotel is currently under construction, which always makes even the most legit place feel dodgy, and our room was very spare (which would have been okay) and not very clean (which wasn't okay with me - questionable bed linens, dirty footprints in the bathroom). That said, the hotel offers a great package touring deal that includes the Indo-Pak border ceremony, a Hindu temple, and the Sikh Golden Temple, for 500 Rs per person - AND we loved the garden restaurant setting and thought the food was great. Final thought is that while the proximity to the train station means it's in a very busy part of the city with many people on the streets trying to get your business, the night at the hotel was quite quiet, and being able to walk to and from the train station is very convenient. Oh, and free wi-fi, which worked well in the main lobby. Oh, and plenty of hot water, which we were grateful for. I wish Grand Hotel well in the renovation process!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    112
    70
    40
    23
See reviews for
34
115
50
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights at the Grand Hotel. Our stay was extended when we made some changes in our travel plans and couldn't get the train we needed to Haridwar. Amritsar is not welcoming with the swarms of bicycle rickshaw drivers and others continually trying to get your business. It's not a clean city, one of the most run down I've been in India, however then there's the charm of the amazing, pristine, and spiritually vibrant Golden Temple. There are a few other gems to view such as the beautiful castle-like University, interesting Hindu Temples (such as the one that is shaped like a womb and is dedicated to the Hindu God Shiva), and the almost Ballywood atmosphere of the daily India-Parkinstan border crossing celebration. And, then there's the Grand Hotel that serves Kingfisher Beer in their little garden restaurant. We stayed in one of there best rooms off the Garden. The service was highly attentive and kind. The room was clean (by Indian Standards) and the manager was professional and helpful. The location is about 2 Km from the temple but transport is no problem. The bonus is if you need to catch a train you are in walking distance so very easy. We'd definitely stay again if we return to Amritsar.

Room Tip: The garden view double room seems to be their best. We were booked for a standard but they didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElephantDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The location is indeed convenient for early or late trains, close to the railway station.

They place itself obviously has seen better days, not so grand anymore. Our room was very spacious, but run down. Cleanliness ok. They charged 200Rps for the wireless although it had been advertised as free on the website.

Given the relatively high price, not the best value for your money. Chose it, if you just need a place close to the railway.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Although the room, and indeed the whole facility, was in need of some serious scrubbing, the restaurant food and draft beer were excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful; the owner very accomodating and knowledgeable. Location is very convenient. I would stay there again. During my visit, a lot of remodeling and painting was being done, which will brighten the place up.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are probably quieter, as heavy-footed patrons above my room sometimes disturbed my re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mornaiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Some of the best Indian tandoori food I have had after a long time. A place I would definitely visit again. Quick service. And of course the owner is a wonderful host... Just across from the railway station, a plus for those using the railways. And don't miss the draft beer... the best in the country... Looking forward to visiting again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationMussafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Very handy for the railway station, but that is about all. I was looking forward to my two days in Amritsar but the promise of a deluxe room was far from true. A basic room, grubby, biscuit crumbs on floor from previous tennant, no cleaning in bathroom with hairs from previous tennant there too. A general air of "anything will do... let's just get the maximum from the foreign tourists".
A depressing place to stay when visiting such a good place as the golden temple!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldandRambling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amritsar hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Udaipur, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This place was definitely the oasis described by other reviewers, away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of Amritsar. It's conveniently close to the railway station - literally just across the road - which is really convenient for an early morning get away. When we arrived they hadn't received our booking from the night before and didn't have any space, so helped us to find somewhere else. We ended up going back for the last night in Amritsar and were really glad we did - and wish we could have stayed there the whole time. We had a good night's sleep which is unusual in noisy Amritsar, and the staff were helpful. The food was really good too, nicer than some of the restaurants we had tried, and it's lovely to eat around the garden courtyard where you can also hang out during the day. It's probably a bit expensive compared to places we have stayed in other cities but accommodation in Amritsar generally seems quite expensive and I would definitely recommend shelling out the extra money just to have a nice place to get away from the traffic etc and have a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex_isWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sukhman International
Hotel Sukhman International
#39 of 97 in Amritsar
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Namaskar Residency
Hotel Namaskar Residency
#1 of 97 in Amritsar
466 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indus
Hotel Indus
#61 of 97 in Amritsar
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Hridey
Hotel Grand Hridey
#40 of 97 in Amritsar
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Basera
Hotel Basera
#52 of 97 in Amritsar
60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 97 in Amritsar
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Queen's Road | Opp. Railway Station, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing