We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Indus - for the perfect view of Golden Temple”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Indus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Indus
Ranked #73 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hotel Indus - for the perfect view of Golden Temple”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I read lots of reviews and did some research before visiting Amritsar about hotels there. I chose Indus only and Only for its strategic location. Indus is a budget hotel by its size and standard, but manages to charge a 3* hotel rate, simply by encasing its locational advantage. The hotel is right opposite the Golden Temple. We booked a Super Deluxe room. I'd already read reviews here (and which I must say were very helpful and accurate), hence I was prepared for the very standard / budget category that was presented to us. I don't say they were cheating, infact the hotel manager was extremely helpful and polite, but the overall hotel doesn't simply have anything that can be categorized as higher than standard. The specialty of the Super Deluxe room (there are two of them) is the view - you see the Golden temple from your room window.
however, if you miss this room during peak season, there is the view from the rooftop, open to all guests. The first full view of the Golden Temple, as we climbed the rooftop after checking in, was simply breathtaking. There was the temple, its gold glittering in rain washed daylight, in the middle of a clean, blue, glistening lake and surrounded by other white structures / temples in the complex. And the location gave us the advantage to visit the temple as many times we wished, and at all hours in the day - you just need to walk out of the hotel, cross the road and enter the temple complex.
The rooms and bathroom are as clean as you can expect from a standard, budget room. We went in the rainy season and heavy rains caused water to seep from the top floor and flood the corridors and enter our room, but the hotel staff was prompt to clean whenever asked for. Food is ordinary, we had most of our meals from the mouth watering eateries in the area outside.

I would recommend Indus for the view and the location.

Room Tip: Always ask for the Super Deluxe, temple view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayM1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    36
    36
    24
    12
See reviews for
41
51
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located across from the golden temple, the view from the rooftop restaurant cannot be beat in Amritsar. The place itself is definitely budget quality, though the account works quite nicely. The deluxe room I had did not have any windows but was good enough for the money and location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hokiegenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed in Super Deluxe room, room was descent enough for a budget hotel but a bit small for super deluxe category but we usually wont stay a long in room in Amritsar.

The location is the best so you wont much about space etc... it's bang opp. Golden Temple so we could visit Golden Temple whenever we wanted to.

Even Jalianwalla baug is just 5-7 mins walkable from the Hotel

Food was good, overall a nice experience. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemen_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

To start with I would advise all the pilgrims/tourists visiting Golden Temple to not get influenced by any agent who would promise you to get a Hotel Room the moment you arrive here. Instead on your own you can search a decent hotel in the area or better before coming do a basic search on websites like tripadvisor.
One of the decent hotels in the vicinity is Hotel Indus where I had a comfortable stay with my family, for one night, in June 2013. Though to reach the said Hotel you have to carry your luggage for half a kilometer (from car parking to Hotel). Hotel Indus is very conveniently located (right outside the gates of the Temple) with some rooms and Terrace having the clear view of Temple.
Tariff wise its marginally on the higher side but still affordable. Staff is very co-operative and food needs to be ordered an hour in advance.
Overall a decent budget hotel and would surely stay here on my next visit :)

Room Tip: Always ask for a deluxe room, facing the Temple, on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmore57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in a 'deluxe' room (standard room, nothing too deluxe about it). Was clean, simple, had the amenities we expected). We checked in about 10pm, so it was dark. It wasnt until morning that we realised our room was internal/windowless....we slept in until 10.45am (must have needed it). We stayed 2 nights, both sleeps were equally as blacked-out, which we enjoyed (working mon-fri in delhi so weekend sleep ins are desired). Needless to say, we also had no need to use earplugs, no external noises were heard.
There were many short powercuts. Overall it was not a problem for us. The room had cooling, we slept in a comfortable temperature (nice after spending all day putaide in 40oC etc).
We wanted to stay here for the central location.
We ate and drank at the rooftop cafe (only ones up there at the time) and enjoyed the peacefulness and Golden Temple views. Veg only and no beer. Food was fresh and tasty.
Staff were attentative and friendly.
We opted to use the stairs to get up to our room rather than the lift, the stairwell was used to store rubbish/washing (for hours/all day, not just an hour or so) from rooms being cleaning. Would have been nice to not have to watch our steps in the stairwell and dodge rubbish.
We were content here. Would stay again, however, dont think I will visot Amritsar again (too many other places to visit in the world!).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazanala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

I stayed at the "Hindus" in January. It was freezing, and there was only a floor fan heater that could not help much. The windows are just part of the wall without knobs. Thought the temple view is great, we could not breath fresh air for 3 nights.
Stuff is nice, but service is quite chaotic and slow.
It's overpriced. 70$ for a tiny room and bad service is way too much. Reservation was easily done on the internet. no breakfast.
It's central and convinienty located (3 min. walk from the temple), but nothing much, unless you consider the view of one third of the temple worth your money.

Room Tip: Only look for upper rooms facing the temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Michaeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
275 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed in this Hotel on 28th and 1st march 2013. I had selected this Hotel after going through all the reviews of many hotels in Amritsar, mainly for its proximity to the Golden temple and also for the great view of the golden temple from the hotel Room. I specifically selected Room Number 304 as it was mentioned in a review as the best room for the temple view from the Room. I was not disappointed in my expectation. A big glassed window overlooking the road below and the temple. The room was not big but was enough for the two of us. The maintenance of the room and linen was excellent. I found water stagnation in the bath room after my bath and when I complained it was attended with in minutes even though the time was 22-30 in the night.
Another best thing is the best quality of food made by the hotel restaurant and pleasing manners, of the staff. Over all it was a very good experience of stay for the money we pay as room tariff. I am uploading the photo i had taken through the window of the hotel and also from the restarant in the fourth floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gajarajan1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
#67 of 96 in Amritsar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Darbar View
Hotel Darbar View
#50 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Holy City
Hotel Holy City
#26 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Golden
Hotel Le Golden
#48 of 96 in Amritsar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel CJ International
Hotel CJ International
#70 of 96 in Amritsar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel City Heart
Hotel City Heart
#34 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indus

Property: Hotel Indus
Address: 211/3 Car Parking Road | Opp. Golden Temple, Galiara, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Indus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Air-conditioned. 24 hours running hot & cold water, 1 minute walking distance from Golden Temple. Complimentary tea & coffee sachets in the rooms. Duvets in all the rooms. Lift facility available, even to terrace. Airport railway transfer facility available (charges extra). Direct dialing telephone from all the rooms. Online internet facility in all the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Indus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indus Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing