We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel”
Review of Ranjit's SVAASA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ranjit's SVAASA
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel in October 2013 as part of a VJV escorted tour of northern India. It was very quirky and remined us all of the film "the best exotic Marigold hotel" It has lots of charm and the staff were very friendly. It is only a short trip to the Golden Temple.
Every bedroom was unique built over many floors with lots of outside sitting areas. It is difficult to find but well worth it. Bedrooms were clean, public ares interesting. We ate at the hotel and the meals were OK.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_happyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

A rarity from well seasoned travellers to India (over 30 years). The service, food and ambience were faultless, from the personal tour of the haveli, the late night chai in our room to the impromptu tuk-tuk tour for textiles. Five star and a definite stop for all foodies of regional cuisine.

Room Tip: Go for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were so pleasantly surprised to see this delightful haveli tucked away from the hustle and bustle and yet in the heart of the city. Beautifully maintained. The service staff need to be trained, they Re very disorganised and the food is very over priced.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mgulvady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Ranjit's Svaasa is so much more than a heritage hotel! You are welcomed into a heritage home by the household. Nothing is too much trouble. The actual building is a delight - so many places to sit in, terraces, gardens, cool lounges - and the bedrooms are very spacious and very comfortable.
Such a welcome change from a big hotel chain - which are now so similar you could be anywhere in the world.
We loved this hotel and felt we were at home in an Indian house, with very kind friends.
If you have seen the film about the 'Exotic Hotel Marigold' - the Hotel Ranjit's Svaasa has the feeling of joy that emerged to charm the residents at the end of the film. This is an experience you will remember - and you will smile

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife and I travelled from UK and stayed here for three nights on a "rustic package" to enjoy true Punjabi cuisine, to visit the sites of Amritsar and to experience the village life. Our visit to the Golden Temple and the Wagah Border will be very memorable for us. We were very fortunate to be there during Janamahtimi and we joined in with tne family celebrations in the haveli. We were very well looked after by everyone. Everything was carefully organised for us. We also used the spa at the haveli where the treatments offered are very good. We would like to return for another holiday and would like to venture further afield to Dalhousie and Dharamsala but use the Ranjit's Savassa as our base as we felt very comfortable there and safe.

A big thank you to everyone at Ranjit's Savassa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have been recommending Svaasa to lot of our own hotel guests, friends & family since past 2 years naturally (positive vibe from the hotel website, I guess!!) and this August, we finally made it here. We stayed in Amravati Suite, located on the ground floor for a night (part of my surprise present for my wife's birthday!)

This is a lovely mansion with interesting layout, lot of history attached to it and most importantly, the mansions positive character, tucked away from Mall Road's hustle-bustle. We enjoyed gazing at antiques in the hotel, viewing the mansions original blue-print/sketch, family portraits and pictures that are beautifully poke-marked on the central/main hallway of the mansion.

Rooms are generously sized, featuring wooden rafters, high ceilings, dramatic curtains, powder room & pedestal bathtubs in the bathroom (where does one get to experience all this these features in hotel rooms!!), comfortable beds, great breakfast, all modern amenities and awesome dinner featuring local favourites, as recommended by Mr. Abhimanyu Mehra.

Spa is their Star attraction that should not be missed.

Golden Temple is a 10 mins. leisurely drive from here!

In short, Old world charm, great ambiance, clean & lovely rooms (no two rooms are alike!) & excellent service & fond farewell by Mr. Mehra & Team. Mr. Abhimanyu Mehra is a recipient of the prestigious Les Roches Hotel School located in Bluche, Switzerland & his passion and drive for hospitality excellence can be felt all over the mansion.

We would not stay anywhere else when we return to this town again! We highly recommend Ranjit's Svassa to all our friends & family.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but ground floor rooms are better (since we stayed there!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AzizShafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed at welcome ranjit with my family and enjoyed every big of it.
1. It's old world charm is truly fantastic. The common areas are beautifully done. Abhimanyu, our host happily showed us around sharing interesting bits abt his family n the numerous pics on walls.
2. The staff was very willing to buy skimmed milk for my little one even very late in the evening. We just asked the nearby shop and they offered to buy it themselves.
3. They upgraded our room to a beautiful suite called Amravati.
4. They were very flexible abt our check out time. We reached the hotel in the evening and in most hotels by around 12.30 you are expected to check out of pay for the next day. However our gracious hosts didn't ring this up even once and we left around 4.30pm.
5. The pomegranate and lemon trees in the small garden outside our room were amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suruchidheeraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#6 of 100 in Amritsar
1,742 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Taj Swarna Amritsar
Taj Swarna Amritsar
#2 of 100 in Amritsar
199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#9 of 100 in Amritsar
1,116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#5 of 100 in Amritsar
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranjit's SVAASA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranjit's SVAASA

Address: 47-A, The Mall, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amritsar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amritsar
#7 Business Hotel in Amritsar
Price Range: £64 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranjit's SVAASA 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranjit's SVAASA is a creation out of a luxurious refurbishment of the 200 year old British Colonial Haveli, now plush with its characteristic boutique rooms and suites, fully equipped with modern amenities. The property also houses an award winning Spa in its restructured horse stables and cow sheds. The open courtyard plush with landscaped greenery and the rooftop organic vegetation all adorn the small yet beautiful manor. In the heart of the City, Ranjit's SVAASA is a peaceful haven to relax and cherish your holiday with authentic home cooked Punjabi food, with continental options. Enjoy meeting and interacting with the Mehra's, the Royal family descendants who personally manage and run this place making it a rich home away from home experience. Enjoy playing with the family dog or listening to the chirping birds or seeing the green parrots flying around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ranjit's SVAASA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Heritage Ranjit`s Svaasa Hotel Amritsar
Welcome Heritage Ranjits Svaasa Amritsar
Welcome Heritage Ranjits Svaasa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing