We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad hotel with zero maintenance, surviving on location advantage”
Review of Hotel Golden Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden Tower
Ranked #79 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Bad hotel with zero maintenance, surviving on location advantage”
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Rat droppings on bed, non-functional AC and geyser, peeling and damp walls, bathroom fittings falling out - how bad could it be? Add to it cold and lousy tea, uncomfortable mattresses and pillows, very few useful channels on TV, no internet. To cap it all, they promised free car parking on the premises, but it turned out to be the community multi-storey car park where I had to pay Rs.60 per day.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SS-Shom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    4
    3
    10
See reviews for
9
1
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

The only good thing about Hotel Golden Tower is that it's a short walk away from the Golden Temple. The hotel itself looks like it's in a building that's about to collapse. The staff at reception were polite, but not overly friendly. I was shown two rooms, and one looked fine while the other had a dank, musty smell to it. The room I chose looked to be fairly clean, but I should have looked closer. The bed felt damp, and upon closer inspection the sheets had hairs and stains on it. The bathroom didn't have any hot water and the toilet smelled. It was really late at that point, and seeing as I planned to stay only one night, I thought I'd just bear it. Fortunately, I had a sleep sheet with me, so i didn't have to touch the dirty sheets as I slept. All this for just 1300 rupees. Never again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Othello491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amritsar hotels

Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2008

We have been to Hotel Golden Tower on May 1st, 08. Based on the inputs from Travel Advisor blog, we chose to stay at this hotel. But the experience was VERY BAD. Rooms are not having proper Air conditioning and bathrooms are equally bad. Cleanliness is poor. It is definitely not worth to spend Rs. 1500 for this one.

  • Liked — None
  • Disliked — As mentioned
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
2 Thank yonaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2007

Basic by western standards, but the Hotel Golden Tower has superb staff who looked after me as if I were family.
The hotel is a short walk from the Golden Temple, and the staff arranged trips for me to other big religious sites in the Punjab, which I enjoyed no end.
Rooms have television, A/C, showers, refridgerators, and telephones to call home. Cold drinks, water and snacks are available at all times. Whenever I needed anything, the staff were great, and for me that was far more important than luxuries you might pay a fortune for elsewhere.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2007

it was a very nice and comfortable stay at hotel golden tower.as the climate of india in june was very hot and humid hotel golden tower was avery cool place to stay. front office staff was very helpful and provided every required information to me . they help a lot making search for tel no. of my airline offices to rescheduling my flieght. food was also very tasty. room was very calm and peaceful .cleanliness was good .on the whole it was a very nice place to stay at very less cost.

  • Liked — staff was very eager to help and guide
  • Disliked — surrounding of hotel was not good but above average
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank archian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2007

I had booked this hotel for one night stay in Amritsar. I had favourable correspondence with the manager beforehand. I turned up and was shown to my room, where the bed was covered in small flies; I asked to see another room. I understood enough of what was being said to know that one of the staff was being sent down ahead of us to
check the bed. That room was ok, but the window didn't fit and I rejected it. I was shown a third room which I accepted. I went out for the afternoon. When I came back I went into the bathroom and noticed the bin, which I hadn't checked before, was swarming with ants. I decided this was inexcusable and moved out. The staff seemed friendly enough and the rooms were well equipped but I found a better
place (no insects) for the same price.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Insects
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PollyBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indus
Hotel Indus
#62 of 97 in Amritsar
141 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#8 of 97 in Amritsar
1,614 reviews
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
1.7 mi away
Hotel Teg Royal
Hotel Teg Royal
#42 of 97 in Amritsar
175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Namaskar Residency
Hotel Namaskar Residency
#1 of 97 in Amritsar
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tower

Property: Hotel Golden Tower
Address: Near Golden Temple Hotel Golden Tower Near Golden Temple, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden Tower 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Golden Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing