We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Peaceful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Bijaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Bijaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely Peaceful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

From the time you entered the Castle you knew you were in for a treat, drums playing, fresh flower necklaces & welcome drink. Taken to our rooms was spacious, bathroom had excellent shower. We had a 3 course lunch for 600r which was great value. Plenty things to do were offered, I spent time in the pool which was 25c & very clean. For dinner it was a buffet excellent & afterwards we sat around the bonfire with music from local musicians & drinks & the Maharaja came & spoke to us. Breakfast as good as the other meals.

Room Tip: All rooms that I saw were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    78
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
34
79
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel is quite impressive as it is an authentic castle with well appointed rooms that are accessed along pretty verandas. Our room was spacious and beautifully furnished with excellent shower and a pleasant balcony overlooking the pretty courtyard and village at the back. The pool area was very pleasant and it was a very pleasant place to stay.

We stayed two nights, on our first night we were invited to join in with a tour party around the bonfire that was set in the courtyard, music was played and drinks were served before dinner. We were joined by the owner for a short period and guests were encouraged to join in the dancing whilst the musicians played. It was all very enjoyable.

On our second night, the tour party had left and apart from three young Ukrainian girls we were the only guests. Again the bonfire was lit in the courtyard before dinner and we were entertained by musicians. The owner and his wife again joined us and made every effort to make us feel welcome and their hospitality did not seem contrived in any way. By the way the girls were greeted by the owners, it appeared that they were there as part of a dance troupe that had been there before. We joined the owners, their young son and the three Ukrainian girls in their enthusiastic dancing and it was really good fun.

Food was served afterwards and was very tasty and service was good.

If you take the transport provided by Castle Bijaipur from the train station it is worth noting, that it costs 1800 Rupees for the one hour journey.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sifika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were greeted with fresh flower necklaces and drums being played, it was just a hint as to what was to come. As we entered, everyone had their cameras out. It is a stunning hotel! A big, open outdoor surrounding including a swimming pool, and an area for a drink around a fire.
The food was lovely here, and we even got to meet the Maharaja who came to our table to introduce himself.
The rooms were amazing and all had their own personality! A group of 13 of us meant we had a sneak peek at other rooms too, not just our own. One person in out group had room that was literally fit for a king!
A one night stay here had us all wanting more time here. A lovely peaceful place, with a seating area for wifi use. I will definitely be looking to go back and would recommend it to anyone thinking of going!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I can not put into words the overwhelming beauty that greets you on arrival at this phenomenal hotel. We only booked into this hotel for one evening which is a great shame now ive seen all on offer. A divine dining choice welcomes all guests both vegetarian and meat eaters.

We arrived at the hotel to the lul of drums in the air and floral wreathes placed around our necks. Our cases were taken to our rooms which were OUT OF THIS WORLD....olde-worldey furniture and decor, spacious rooms with large airy bathrooms with both Indian and Western toilets. Desk and mirror area for applying make up and seating area both in side and outside the room to sit back, put your feet up and let the stresses and strains of western life wash away in this tranquil oasis. As the hotel is set off the beaten track it is peaceful and relaxing, an ideal place to unwind.

The evening started with our group of 13 sat around a large lit fire with drinks chatting and laughing whilst local indian music was played on the platform in the main seating area of the hotel. A glance upward revealed the glistening stars set against the old stone work of the building makes it a spectacular setting. We proceeded to the restaurant area welcomed by friendly efficient staff where a buffet style meal was set out fit for a king. Starters was served...a delicious soup followed by the buffet mains which was available for seconds if wanted. We were given a DELICIOUS indian desert that looked like purified carrot and tasted like warm cake mixture...not sure of the name but it was a delight on the taste-buds.
The staff could not do enough for you and were even happy to partake in a request of one of our party and demonstrated the making of a turban for us.

Walls of the hotel are littered with the photographs of the family who own the hotel the Maharaja of the hotel even came to greet us at our evening meal where he was joined by his family and they said prayer and had their own food. To be welcomed into someones home that is as special as this one is and was and absolute honor. I cant speak highly enough of my whole experience there. Just beautiful!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the-ex-Rep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Aspects of this experience just seem a bit contrived for us. We arrived at the same time as a group, and entered to the sound of the musicians beating time for our entrance and were greeted with garlands and a tikal on our forehead. Perhaps if we had arrived as sole travelers, thus wouldn't have been the same. In the evening there is a bonfire in the outside bar area. with musicians are playing. To us, this whole bonfire/ musician scene seemed a bit like a way to increase bar sales rather than a way to provide for guests' comfort and to enhance the overall experience. The owner made a quick, perfunctory stop by to welcome us, but this too seemed to us just a formality so guests could say they'd met some minor Indian royalty. Perhaps this is the type of thing that appeals to some, but it is not us and is not as authentic an experience as we have had at other similar properties. however, if it is what you want for an experience, come stay here and you'll have a lovely place to stay.

Even though there were only perhaps a dozen guests, dinner was served buffet style (not our favorite) and, as far as spices, definitely was toned down for western palates. Wifi is only available by the reception area, We were annoyed because in the early evening (the time of day when most guests might want to sit and use the wifi) there was a child sitting all alone at the reception computer playing video games with the volume turned up so loud that it was like being in a video arcade. The noise drove us away, and we jokingly asked ourselves if this was intentional so guests would go to the bar area instead and spend some money. I don't have any problems with allowing a child to use the computer at the reception area, but there should have been an adult around to tell him to turn the volume way down so the sound would not annoy paying guests.

Our room, however, was lovely and spacious. No complaints at all about this! And, the grounds are lovely. Overall, it is a nice place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank juliest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I loved staying here. The building is beautiful and it was a lovely place to relax and rest for a day. We stayed here as part of an intrepid tour. Lovely staff. Nice pool although some difficulty keeping the bugs out. Nice rooms with large bathrooms and consistent hot water. Wifi only worked in the lobby and seemed to only work in the evening.

I would love to return and stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Very comfortable Hotel with good facilities situated in countryside next to a small village.Some of rooms are fantastic and definitely give palace feel.Food not up to same standard as rest of services.
If you stay here you should check out the camping option at a nearby Lake run by same people.Panngarh Camping.Tents are sat by side of lake ,very comfortable with good bathrooms.Food excellent.Bird life and peaceful countryside are great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittaurgarh
14.5 mi away
Fort Begu
Fort Begu
#1 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
14.0 mi away
Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort
13.6 mi away
The Elegance Resort
The Elegance Resort
#3 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
RnB Chittorgarh
RnB Chittorgarh
#2 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel Amrit Manthan
Hotel Amrit Manthan
#4 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
8.5 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Bijaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Bijaipur

Property: Castle Bijaipur
Address: | Village Bijaipur, Chittaurgarh 312001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Chittaurgarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Chittaurgarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castle Bijaipur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 350 year old Castle set amidst the Vindhyanchal hills. The Castle is run as a heritage hotel by the ruling family. The Castle enjoys a scenic location as it is surrounded by hills, lakes, forests and farms. Facilities include: Swimming Pool, Massage, Jeep Safari, Horse Rides, Yoga, Birdwatching, Tribal tours, Cultural evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Bijaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Bijaipur Rajasthan, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing