We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sea of Calm in a City of Buzz”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel
Ranked #45 of 100 Hotels in Amritsar
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Just a few steps from the street into the lobby and lovely garden centerpiece of this hotel and you are transferred from the cacaphony of horns, the waves of heat and the interesting but energy draining bustle of this stereotypical large Indian city, to a very welcome and peaceful oasis. In addition to the calming atmosphere, the rooms were clean, nicely decorated, and very spacious; the manager of the hotel was very helpful; and the garden restaurant food was excellent. As a bonus, they also served beer, which was, I understand, unavailable within areas of the city nearer The Golden Temple. We were very sorry we had only time to spend one night here, and would definitely book here again if we are back in Amritsar. Very highly recommended for a budget hotel, great value for your money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bev Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

Ideally located for those travelling in / out of Amritsar by train, being almost directly opposite the railway station, this hotel is pleasant and a similar standard to other similarly priced places we stayed in India. The rooms are set around a nice internal garden area where you can take in breakfast with a friendly hotel cat. We stayed for 3 nights in December 2012.

Our double room itself was simple in decor, a bit grubby and could've used a lick of paint, but really there was nothing wrong with it. The room came with cable tv and decent WiFi connection. Our en suite standard was par for the course for this level of hotel.

Staff were friendly and welcoming and gave us good advice (eg pricing) to stop us being too badly ripped off by rickshaw drivers. They did argue with us a bit when we queried the bill re internet charges, so I've marked them down for that.

I don't remember there being too many desireable places to eat around the station, but thankfully the hotel has a good quality restaurant / bar attached to it. We ate one lunch and one dinner here and food was good. The taxes and service charge are not included in the menu price so beware of this lest you should get a surprise when the bill arrives.

You'll likely need to take a rickshaw to the Golden Temple area (50 rupees) to visit it or get a shared taxi from there for the border ceremony at Atari, but there are dozens outside the hotel thanks to its proximity to the station. Ask the hotel staff what the going rate to your destination should be.

There are internet enabled computers in the lobby but you're probably best off avoiding them. We tried using them but they were so slow and didn't work that we gave up after 5mins and the hotel still charged us for using them.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aldolara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Just across the road from the train station, this hotel is well-located for travel and only a 50 rupee rickshaw ride from the Golden Temple. It's centred around a pretty courtyard (home to a friendly cat) that's nice to have breakfast in, and the complex also includes a bar/restaurant and a cafe.

The rooms are ok, but the bathroom was occupied by strange-looking flying insects and in need of renovation. The bedroom was fine but could have done with cleaner sheets, while the air con unit dripped water everywhere when it was switched on. The internet worked well.

Food in the restaurant was pretty good, although watch out for the extortionate taxes that will be added to your bill.

Don't bother with the excursions organised by the hotel - we did it much cheaper by organising ourselves.

All in all, an ok, well-located place that could do with a lick of paint to match its prices.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neesh_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We took the quick walk from the station to the hotel and although baffled by the difference between the superior and standard rooms (we could see little) took a standard room which was reasonably priced. The hotel asked if we wanted to undertake the tour they offered but we decided to do this alone and save our rupees. It seemed reasonably priced if you don't want the hassle of organising your own transport. We visited the Golden temple and the Wagah border on the same day and found it very straight forward (get shared taxis from the temple to Wagah for 120 rupees).

Our room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom could have smelt better but it was fine. When we returned it was a touch damp in the room but for the price we had paid it wasn't an issue.

We did feel mildy aggrieved that the food and drink in the attached restaurant/bar was all exclusive of tax. Somewhere around 15 and 18 per cent were added respectively so be warned if you are going in there, the prices don't include tax. We have no problem paying tax but this was by far the most we had ever seen added to a bill during our trip to India. Frustratingly there was a service tax and then a tax referred to as SC which we presumed was service charge but we couldnt clarify if it was going to the staff or now. We would recommend the menus are changed to be inclusive of tax, we'd have probably left a 4 star review if they had.

The breakfast was fine and negotiated into the cost of our room which made it cheaper than paying for it separately. It was so close to the train station that it couldn't really get any more convenient for us. Staff were friendly at the front desk and overall this offers good value and we'd stay again.

Room Tip: we didnt think the superior rooms offered much more than standard ones so save yourself a few rupees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesB878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I was with my family and friends on a 2 days visit to Amritsar in April 2013. Because of the Location and Property we checked-in. However, we soon realised that we made wrong choice. Rooms are not kept well, service is not good. Management has got habit of saying "X" and give "Y" to you. and then say sorry.

Not Recommended....

Room Tip: Lot of options available near Golden Temple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GauravGarg81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and it was the best choice. It is very close to the train station, the rooms are nice and clean and the garden it is a nice and peacefull place to relax. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakaoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

A perfect location, just opposite the central railway station, and yet not too noisy, with a nice inside garden for breakfast or dinner. Very large rooms, and a decent comfort, including hot water. Restaurant OK.
QUITE A GOOD value

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Gournay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel City Castle
Hotel City Castle
#25 of 100 in Amritsar
137 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Teg Royal
Hotel Teg Royal
#43 of 100 in Amritsar
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sukhman International
Hotel Sukhman International
#35 of 100 in Amritsar
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Axis Inn
Hotel Axis Inn
#47 of 100 in Amritsar
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Queensland
Hotel Queensland
#72 of 100 in Amritsar
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Basera
Hotel Basera
#52 of 100 in Amritsar
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Queen's Road | Opp. Railway Station, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 100 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range: £11 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing