We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How did this hotel get that good rating?”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Swaraj Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swaraj Resorts
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Bharatpur
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“How did this hotel get that good rating?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

: We booked online, and we were shocked wenn we saw our suite premier (!) room. It's a very, very basic hotel . I'm sure it was nice back in those days, but now it's totally run down. Not clean. No clean bedlinnen, no clean rooms. Some good things: the food was ok. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
24 Thank KarinBoerufsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    58
    38
    31
    50
See reviews for
135
101
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
180 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

we stayed here during our last business trip during end Feb. Usually i dont choose this hotel but the as other choice was not available and we were getting quite late so we decided to stay here. the property is very big with parks and rooms are also quite spacious and well maintained in terms of Bed & Linens only. the only problem i face was in Bathroom, shower was not working and the hot water was also not easily available. Front office staff is very slow and the bill/ Receipt they gave is like a local inn would perhaps give and if one will submit the same in the company account guys will see it with a suspicion.
I am sure if the same resort is maintained by any professional group they will charge double of it and will be a luxury to stay there as they have lot of space inside the rooms as well as outside of the room. although i would like to share some good thing like complimentary breakfast and food was very delicious.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vijay y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malia, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I think its all about expectations. We expected a place that had a Rs. 1900 value and we got it. Had a relaxing time with family here in early march. The rates were superb for the value we got. We stayed in room 102 (i think) overlooking the garden. Nice room, with tinted walls, tinted-windows, but very bright during the day. Good food, and lots of greenery, birds chirping made breakfast a joy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertaPe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

After reading all nice reviews on Trip Advisor - I booked three DELUXE rooms for one night. Deluxe --- what a joke!!! Do not believe anything they write about hotel's facilities: there is no minibar, no kettle for tea/coffee, no shower amenities, no internet access etc. But we are simple people, we did not need those facilities, all we needed was tidiness... But... rooms were very dirty, bed sheets were not clean (seemed like they were not changed from previous guests) and the bathroom was not clean as well. They brought the water bottles on request but they were already opened. Hotel is full of mosquitoes, even in the restaurant. No hot water in the morning for shower. Breakfast was not appropriate.

Room Tip: No suggestions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank GiedreBalciunaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Hmm I would say in totality it was a nice experience. I visited in July with family which was comparatively a off season...resort is really big with lush green park overlooking the rooms and an average swimming pool...there are many resorts opposite to the park and location is not a problem...the problem here is the number of people in the staff which might sometimes bother you ,saying that staff is friendly...food is overpriced and nothing great to write about but as bharatpur city has limited options hotel is your best bet...hygiene is a bit of concern rooms are spacious and nice..all in all this property has a potential just needs more care...stay here if you like peaceful and green surroundings...

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Anurag G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

After seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to stay in this hotel and decision was perfect(Yatra.com gave 33% discount on online booking.)
Place is excellent, very peaceful(Sometimes u can hear the noice of trucks passing by the highway but most of the time u will hear birds chirping). 600mts away from National park. (Breakfast can make u get late to visit National park early)
Food quality is average.
All the staff are very attentive and took a very gud care of us. (Will give 5 star for them)
Pool i didn't like much.
Rooms were kept clean. Standard room has a small TV(When we checked in that also was not working they immediately replaced it.) Standard room do not have balcony but we preferred to sit in lawn near swimming pool, it gave time to relax and spend time under open sky.(We choose standard room as we did not had to spend a lot time in it.)

Again the place is very quite .. relaxing

Note: In many reviews I read there is wifi (but there is none)

Over all stay was nice .. I stayed 3 nights and enjoyed everything there

Room Tip: choose delux rooms on first floor facing the lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AshwaniMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Compton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Travelling with two other girls. Wanted to stay somewhere a bit quieter than Delhi or Agra for our first couple of nights in India. Bharatpur and its bird sanctuary sounded like a peaceful start! Agra would only be an hours drive away so we could visit The Taj in a day, and return to what we thought would be the peacefulness of The Swaraj Resort. The photos of Swaraj looked so wonderful and the reviews written most recently painted a reasonably good picture. However, upon arriving there at 8pm, we found that it is located off the very busy highway which links Agra and Jaipur.

My friend booked and pair for our room for 2 nights whilst still in the UK as after a long journey, we just wanted to know we would have somewhere to stay. We arrived to a Dirty, mosquito ridden, dingy reception with many men loitering and staring. Without even a hello and welcome, they demanded 5000 rupees as soon as we got there, despite us showing an email of confirmation of payment. They demanded our passports and then walked away with them. I have a feeling this was so that we would have to pay to get them back but our driver managed to persuade them to return them to us. We spent over an hour attempting to prove that we had already paid through various phone calls and attempts to connect to their very slow internet which apparently we could only access once they took us to a bedroom. We were followed by 3 men into the bedroom which was very frightening. The internet failed there so they then allowed us to access our emails in their dirty office, looking over our shoulder all the time. We actually saw an open email webpage showing another massive complaint to them from a previous guest who attempted to stay there a few days before! There was a sign in reception to a bar in the basement but looking down, it was flooded with stagnant water and rubbish floating around on top of it. The pool, which looked so inviting in the photos, was empty. The toilet smelt heavily of urine and faeces and the whole place just looked very, very tired and grubby. It could have been such a comfortable place but is is obviously run by con artists and fraudsters. We left having had 6000 rupees taken out of my friends account, and no where to stay; as there was a large wedding in town, all of the other guest houses were fully booked. Our driver had to drive us all the way to Agra after a 12 hour flight and a 7 hour car journey. we reached Agra at midnight and we had to shell out another 6000 rupees for a room there. A HORRID and stomach churning first night in India. How these people have been rated number 1 in Bharatpur is anyone's guess; they have the audacity to display their certificate at reception. What a joke! This needs to be investigated. We have tried our best.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
16 Thank AliceBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bharatpur hotels
2.2 mi away
Kadamb Kunj Resort
Kadamb Kunj Resort
#4 of 14 in Bharatpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Park Regency
Hotel Park Regency
#13 of 14 in Bharatpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
13.2 mi away
Chandra Mahal Haveli
Chandra Mahal Haveli
#3 of 14 in Bharatpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sonar Haveli
Hotel Sonar Haveli
#9 of 14 in Bharatpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge)
2.1 mi away
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
#10 of 14 in Bharatpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swaraj Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swaraj Resorts

Property: Swaraj Resorts
Address: opposite Keoladeo Bird Sanctuary, Bharatpur 321001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Bharatpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Bharatpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Swaraj Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bharatpur's largest resort hotel, Swaraj Resorts is located on over 17 acres of land. The hotel has lush green gardens, a swimming pool, WiFi and excellent facilities for both Indian and foreign tourists. The hotel is located right outside the bird sanctuary and arrangements can be made for bird sanctuary tours. Due to close proximity to the Bird Sanctuary, various bird species can be seen around the property. The hotel is also Bharatpur's FIRST 'green' hotel, with solar panels installed for water heating and an inhouse garbage recycling system. The hotel also has the only Fusion continental menu in town!! So be it Nachos and cheese, Thin crust pizza, or fried chicken and gravy, we got you covered!Come, relax, have a drink and enjoy nature the way it was supposed to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swaraj Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing