We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Experience Like No Other” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Begu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Begu
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chittaurgarh
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“An Experience Like No Other”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

From the moment you arrive at the Fort and get a fantastic welcome from the family, this is an all-consuming helter-skelter of an experience. We were the only guests there (it was the off-season) so we were very well looked after and got a lot of attention!
The Fort/Palace is an amazing set of buildings, with surprises (mostly welcome!) at every turn. Part of it is lived in and the rest is awaiting renovation or derelict. Very hard to describe it all but the actual suites are rather special with lovely furnishings, large bathrooms and very comfortable beds. The gardens and 'common areas' could do with a little more attention, but it was the off-season, so presumably these things will be sorted for later in the year.
We had all our meals there and the food was absolutely delicious, the best we have had in all of India (dinner costs £8 a head - amazing value). Mangos were in season - I've never tasted anything so delicious.
Learnt a lot about Rajasthan and Indian culture from the family (there were 3 generations there which gave us different perspectives). Trips to their summer palace (included in the price), Bundi and temples at Manali were all great and the walk round the village was a highlight. All the staff were fantastic.
DON'T GO here if you want a luxury 'resort' with television, wi-fi, a large menu, swimming pool etc. This is an experience never to be repeated, so read all the reviews carefully and make sure it's the right place for you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoungerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
82
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a wonderful 2 nights with Mr.Singh and his son Ajay Raj in their family home. The Fort is in dis-repair and is currently being restored slowly to its former glory. The suites they have restored are lovely with all amenities, very comfortable, you will be sleeping in history ! as the fort is 15th century. The food and service are first rate supervised by Mr.Singh who takes a special interest in culinary delights, his staff are very efficient, curtious and will provide anything you ask for. The trip they provided to their other property Ragargh Palce for sunset was special
as are the chilled Mango smoothies they provided at dinner. Book here in confidence of experiencing a very old Fort with great atmosphere beautiful food and great service.

Room Tip: All rooms are high up, lots of steps, not for the unfit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biot, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Second visit. The food, service and total experience were even better than last time. Fort Begu is a jewel. The building is a dream and the rooms are large, comfortable and totally Rajasthan. Meals are delicious. We had a picnic by a lake with palm trees growing in the water, trips in the forest to see wild life. Day trip to Chittorgarh Fort - totally stunning. It's one of the largest forts in Asia. Then back to the calm and magic of Fort Begu. We're very much looking forward to returning to Fort Begu next year. Nicholas, Biot

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Staying at Fort Begu is a lovely experience - a window into a different aspect of Rajasthan, that will make you feel like a 'traveller' rather than a 'tourist'. This is not a luxury resort, but rather an exquisite, tumbledown palace, which is being carefully restored, bit-by-bit with a lot of love and gentle care....a very special place.

You will have a very comfortable stay - the rooms are simple but chic - immaculately clean with modern bathroom facilities. We stayed in the mirror/coloured glass work room, which was exquisite.

However this hotel is not so much about the rooms, but about the palace and its estates as a whole. The staff are wonderfully enthusiastic - Arjun and Mac are always willing to lend a helpful hand. You will enjoy talking to your charming princely hosts - Mr Singh and his son Mr Ajay - we certainly laughed a lot. Mr Singh is a great cook (or 'cooking supervisor!'), and the food is a fresh respite from some of the other food you will find in Rajasthan. Many of the ingredients come from the estate's organic farm. Part of your stay may include a visit to the Lake Palace, passing by the 100 year old mango orchard. Sunset here is quite magical, and you will pinch yourself to make sure you are really there!

Fort Begu is a lovely slightly 'off the beaten track' destination. We stopped there on our way between Udaipur and Nagaur. We were a couple travelling with our friend. This would be a great place to stop with a small group or family also.

We definitely recommend this hotel to add a different 'charmed' dimension to your Rajasthan trip.

Room Tip: The mirror work/coloured glass room is magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Our stay here was amazing. This is an old 15th Century fort that is family owned and they are doing it up into an amazing and unique hotel. Hotel is run by the actual Maharajah and staff. The food (breakfast/lunch/dinner) was always amazing and was proper Rajasthan Indian food. The staff are superb and always willing to help. Basically if you are in the region you have to stay here!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagull109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
185 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed one night at Fort Begu in a rooftop dome room, which was simply decorated but comfortable. Ajay and his father were great hosts. In the afternoon Ajay gave us a tour of their property and the lake palace, explaining all his impressive development plans. Drinks in the courtyard with Ajay's father were a delightful lead-in to dinner on the lawn beneath the floodlit fort. Ajay's father's love of food and life led to many interesting conversations, both at dinner and breakfast. We really enjoyed every moment, the food, the setting and the unique experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoRoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

What should I mention here?
Should I speak about the beautiful peacocks that flit in and out of the gardens and patios? Or the flocks of pigeons flying in arcs outside our windows? Or the amazing hospitality of Mr. Ajay, Hari ji, Mac and Arjun Banna?

I went there in February and I want to share my experience with you.

Though 60 odd kilometres away from the railway station - the miles quickly melted away and we finally reached Fort Begu, which was bathed in moonlight.

Was it the Fort, that we loved, which tantalized us with its hidden secrets?
The unexplored subterranean depths that are undergoing restoration held our fancy - with the long-forgotten paintings on the walls, the antique glass-work and a story to everything.

The excursion to Rajgarh Palace (the lake property), where all I could hear was the sound of peace - was a brilliant addition to my trip. Birds kept us company with history in the air. Mahanal or Menal Lake too was a great decision.

There are so many facets to Fort Begu - there are people and then there are their stories. Hari ji (Ajay’s father), his exuberance and charm is infallible! His advice and varied anecdotes are really engaging! Ajay ji - I’ve said it before and I’m saying it again - you’re doing such a wonderful job with everything. Most of us take the simple ways out, but restoring such a huge place and doing it so well is really tough. I hope you stay as motivated in your endeavour as you have and may luck always shine on you.
Thank you for hosting us at your home. We enjoyed meeting Karan and your mother too :)

The suites are excellent. Actually, in comparison with the hotels I’ve stayed in the past, these are one of the best. So spacious, with great bathrooms, fluffy beds and ample pillows. We slept like babies :)

Though there’s a long list of caveats for prospective tourists (like there are no TVs in the room or Wifi and so on) I didn’t miss it all one bit. What’s the point of staying hooked to the your virtual life when real experiences are out there? There are things like charging ports, lights etc as required. Thats all you need in my opinion :)

No journey is complete without food. I love food (both making and eating it) and the food that you’ll get there is - in one word - lavish.
Don’t get me wrong! Its not lavish in a “showy, oily, prissy” sort of way - but hearty and well thought out.
As they get both Indian and foreign tourists, they do know how to cater to all kinds of taste-buds.

For breakfast, we had a nice poha,(that’s flattened rice cooked in spices), tea, really good parathe (that’s stuffed and unleavened bread made on a skillet) and eggs, toast etc was available. Yoghurt is from the cows they have and the honey too is harvested from the bees that house there. Not to be missed - there’s a special Mango pickle thats made in-house from fruits of the orchard. Mac was kind enough to give us some to take home :)

Airy phulkas accompany all the dishes at Lunch and Dinner - where you’re served regional fare. It’s really nice how the dishes are planned out - with spicy meats, vegetables and mildly flavoured curry elements. Nothing is too heavy on spices and special care is put into the preparation of the food. Hari ji takes real pride in his kitchens and most of the recipes are family secrets :)

There were so many delightful things that happened with us while we stayed there :) I wish I could tell you, but I don’t want to let the cat out of the bag! It would be good if I kept the mysteries of Begu hidden - so that you can explore them first hand.

This is a place with a story. Not a run-of-the-mill experience. I would recommend this whole-heartedly if you intend to make beautiful memories like I did.

Room Tip: Choose any :) They're all unique and beautiful in their own way :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aradhnamangla92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittaurgarh
10.0 mi away
Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort
24.3 mi away
RnB Chittorgarh
RnB Chittorgarh
#2 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
27.1 mi away
The Elegance Resort
The Elegance Resort
#3 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 mi away
Hotel Amrit Manthan
Hotel Amrit Manthan
#4 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
25.8 mi away
Hotel Kirti Plaza
Hotel Kirti Plaza
#5 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
25.8 mi away
Hotel Meera
Hotel Meera
#6 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Begu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Begu

Property: Fort Begu
Address: Raj Mahal, Chittaurgarh 312023, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Chittaurgarh
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chittaurgarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Fort Begu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Begu Rajasthan, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing