We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and clean!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel CJ International
Ranked #67 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Many hotels say they are "opposite" the Golden Temple, with GT views, and I did not believe CJ but they were true to their word. we had three people and got a suite for two nights for around 3000rps and from our make-shift balcony we could see the golden temple and hear the music. Wonderful restaurant downstairs and very helpful staff that organized trips and taxis for us at cheap price. NOT for the very tight budget traveler, but still nice and rooms are VERY clean.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Independentraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for Hotel CJ International
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

This hotel is warm and cozy as well as great value for money!! The rooms are spacious and clean. The food offered at this hotel is simply amazing. This hotel is the best place to be in especially during diwali celebrations. My family and I were at the rooftop of this hotel to experience a wonderful array of fireworks from the heavenly golden temple on diwali nite. It was truly a breathtaking experience. So don't you ever miss this golden opportunity;)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capri_kiran83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This was our second visit to this hotel . Our favourite restaurant the new punjabi rasol can be found on the busy golden temple road a 5 minutes walk. The hotel is situated in a quiet spot.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snifferkuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The Hotel is very near to the Golden temple. The room and Bathroom was very neat and clean. The staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for Temple view room
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank august84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

The Hotel is bit old. The Rooms are not maintained properly.
The allowed booking of a room with extra bed; but to our surprise there was no space for an extra bed in the room. Furniture had to be moved outside to accommodate one extra mattress.
Photographs of the rooms on website are misleading.
Forget internet, thats not working most of the time.
The only advantage this hotel has is that its in vicinity of Golden Temple. We regret booking this hotel for family trip. At that rate, we could have got better rooms in nearby areas.

Fo

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pankaj-Kapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The hotel is well appointed, about 5 minutes walk from the Golden Temple, and the staff are friendly. However the hotel is very scruffy and bears no resemblance to the web site photos which appear to be computer generated/enhanced. The room we stayed in was very tired and tatty. There was piles of cement bags on the staircase landing... there was even two pieces of concrete in the breakfast one morning!

I doubt that the 'restaurant' food is actually cooked on the premises as it often arrived at the table wrapped in tin foil.

When we checked out every single member of staff hovered over us as we paid (looking for tips of course), which was somewhat un-necessary as we had already leaft a tip in the room.

Overall the hotel is 'hostel' standard.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clivedubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

I have never written a bad review of any place on trip advisor before, but my experience with this place was so very bad, I feel it is my duty to warn other travellers.

If you are going to Amritsar, most likely you want to see the Golden Temple. This hotel is in an excellent location as the Golden Temple is a three minute walk from the hotel front door. The rooms are plain, comfy and not expensive. HOWEVER:

1) The hotel is dirty, and is actually surrounded in the front by a broken tip and an uncovered sewage pit. The smell is too bad to actually describe... The Golden Temple is the holiest of places for Sikh's, and you must clean your feet, refrain from smoking or drinking alcohol at the hotel because of its proximity to the temple...however open sewers and piles of rancid trash are not frowned upon...

After a full day our group was desperate to eat and go to bed. We went into the hotel's restaurant. My friend noticed something stuck between the tongs of his fork. We aren't a fussy lot, so he dipped his napkin in his coca cola and wedged it between the tongs to clean the assumed food particle off. What came off on his napkin closely resembled congealed black motor oil. In turn we all discovered that all of our forks had this. We foolishly used the spoons and ate the not so nice food anyway. Myself and my friend were both hospitalised for amoebic dysentery two days later. BE WARNED!!! My friend Ed had bites from bedbugs. This is the worst nightmare of a hotel I have ever stayed at. The shower was so rusted over that I would not be surprised if some guests catch legionaire's disease after staying at this dump.

Next issue: the staff at the hotel were completely unhelpful and uninterested in assisting us in calling taxis, confirming waitlisted train seats etc. Which is exceptional, because all of the other places we stayed at in Delhi we found the people to be friendly and willing to assist.

I would NEVER recommend anyone stay at this hotel.

Our taxi driver mistakenly tried to drop us off at a hostel that was about 1.5 miles from the Golden Temple. The hostel looked really nice, and in hindsight, I would have stayed there...

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kimmoo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammythegreat, Manager at Hotel CJ International, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

This Female who has never travelled to our Hotel has written a beautiful essay review for us & so been approved By tripadvisor team.
She say she never written a bad review for anyone : the first review is bad for us...
Secondly this is Hotel & not Motor Garage where you will find oil in the restaurant.
She is member since 2007 & had written only review for us & one more property else she has not visited any part of India.
She clearly mentions that People were very helpful in Delhi where they stayed but no Review for any property In Delhi.

She do not have any voucher receipt of the Hotel where she can show she has ever stayed in hotel..
This is totally created review to spoil the Hotel's reputation by one of our nearby fellow hotelier & we know who writes these type of essay writing reviews...

Do not trust these fake people... who creates wrong email ID's & post the review that nearby hotels could get better attention...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.1 mi away
Abode UNA Xpress
Abode UNA Xpress
#26 of 98 in Amritsar
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indus
Hotel Indus
#60 of 98 in Amritsar
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#18 of 98 in Amritsar
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Darbar View
Hotel Darbar View
#53 of 98 in Amritsar
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 98 in Amritsar
811 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
#70 of 98 in Amritsar
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel CJ International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel CJ International

Address: | Opp. Langar Hall Biulding, Near Golden Temple, Amritsar 143006, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range: £22 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel CJ International 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is closest to the world’s famous Sikh Shrine beautiful GOLDEN TEMPLE in the city of Amritsar named Hotel CJ International providing international standards, maintaining hygiene & cleanliness. We at Amritsar bring the tourist an opportunity to stay & experience the beautiful journey of Golden Temple a come true visit by just staying opposite to the Shrine overlooking with its view from rooms itself. The beautifully designed hotel is a perfect blend of luxury, comfort, elegance & utility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel CJ International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing