We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small clean hotel. Central. Convinenant. Food mediocre but otherwise excellent.”
Review of Hotel City Heart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel City Heart
Ranked #24 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2009

This is a small family run type hotel in the center of Amritsar. They kept to their word regarding booking (which was done by email without credit card). Helped when we need to change pound to rupees (and gave a decent rate). Basically pretty good.
The best part of thing was the flexibility with which you could visit the Golden temple a couple of minutes by walk.

The only downsides were some of the rooms were a little dark decor wise and the food was slow and not upto Amritsar standards.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drpete7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2009

This Hotel was in the perfect location to visit any part of Amritsar. I stayed in Hotel City Heart once a week for 4 months. This hotel has the best service I have received at any hotel which I have stayed at in all of India. The service was Phenomenal, great staff, polite and up to date as to my needs. The staff was so courteous that they would help me with all my travels throughout, booking tickets for trains, taxis and flights. They were able to help me find the best deals to travel as well as serve my needs as best as possible in Amritsar. The hotel is so clean, and kept clean all throughout the day and night. I would walk into the Hotel at all odd hours of the night and day and would always have a staff greet me as well as see someone cleaning up. My room was always clean and beautifully decorated. The decoration is of a Luxury hotel from USA, as well as a very cozy feeling. This hotel has amazing Plasma Televisions and the most comfortable beds. For a traveler the SLEEP is the most valued, and the Beds and bedding made it so amazing to sleep in. This hotel always has hot water, even at 4am!! The bathrooms are decorated with the most adorable Towel elephants welcoming me to India! :) The bathrooms were also always fully stocked with clean towels and toilet paper!
The Lobby is a perfect place to sit and relax from a long day, or enjoy a meal in the cafe on the second floor. Again the staff and cleanliness is just immaculate!
In the Busy streets of Amritsar, many cars are not allowed to pass through, although any car who states they are staying at Hotel City Heart is allowed through. The most amazing benefit of staying at Hotel City Heart is that they have a good reputation with all the locals in the area and a very well known hotel. You can ask any Rickshaw driver, Taxi or commuter service to take you to "Hotel City Heart" and they know exactly where it is and drop you off. The Hotel is also situated in a very safe area, with great security. My valuables were very safe, and everything was intact when I would arrive back!
I would def recommend this hotel to others!!
PS: Great Price as well... for all the accommodations...the price is very very very good!

Overall my stay at Hotel City Heart was AMAZING!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuripagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

Hotel City Heart is an ideal place to stay if your in amritsar. This place is clean and tidy and is walking distance to the jallianwala baug and the Golden Temple. Id recommend this place to anyone going to amritsar. Overall very good service and very good location. Dont miss the food at the hotels cafe.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GautamPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

we stayed at hotel city heart for 1 night on our honeymoon ,found hotel room clean and comfy ,the staff where all very pleasant, except for 1 of them !!!!One of the female staff (the only female staff member i think )tried to charge us 1600 rupees for the trip to the airport(we had relatives staying there a few days before who paid 550 rupees so we had a pretty good idea of the price)when we started to query the price ,she started to drop the price and making up all sorts of stories ,parking fees and waitin time at the airport etc. ,we asked to see the manager ,we waited for an hr ,when we asked where he was ,she said he was sick and then said she would drop the price!!!after this whole incident she became very rude towards us and did not say aword to us afterwards . such a shame as all the other staff were pleasant and she (amam think her name was)represented the hotel in a bad way.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank najnaj4neb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Excellent value at only Rs2200+tax for deluxe - large room, comfortable bed, decent shower, clean, air-con (and generator which is very necessary given frequent local power cuts). A torch is useful for the windowless stairs if power is out during the day and they are not running the generator!

Great location for the Golden Temple. One way streets can make it a bit awkward to get to on arrival especially if your driver doesn't know the town (we came from chandigargh).

Wagah border ceremony is a must but hotel travel desk is overpriced - especially for cars to the airport. If you turn left out of the hotel and walk a short distance up the road there is a tour agency at the car park with much better prices.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We booked 2 deluxe rooms in this hotel. The hotel is excellent value for money. The rooms are good and clean. The hotel has a generator and hence frequent electricity cuts were not an issue in the hot weather of amritsar. The location is excellent as it is next to golden temple and jalianwala baug. We took the rooms at the rear and hence there was no noise. The cafe/ restaurant in the hotel is cute but the service is slow. The food in the hotel was average.

The travel desk at the hotel was co-operative and we hired a vehicle for our onward trip to manali. The vehicle was in good condition and the driver was good too.

All in all - we were very satisfied with our choice.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

Please do nto expect too much from this hotel, Its a good hotel with basic amenities. Do not go for the travel desk they are ready to extract too much money from you.

Rooms are old and bedding is rough. The best thing about the hotel is the location and the coffee shop.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicksMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#17 of 98 in Amritsar
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abode UNA Xpress
Abode UNA Xpress
#28 of 98 in Amritsar
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Golden
Hotel Le Golden
#44 of 98 in Amritsar
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Robin
Hotel Robin
#36 of 98 in Amritsar
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treebo Dee Intercontinental
Treebo Dee Intercontinental
#41 of 98 in Amritsar
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#2 of 98 in Amritsar
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Heart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Heart

Address: Near Golden Temple, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range: £32 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Heart 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel City Heart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Heart Hotel
City Heart Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing