We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky”
Review of Ranjit's SVAASA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranjit's SVAASA
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a group tour. All the rooms are individual and full of character. Or room - more of a suite- was enormous and clean. My only quibble was the electrics - some of the sockets were so worn that the plugs fell out of them! The staff were very friendly but obviously overworked especially in the kitchen, It took over an hour from ordering to be served a bowl of soup. The dining room was incredibly dark so it was difficult to see what you were eating from the buffet

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

Here is how to do Amritsar - first, check in at Ranjit's Svassa, sip the warm aromatic tea laced with cinnamon, as your luggage is taken to our room. Soak in the atmosphere of a bygone era, faithfully restored. The rooms add to the atmosphere- comfortable, well appointed with period furniture. The Golden Temple is just 10-15 minutes by pedal rickshaws (Rs.50 - 100). Lawrence road and the puri-chole dhabha are just a brisk walk away!

Pay homage at the Golden Temple - to a faith and devotion of a rustic hard-working people. Make sure you take the Nishan Sahib entrance - it is less crowded and on the way back, stop at the famous Jalebi wala. Plan your meal at Brahwan da Dabha. Meal 1 - Kulcha, chole. Meal two, roti and dal. Meal three sarson saag and makki rothi. Shop around the corner at Katra Jaimal Singh. Ask your way to Kesar Dabha - on the way you would pass thru almost all the shopping Amritsar has to offer.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. If it is Amritsar it is got to be Ranjits Svassa.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

When we arrived we were shown to quite a dark room and as a group we were quite uncertain about what the hotel would be like. However, it was a lovely place to stay with quirky but charming bedrooms. We had a large room up the top of the building with a sun terrace outside. The staff were lovely and really put themselves out to help. The food was good - plenty of it and lunch outside was particularly good. The photographs and artefacts in the hotel are fascinating - I spent quite a bit of time looking at them. I would really recommend this hotel to give you an alternative experience of India.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have a lovely sun terrace but don't choose one if you can't manage the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burghheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

When as you enter the front door of this old havila in Amaritsa, and you see a prominent sign which says they reserve the right not to give admission, you know you are in for something different. You will be lead up to your suite to find a spacious bedroom with separate living area and bathroom. All good, but ancient, and not always functional; e.g the solar heated hot water is at best just warm in the morning.
We dined there and while satisfactory will not leave any lasting memories of an enjoyable meal.
The Svaasa is very focussed on a healthy life style, and various massage treatments are a feature. My wife and I each had a full body massage and she had a leg massage as well which she thoroughly enjoyed. I found the body massage quite different with fast long hand sweeps, but quite refreshing.
This is an inexpensive hotel which is very different from your normal international hotel and will appeal to people looking for that Indian difference. I would prefer a little more modernity and more professional service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Lovely quiet place. Close to the Golden Temple and gate-man will get a fixed price for cycle rickshaw or a Tuk Tuk. We both had a massage in the Spa on our last day (good). On our first night food was served at a time to allow us to see the key parts of the daily ritual at the temple.
Staff very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylorsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel in October 2013 as part of a VJV escorted tour of northern India. It was very quirky and remined us all of the film "the best exotic Marigold hotel" It has lots of charm and the staff were very friendly. It is only a short trip to the Golden Temple.
Every bedroom was unique built over many floors with lots of outside sitting areas. It is difficult to find but well worth it. Bedrooms were clean, public ares interesting. We ate at the hotel and the meals were OK.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_happyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A rarity from well seasoned travellers to India (over 30 years). The service, food and ambience were faultless, from the personal tour of the haveli, the late night chai in our room to the impromptu tuk-tuk tour for textiles. Five star and a definite stop for all foodies of regional cuisine.

Room Tip: Go for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#6 of 100 in Amritsar
1,779 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Taj Swarna Amritsar
Taj Swarna Amritsar
#3 of 100 in Amritsar
211 reviews
1 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#10 of 100 in Amritsar
1,133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#4 of 100 in Amritsar
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranjit's SVAASA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranjit's SVAASA

Address: 47-A, The Mall, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amritsar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amritsar
#7 Business Hotel in Amritsar
Price Range: £62 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranjit's SVAASA 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranjit's SVAASA is a creation out of a luxurious refurbishment of the 200 year old British Colonial Haveli, now plush with its characteristic boutique rooms and suites, fully equipped with modern amenities. The property also houses an award winning Spa in its restructured horse stables and cow sheds. The open courtyard plush with landscaped greenery and the rooftop organic vegetation all adorn the small yet beautiful manor. In the heart of the City, Ranjit's SVAASA is a peaceful haven to relax and cherish your holiday with authentic home cooked Punjabi food, with continental options. Enjoy meeting and interacting with the Mehra's, the Royal family descendants who personally manage and run this place making it a rich home away from home experience. Enjoy playing with the family dog or listening to the chirping birds or seeing the green parrots flying around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ranjit's SVAASA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Heritage Ranjit`s Svaasa Hotel Amritsar
Welcome Heritage Ranjits Svaasa Amritsar
Welcome Heritage Ranjits Svaasa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing