We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful respite!”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel
Ranked #45 of 100 Hotels in Amritsar
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Great location. Nice, large clean room with hot water, Aircon and TV. Fast wifi.
Lovely and peaceful, somehow managed to be quiet even when full.
Staff helpful and good food.
Not sure where the fault was but we booked a taxi for 03:30 to catch a flight and it was 25mins late-leave plenty of time!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank nixpix26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have had 3 great days here. Ok its not Grand but nor is the price. Ideal for the station, bed comfortable, plumbing that works. Not a sign of a mosquito (shutters have netting), bedbug or any other fauna bar the 2 cats playing in the garden and a friendly lizard on the ceiling. We are beginning to get a whiff of disinformation from some earlier posts that may be plain malicious and not posted by true guests. Seems an unlikely spot to take VIP's,unless you are a complete cheapskate & they are neither V or I P's. We have had 3 dinners and 2 lunches, all of which delicious and plentiful and gave us no problems.

The temples and border trip was great fun, not a guided tour, as others have said, but efficient transport to the Mata Temple, crazy place, well worth a visit, the rather bizarre border closing ceremony (worth it for the people watching alone) and the Golden Temple at night (stunning). Don't know how much a reliable taxi would have cost.

Would recommend rooms on upper floor for the trough draft and they are currently being repainted, not before time we agree, our room was neither overly clean in the corners nor was its decoration in its first youth. Nevertheless we found the staff friendly and helpful,including the manager, recommended for all those on a budget.

PS, Hotel sign is visible from outside the railway station but taking the bridge over the road is definitely the safest way to cross even if its a little further.

Room Tip: Would recommend rooms on upper floor for the trough draft and they are currently being repainted, aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlynneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel is situated close to railway station, just 2 min. walk. The rooms are good with A.C., Fridge, and T.V. However bathrooms are not well equipped. Very convenient to get public trans port to Golden Temple, Jalianwala Bag, etc. Hotel has a garden restaurant serving Indian Chinese and Continental dishes. Food is good but charges higher compared to similar other restaurants in city. Room service as well as service in restaurant is very poor. Overall a good place for a good night's sleep with conveniences and the tarrif is just Rs. 1500/ per night.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are nice to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rakhadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

First off, this hotel has a great location. If you bear right when you leave the train station, you can see its sign. Cross the street (carefully) and you're there.

It doesn't quite live up to the title of "grand." It's a bit run down at the edges and could use some TLC, but my ground-level room was clean and neat. Everything worked fine and, unlike another guest I spoke to, I had no problem with mosquitos.

The hotel has a pleasant open-air courtyard full of cats. That's where you'll find the small restaurant. The food is good and fairly priced. There's also a bar, apparently the first bar ever to open in the city. I didn't use it preferring to have beer with dinner in the courtyard.

The hotel runs tours ever day. You just sign up at the desk. I went for the "Mata Temple/Waggah border/Golden Temple at night" for Rs. 590. It's not really a guided tour. The driver takes a small group of you around to the sights in a comfortable air-conditioned van, drops you off, then tells you when to return.

All in all, I had a great stay and would stay there again if I return to Amritsar.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank budra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

visited with friends and were welcomed with friendly staff who helped us in organizing tour to the border, mata temple and golden temple at a reasonable price of Rs 590 per person. Rooms are clean and overlook a nice garden. Nice sit out is available where one can relax in peaceful surroundings. Wifi is available for free. Being 2 minutes from the railway station travelling was easy. we found this hotel in our guide book and we were happy with the location, friendly and helpful staff . All in all, will recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: stay on the 1st floor as deluxe rooms are big and spacious and newly done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meetu225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

MY 2nd time in grand. staff helpfull and friendly. good food. courtyard garden was nice to enjoy a beer. room was clean and overall wonderful experience. the hotel sightseeing trip was well organised and good value. the best thing about this hotel is that its close to train station. Very convenient for people traveling by train.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rohit60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here having read the review in the Lonely Planet. Overall, this was a poor experience. The rooms are now very tired with paint peeling off the walls, toilet seat was loose, and the bed linen was not clean. The manager seems to be living off previous reputations and is not maintaining, nor improving standards. My only advise would be to avoid this and try somewhere else.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel City Castle
Hotel City Castle
#25 of 100 in Amritsar
137 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Teg Royal
Hotel Teg Royal
#43 of 100 in Amritsar
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sun City Towers
Hotel Sun City Towers
#63 of 100 in Amritsar
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sukhman International
Hotel Sukhman International
#35 of 100 in Amritsar
95 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Axis Inn
Hotel Axis Inn
#47 of 100 in Amritsar
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Queensland
Hotel Queensland
#72 of 100 in Amritsar
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Queen's Road | Opp. Railway Station, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 100 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range: £11 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing