We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bottoms Up Pub: nice place, bad service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel
Ranked #50 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Brussels
Level Contributor
202 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Bottoms Up Pub: nice place, bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Bottoms Up Pub, part of the Grand Hotel, is an attractive cool place with sensuous but actually quite good wall paintings. An ideal spot for a quiet beer. The food ranges from ok to rather good: we had a very plain chicken coriander soup, rather good Thai chicken, good fish masala and very good dal. All in all a filling meal, beers included, for 500 rupees each. No credit cards unfortunately. The main disadvantage is the uninterested, lazy, unfriendly and incompetent service. No, I’m not exaggerating. The staf couldn’t care less, they were unable to inform us correctly, they reacted slowly slowly and smiles were obviously not included in the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ClemRobyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    111
    69
    40
    23
See reviews for
32
114
50
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

I found the hotel thru TripAdvisor, and no dissapointment. The booking was easy - just a phone call the day before.

The rooms are absolutely clean and quite good for the Indian standard. Maybe some very-picky westerner could say something about old-fashioned forniture, plumbing and , but for most it will workout perfectly. There are A/C and fans in every room.

Wi-Fi coverage in common areas included. And if you like to take a drinks after sunset, they have the only bar I've seen in Amritsar, mostly used by local young guys. They close at 23h, though, as everything else in that city.

It just opposite to the railway station so it's perfect if you are coming by train. If you are coming from airport the access is also quite good (airport to the north & the hotel is in the northern of the city).

If you want to go to Wagah Border (probably), I found their trip a little bit expensive (500+ Rs per pax) so looked for a cheaper (and less comfy, to be honest) deal in downtown. That would be the only "but" of the hotel, which I found neat and all other aspects.

Room Tip: All the rooms I've seen have both door and windows looking the the central courtyard, which is q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alexcarreras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharmapuri, India
Level Contributor
139 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

me with my spouse and kid recently stayed in this hotel the hotel inside atmosphere is good and the room also good just walkable distance to railway station the bathroom needs to be maintain and not clean the pub is serving kingfisher light and strong beer food is little bit cozy

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DharmapuriAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

This is my first trip to Amritsar, after one and a half hours straight drive from Jalandhar we reached to our destination around 5PM at the evening, a little drizzle in end of December creates a chilly weather along with wind bite.

We enter this hotel at the evening time, situated just opposite of Amritsar railway station, it is a very old famous hotel but renovations are on the way in full swing, I would say this is a historic hotel and really its feel awesome to me & my family, my daughter enjoyed a lot. She found swing, garden & long starch balcony & she can hover around.

Few things to cover-up, about this hotel require uplift of the room service level, first floors rooms and bathrooms are well furnished, but ground floor rooms & bathrooms badly requires renovation, & its stinks, feeling it has been closed for a long time.

Entrance in front of the reception area is very clumsy, not well decorated, there are internet enabled computers in the lobby but you're probably best off avoiding them. We tried using them but didn't work that we gave up after 5mins and the hotel still charged us for using them.

From: Sudarshan Bhowmick

Room Tip: Chose 1st Floor Rooms are newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SudarshanBhowmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amritsar hotels

Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Just a few steps from the street into the lobby and lovely garden centerpiece of this hotel and you are transferred from the cacaphony of horns, the waves of heat and the interesting but energy draining bustle of this stereotypical large Indian city, to a very welcome and peaceful oasis. In addition to the calming atmosphere, the rooms were clean, nicely decorated, and very spacious; the manager of the hotel was very helpful; and the garden restaurant food was excellent. As a bonus, they also served beer, which was, I understand, unavailable within areas of the city nearer The Golden Temple. We were very sorry we had only time to spend one night here, and would definitely book here again if we are back in Amritsar. Very highly recommended for a budget hotel, great value for your money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bev Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

Ideally located for those travelling in / out of Amritsar by train, being almost directly opposite the railway station, this hotel is pleasant and a similar standard to other similarly priced places we stayed in India. The rooms are set around a nice internal garden area where you can take in breakfast with a friendly hotel cat. We stayed for 3 nights in December 2012.

Our double room itself was simple in decor, a bit grubby and could've used a lick of paint, but really there was nothing wrong with it. The room came with cable tv and decent WiFi connection. Our en suite standard was par for the course for this level of hotel.

Staff were friendly and welcoming and gave us good advice (eg pricing) to stop us being too badly ripped off by rickshaw drivers. They did argue with us a bit when we queried the bill re internet charges, so I've marked them down for that.

I don't remember there being too many desireable places to eat around the station, but thankfully the hotel has a good quality restaurant / bar attached to it. We ate one lunch and one dinner here and food was good. The taxes and service charge are not included in the menu price so beware of this lest you should get a surprise when the bill arrives.

You'll likely need to take a rickshaw to the Golden Temple area (50 rupees) to visit it or get a shared taxi from there for the border ceremony at Atari, but there are dozens outside the hotel thanks to its proximity to the station. Ask the hotel staff what the going rate to your destination should be.

There are internet enabled computers in the lobby but you're probably best off avoiding them. We tried using them but they were so slow and didn't work that we gave up after 5mins and the hotel still charged us for using them.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldolara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Just across the road from the train station, this hotel is well-located for travel and only a 50 rupee rickshaw ride from the Golden Temple. It's centred around a pretty courtyard (home to a friendly cat) that's nice to have breakfast in, and the complex also includes a bar/restaurant and a cafe.

The rooms are ok, but the bathroom was occupied by strange-looking flying insects and in need of renovation. The bedroom was fine but could have done with cleaner sheets, while the air con unit dripped water everywhere when it was switched on. The internet worked well.

Food in the restaurant was pretty good, although watch out for the extortionate taxes that will be added to your bill.

Don't bother with the excursions organised by the hotel - we did it much cheaper by organising ourselves.

All in all, an ok, well-located place that could do with a lick of paint to match its prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neesh_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Axis Inn
Hotel Axis Inn
#45 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Premier
Hotel Premier
#32 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Basera
Hotel Basera
#47 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel City Castle
Hotel City Castle
#27 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#4 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puri Palace
Hotel Puri Palace
#16 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Queen's Road | Opp. Railway Station, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing