We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely loved it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kesar da Dhaba

Kesar da Dhaba
Ranked #3 of 358 Restaurants in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

By far the best lassi i've had. And the aloo parathas, so much ghee and so much goodness! When in Amritsar, Kesar da Dhaba is a must!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anilbackstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    419
    148
    67
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wonderful cultural experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Kesar da Dhaba can take a little finding but if you take an auto and ask the driver you will get there. Don't worry if you find yourself squeezing down narrow roads in the medina, this is all part of the experience. The Dhaba is uninspiring to look at and we were worried about eating there to start with. However, don't be put off by the greasy spoon appearance. The food is excellent and you can even look into the kitchen to see it being made. We ate Chapati Chopra Thali, Shahi Paneer, Daal, Kofta, Gobi Parantha, and Firni, all of which were delicious. One of the most memorable meals of our trip. Be brave, give it a go. You won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_MYork_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Kesariya kamaal ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Food was too good ..they make food with old techniques... Real Dhabba types look ... They serve all Punjabi food ...black daal .. Sarsodi sabji n rotti with lassi ..sounds typical but thats the dishes we orderd.

Helpful?
4 Thank nish321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Must visit for authentic Punjabi food lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We visited "Kesar" (as the locals address it ) last night in a group of 12 people.. Yes it is crowded as people love the food here,one of my friends cousin had to reserve a place for us 30 min before our arrival.also you must come with stomach empty as they'll serve you such mouthwatering food that ur stomach is filled before you have tasted enough..Excellent Lachcha parathas & Palak-paneer..Yummy Pirni in dessert.. Thanks Sanjay bhaiya-Chotu bhaiya & bhabhi for such an excellent treat!! ;)

Helpful?
3 Thank arjun k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“mouth watering food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

kesar food is excellent total food is amazingly good but bharta was my favorite daal here is good thick and red lacha parantha was also very good overall 10 out of 10 but one has to park your car much away to come here.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank gurgaonvineet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kesar da Dhaba also viewed

 

Been to Kesar da Dhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing